We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 South Jefferson Ave., Cookeville, TN 38501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Cookeville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed at a similar Best Western in Ashburn, Ga. the day before and it was just as clean and friendly as Cookeville. The breakfast was much better at the Ashburn, Ga. location. Instead of hard boiled eggs to eat (as the Cookeville location had), Ashburn had a round patty of scrabbled eggs and also a round patty of sausage. Both had to be placed in a microwave to heat up and were very tasty. If ALL Best Westerns had this breakfast, it would be much better!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    94
    21
    9
    8
See reviews for
101
61
21
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Michigan
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Staff both on check in and departure were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were large and beds very comfy. Breakfast was more than adequate. We were so impressed that we re-booked for our return trip back to Missouri.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algona, Iowa
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed one night. Although the decor in the room was somewhat dated, the room was spotlessly clean. The bed was a pillow-top and super comfortable. Good pillows too. The sheets were so smooth and comfortable...not scratchy like some places we've been. It was very quiet, so very restful stay. The breakfast was a bit disappointing, all carbs and not as big of a selection as we've seen at similar hotels. The gal that checked us in as well as the one who was there when we checked out were friendly and efficient. We would definitely stay here again. The mexican restaurant across the drive was excellent also.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The rooms were very clean. Beds were soft and comfortable, just what we needed after sixteen hours in the car. There were double sinks outside the bathroom, which made getting ready to leave in the morning easier and more efficient. I appreciate the character that the tile in the bathroom gave to the room. I hope that, as long as it stays in good condition, they don’t replace it with the ubiquitous fiberglass you see everywhere. I like being in a motel room that doesn’t feel like every other motel room in the country.

When we first arrived, we thought they might be full because of all the cars in the parking lot, but they were mostly from the business next door. The motel is next to a Mexican restaurant, and I’m not sure whether they share a parking lot or whether there is just no separation between the two parking lots. In either case, the restaurant appears to be quite popular, and we had some problems finding a place to park when we first arrived to check in and when we went to our room. This was a minor nuisance rather than a major problem. There was some noise in the parking lot until some time after 10:00. I’m guessing this also came from restaurant patrons, since the parking lot started clearing out about that time. It was easy to get to sleep after that.

We weren’t traveling with our dog on this trip, but it’s nice to know for our future reference that the place is pet friendly. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for farther from the restaurant to be sure you can park near your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is probably the best motel we've stayed at. The front desk clerk was very warm and friendly, and the room was huge! We really liked the double sink & the shower was heavenly for a couple of very weary travellers. The room was spotlessly clean.

If the motel wasn't wonderful enough, there is the best Mexican restaurant we've ever eaten at right across the parking lot.

I picked this place from the AAA Tennessee Guidebook on a hunch & I was right!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Our family of 5 had to make a last minute stop & needed a room for the night. This motel was a pleasant surprise. At first glance it appears to be just another old motel, but the rooms have been recently renovated and ours was VERY clean. The bedroom area furnishings were a newer style with the exception of the TV (not a flat screen). The pillowtop mattresses were a wonderful treat for this type of property. It is an older motel, which was reflected in the pink tile in the bathroom, but again, it was exceptionally clean. The continental breakfast was pretty standard fare - convenience items and no "hot" items (eggs, breakfast meats, etc.), but a reasonable selection. The location is convenient to the interstate and many restaurants, but still quiet. For the price, I couldn't have asked for more. I would recommend this motel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: No elevator for 2nd floor access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Great beds. Clean, thick white absorpant towels, great water pressure. Clean room. Great experience. Would definitely stay there again. It was quiet. Easy check in/out. Someone said the tv was old. True it wasn't a big flat screen but it worked well and the remote was clean.

Room Tip: This room was clean, the bed was soooo comfortable. Someone said the tv was older...true it wasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Address: 900 South Jefferson Ave., Cookeville, TN 38501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Cookeville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cookeville
#3 Family Hotel in Cookeville
#5 Business Hotel in Cookeville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cookeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Thunderbird Hotel Cookeville
Best Western Cookeville
Cookeville Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.