We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing bad to say, Nothing really good either...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 South Jefferson Ave., Cookeville, TN 38501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Cookeville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nothing bad to say, Nothing really good either...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We booked this place because of the price, knowing that it wasn't going to be a Hilton. Everything was to be expected, nothing great or awful. On the upside, they were installing new granite on all the first floor rooms as of 6/10/14. I would recommend this place if you are looking for a one night stay on a through trip.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review here on TripAdvisor. We have installed new granite vanities in all of our rooms and there are other improvements to come. I hope you stop by again the next time you are travelling in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    96
    21
    9
    8
See reviews for
101
62
21
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here for one night in March 2014. Located near the interstate so very accessible. Motel style, with parking right outside ground floor rooms. Right on a main road so quite noisy. Some interesting characters in the parking lot at night. Room had a very large king bed, but was very dated overall. Bathroom had pink and white tile! They have a free continental breakfast available. While this was adequate if you are looking for a place to lay your head for the night while on a road trip, I'm not sure if I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Perhaps request a room on the second floor; might be a little more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Monks,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor. We appreciate all the feedback our guests give us so we can continue to improve our motel. We are constantly updating the property. Just a few weeks ago we replaced the vanities and sinks. We hope you will give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamont, TN
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Hubby and I don't usually do motels, but on this road trip, we had to do a couple, and we chose this one because of the reviews. In order to be in a non-smoking king that was quiet, we ended up upgrading to a king suite in the back building, which was pretty quiet. For a motel, it was pretty good. The bed was comfortable and the suite size about average, and seemed to be fairly clean. The a/c unit wasn't too loud, and we managed to get a good night sleep. Breakfast was more continental than full, though they did have a waffle maker there. Coffee pretty weak, but hot and wet, anyway. Adequate for the price, but wouldn't want to stay for any length of time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Jeanette,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear that even though you prefer hotels over motels that you were able to have a good stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bloomfield, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We both woke up in the middle of the night and I saw something crawling on the bed, caught and killed it, blood spurted out, then upon further inspection saw several more and some very tiny ones, all had blood in them. Night staff brought more sheets, but after putting them on, which I had to do myself, more bed bugs appeared, so we checked out at approximately 3:00 a.m. We used member points so no money was lost. Called manager the next day, he did not seem to believe us, but did say that sometimes, these thing happen. These things should Never happen, there are procedures and precautions that can be taken. Will never stay at this hotel again and now we are skittish about staying at any BW hotel, and have always been extremely satisfied with BW's until now. Bed Bugs are just not acceptable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Barbara -

Allow me to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. We do check the rooms regularly for bed bugs, and Orkin sprays the rooms and property as a preventative measure every month. After you called and expressed concern over your stay, we had Orkin come and do an extra spray and inspection of the room. Although they found no sign of bed bugs, this does not mean we do not believe you. We further did a deep cleaning of the room including the mattresses, drapes, and carpets. We understand your concerns and hope that you will give Best Western another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The service and accommodations were great!!! There were several different men staying and working on the property questioning my thirteen year old daughter and her two friends. "Where are you going?" "How old are you?" "Do you want to hang out?" There were a couple of men who questioned them that watched them while they were swimming. Needless to say, I was out there with them to make sure they were ok. It just wasn't a safe atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide our property with feedback about your stay. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Whether you decide to stay with us again or not, please do not hesitate to let any desk staff know about any problems you have while staying. We all want our guests to feel safe and comfortable while staying with us.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Requested a ground level room 2 weeks before stay...didn't get one. Was not very impressed with the lady at the desk either.
Everything else was good. Room was clean, comfortable bed with good pillows. Good quite AC too.
Didn't try the cereal and rolls breakfast. We opted for a real breakfast, then skip lunch.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
I am sorry to hear you were not able to get your request for a ground floor. We try our best to make sure every guest gets a ground floor when requested, but there are times when we are very busy that we are not able to do that.
I am glad the rest of your stay was to your liking.

If you wish to speak, you can always contact me between 7am and 3pm, Monday through Friday at 931-526-7115.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Could not connect to the internet in the room had to stand outside. There were ticks, i found 3 dog ticks on me in the morning. the beds were very comfortable. We were on the 2nd floor which was supposed to be no smoking and no animals. so they put an animal in that room or they brought the ticks with them in the sheets. horrible stay will never stay again. there are better hotels for the money in that town.

Room Tip: we stayed on the second floor. go higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Miranda -
I am sorry to hear your stay was not the pleasant experience we strive to give all of our guests. If you would like to speak with us further about this and see if there is something we can do so you will try us again, please call our property Monday - Friday, between 7am and 3pm CDT and ask for the Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Address: 900 South Jefferson Ave., Cookeville, TN 38501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Cookeville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cookeville
#3 Family Hotel in Cookeville
#5 Business Hotel in Cookeville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cookeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Thunderbird Hotel Cookeville
Best Western Cookeville
Cookeville Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.