We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are picky, go stay at one of the chain motels with the rest of the lemmings.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Lodge & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Alpine Lodge & Suites to your Saves list
Alpine Lodge & Suites
2021 E. Spring St., Cookeville, TN 38506   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Deluxe Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Cookeville
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“If you are picky, go stay at one of the chain motels with the rest of the lemmings.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

If you have a sense of adventure, appreciate quirks and like a good backstory, this is the place for you!

I felt a bit like we walked into the lovely trailer park in The Last Starfighter. (That is a COMPLIMENT.) Shortly after checking in, we were locked out of our room. The keycard just would not work. Prior to this it worked after the 2nd or 3rd try. My husband got lost in the halls going to the office, as did the policeman responding to a call for help from a guest who had a heart attack. (The room directory is quite confusing to newcomers) There soon was a platoon of emergency vehicles everywhere and people running all over while I waited at the door of our room with luggage for my husband to return. That was the first time we were locked out. It happened twice the next day and once the day after. For some reason they have VERY sensitive keycards that couldn’t go anywhere near our cellphones, which isn’t usually a problem elsewhere.

The room has seen better days. You could see holes in the walls from perhaps a different room arrangement than at present time. The desk had been broken and noticeably repaired. The lampshade had mold on it. There is a quarry diagonally situated across the interstate that we heard truck noise from (as long as we had the AC/heating unit on, it was fine). There was a desk and chair and a sheet of Alpine logoed stationery. We also had a rocking recliner. Still, we had a clean room, a refrigerator, and a patio with a decent view.

The Alpine, a former iconic Howard Johnson’s, is family owned and run since 1979. The son mans the front desk, made us delicious waffles and helped us with local information. We decided to stay over another day after witnessing a GORGEOUS sunrise from our patio. With the son performing maintenance duties, Mom made us breakfast the next morning and she seemed to have a problem with the waffle maker and as she handed us our waffles said ”I hope you like your waffles crispy” which was her way of saying these are horrible but eat them anyway – which we did like the good obedient children we once were (hating every bite). (Please Mom, the next time don’t be so cheap as to pass off what was screwed up as acceptable. Was saving that little bit of money worth me having to warn people of you? If you had cooked for us the first morning, we may not have stayed over the second night. It felt a little like a bait and switch! To the son: we really missed you that morning!)

The Alpine seems to have some fulltime residents at some (all?) of the out buildings. We really never saw or heard them. There is an outdoor pool that was still open in October! Rarer these days, they had a working shuffleboard court!

We slept well both nights and were pleased. There were more guests the second night than the first (Thursday and Friday) but the noise levels were minimal.

Overall, I found the whole experience to be quaint, charming and funky – everything I love about America. With our coupon it was VERY affordable at $48.00! It is just off I-40 with easy access. If we ever find ourselves in the area, which we hope to return to) we will DEFINITELY stay here. All the other motels seem to be clustered together a couple of exits closer into Cookeville. We very much preferred it here.

Because of the keycards and subpar breakfast experience, I had to go from a Very Good to Average, but don't let that stop you from trying it yourself if, as I previously mentioned, you aren't picky.

(Be sure to visit Burgess Falls, if you can.)

Room Tip: If you want to see the sunrise from your patio or balcony, get a room facing the road (it's far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpine21, Owner at Alpine Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Haha I loved reading your review. I read the part about the waffles out loud to my mom lol. It's great to finally get the respect I deserve for my culinary skills! I'm glad you two enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the keys, but they do tend to get de-magnetized when they come in contact with cell phones. We hope to see you back soon!

Cordially,
Peter J. Gabriel "the son"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    31
    18
    5
    8
See reviews for
29
36
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had seen this place on previous visits and my sister said she had heard good things and knew the owners. I can tell you that my own experince was anything but good. Teh hotel seems to attract localsand they are noisy and rude. The room was dark, outdated and poorly kept up, which only aggravated things.

Room Tip: Find someplace else to stay!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on my way back to colorado from holden beach,nc. Reviews looked good and was clean and price was good.only thing was a 2 exit drive for dinner. Good service and value. Right off of 40 easy to get to.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our family just had our reunion at the Alpine Lodge and it was a wonderful weekend. There were almost 50 of us that stayed at the hotel and they help to make it one of the best reunions ever!! The pool was our gathering spot and was even able to grill hamburgers and hot dogs out there for one of our lunches. The hotel is locally owned and the owner's home is on the property. The rooms were clean but could use some updating. The staff was wonderful and there was someone on duty 24 hours. The view is great. If we have our reunion in Cookeville again, we will stay there for sure. Thanks for a great weekend!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Great Views and very clean rooms! Even met the owner at the awesome outdoor pool! Was there visiting our mother for the weekend who lives next door. If your looking for a cheap clean room this is the place!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Ocean
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

It's in a good location if you are traveling in this area. The rooms are large and have balconies, which is a plus. I'm not a big fan of the interior entry, but the balcony helps with that.

It needs attention badly. The guys working the desk seemed absolutely lost but did get our room eventually.

The neighborhood seems a little sketchy, the pool not particularly well taken care of.

If someone wanted to invest in it, they might have a very special place. But as it is, it's just average.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Island, Texas
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Alpine was a pleasant surprise. Checked the Trip Advisor reviews and decided to try it. Was not disappointed. An older establishment but well-preserved, clean, safe, and friendly. Front desk was pleasant and helpful. Non-smoking rooms were NON-SMOKING. Not just an occasional as with other hotels. Morning breakfast wasnt much to write home about, but the desk clerk was quick to make waffles, and made certain we were satisfied with everything before we left. Easy on and off the freeway. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge & Suites

Address: 2021 E. Spring St., Cookeville, TN 38506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Cookeville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cookeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Cumberland Mountains in Cookeville, Tennessee, we offer a quiet, scenic retreat for all our guests. At Alpine Lodge & Suites, we believe that we are able to offer our business travelers a "home away from home." Situated halfway between Nashville and Knoxville, and with easy access from Interstate 40 (exit 290), it's the perfect place to stop on those long business trips. Alpine Lodge is a quiet, peaceful, motel with easy access to I-40 and the Cookeville region, including Tennessee Tech University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Alpine Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel Cookeville
Alpine Lodge Suites Cookeville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Lodge & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.