We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place at a great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Lodge & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Alpine Lodge & Suites to your Saves list
Alpine Lodge & Suites
2021 E. Spring St., Cookeville, TN 38506   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Deluxe Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Cookeville
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice place at a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had to travel to Cookeville for a wedding, so needed lodging for two nights. Most of the places in town were either too costly, already booked, or both. Found the Alpine Lodge & Suites online, read the reviews, and decided to take a chance.

After ten hours on the road, it was easy to find and the staff was friendly and welcoming. True, the A/C in the room wasn't on, and it was hot, but it cooled down by the time we had the car unloaded. The room was clean and comfortable, the continental breakfast was more than enough, and we were able to borrow a hair dryer when needed.

So, overall, it was a nice place to stay, at a very affordable price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    31
    18
    5
    8
See reviews for
29
36
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I chose this hotel based on price and the fact it's family owned. There are always surprises that come with a non-chain hotel. This time it was pleasant choice. I only stayed one night, so was unable to take full advantage of the refrigerator and microwave. I took full advantage of the recliner. The room had a new flat screen TV, so I was able to view my daily pictures with great clarity. I chose a room looking towards the mountains and used the patio the next morning and it was a great and relaxing view. The room was very clean and spacious with no bad odors. With free internet I was able to plan, in detail, the next day of my vacation. The staff was very friendly and didn't ignore you when you happen to see them. I used the pool for a little while at night. It was large, clean, and refreshing. Another plus is that the hotel is on the edge of town, so it's very quiet. Free breakfast was waffles, cereal, fruit, etc.

Room Tip: To see above the park cars, get a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We arrived on July 4th with a reservation that had been made a week in advance. So we were going to show up. It was 105 degrees!! We had been traveling the whole day and wanted to rest in our nice cool room before we went to watch fireworks... But...when we got to our room the air conditioner was not even turned on... It was 105 degrees...we had a reservation...they had my phone number to verify we were on our way.... No phone call to check...we walked into a hot room,and when I went to the front desk, i was told sorry...the owners just don't turn on the air till the guests get there... So much for relaxing...we turned on the air, and got back in the car for a few more hours so our room could cool down a little. I would like to suggest a phone call to your guests just to make sure they are coming, and then a staff person turning on tne air a few hours before their arrival would be much appriciated... Other than that... It was ok for the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Alpine Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. I'm very sorry the a/c in your room was not running before you got there. If one of our employees told you we do not turn on the a/c for our reservations, they were incorrect. When it is hot or cold, we try to always turn on the a/c for our reservations and a few extra for walk ins. This does not usually happen, and I apologize.

Sincerely,
Peter J. Gabriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

The lodge sits atop a hill. Most rooms have a small patio or balconies. There is a gazebo out by the pool. The staff is willing to please because they have been here for years. So if you want a room with a view, peacefully, comfortable, very affordable in lovely surroundings, this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband & I (and sometimes our cat, Smidgen) stay at the Alpine Lodge & Suites whenever we travel from Richmond, VA to Hot Springs Village Arkansas & back. We've always stayed in one of the lower level rooms facing Hwy 70N / E. Spring Street and enjoy being able to sit out on the room's porch when the weather is nice.

In the 5 or 6 years we've been staying here, our room has always been clean and well kept up; at least as well as higher priced hotels and usually better. With this review I'm submitting a few pictures of areas that tend to get grungy first so you can see the level of upkeep.

I believe their salt water pool filtration system was supposed to be completely installed by the end of June 2012 and I'm looking forward to taking a swim there in July.

If you stop over here, be sure to try out the new Mexican Restaurant just a few steps down the hill. Very friendly folks, very reasonable prices and serving sizes, and (we thought) very tasty food.

And there's a nice little park with wooded trails across Hwy 70N to stretch your legs in before or after dinner.

I still have to say that the continental breakfast isn't really great. It's what keeps me from giving Alpine Lodge & Suites 5 stars. The coffee's hot though and the fruit is usually good. Sadly, I can't speak for the cereal and waffles since I have to have gluten free, but my husband's never complained so they must be ok.

Next time you're 'bout ready to end your day's travel and you're near Cookeville, TN, try this place out. I don't think you'll be disappointed!

Room Tip: We've always stayed in the lower level rooms facing Hwy 70N and been very pleased with them. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

April 19, 2012
The rooms in the front have a balcony looking out to beautiful mountains. The owners are actually from Switzerland, thus the name Alpine Lodge. The staff is super friendly. Great place to stay for a decent price! Also, I found a coupon online and got the room even cheaper. We had a suite, 2 queens the room was huge with its own hot tub. The place is clean, but carpet was a little worn. Breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We decided to stay here for one night on our way back from Texas. We got a 3 queen bed room which was very spacious and was wonderful since we have 2 teenage boys. The room was quiet, and very large. My only complaint was the blankets seemed old and had cigarette holes in them and the couch and recliner in the room were pretty dirty. Also, even though it was a non smoking room, there was a strange odor. The price was right for this hotel, and the staff was very friendly. The room we had did not have a balcony, that would have been wonderful. If this hotel had some new blankets and newer, cleaner furniture, I would be giving it a much better rating.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge & Suites

Address: 2021 E. Spring St., Cookeville, TN 38506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Cookeville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cookeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Cumberland Mountains in Cookeville, Tennessee, we offer a quiet, scenic retreat for all our guests. At Alpine Lodge & Suites, we believe that we are able to offer our business travelers a "home away from home." Situated halfway between Nashville and Knoxville, and with easy access from Interstate 40 (exit 290), it's the perfect place to stop on those long business trips. Alpine Lodge is a quiet, peaceful, motel with easy access to I-40 and the Cookeville region, including Tennessee Tech University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Alpine Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel Cookeville
Alpine Lodge Suites Cookeville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Lodge & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.