We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Roadside Property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn

Save Saved
You added Clarion Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   970 South Jefferson Avenue, Cookeville, TN 38501 (Formerly Garden Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 17 hotels in Cookeville
Colleyville, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good Roadside Property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by the Clarion Inn in Cookevillle. Driving up to the property, my first impression was that it was going to turn out to be one of those numerous crappy roadside motels that dot the interstate, but I was shocked to walk into the lobby and see that the interior was quite nice.

Our room was clean, looked like it had been recently refurbished, and had a nice array of amenities. There was even a new flatscreen tv.

There was a lovely indoor/outdoor pool featuring a waterslide/play structure that was a big hit with my children. Nearby was an arcade area featuring a variety of games and entertainment.

We did not try the restaurant at the property because there were so many great roadside restaurants (fast food, Cracker Barrel, Dunkin Donuts, etc) nearby.

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

I did observe a couple of downsides to the property (mold on the ceiling above the shower and the fact that our door would not shut completely unless you physically pushed it shut), but those issues could have been specific to our room. Overall, the property seemed very well maintained.

I was very impressed with this Clarion. It is a very good option for families who are travelling in the Cookeville area.

Room Tip: This property has interior and exterior rooms. I cannot speak to the quality of the exterior rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    32
    11
    21
    29
See reviews for
41
17
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jonesboro
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

while planning my families trip to florida to visit family i started off using tripadvisor and looking at all the reviews for the hotels we would be staying at through out our trip while the clarion had some good and bad reviews i noticed that the old reviews seemed a lil old and maybe they have upgraded the hotel since then.And plus the fact my kids was so amazed there was a slide and arcade room we had to stay, so we booked a room, upon arrival the gentleman who checked us in i believe his name was cody was very helpful. the front lobby area was very welcoming with a friendly breakfast crew and staff as well, rooms was nice and clean with a comfortable bed,kids loved the pool area and arcade play place for kids. im glad i didnt pay attention to the reviews on here it was a great stay with a nice friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at the hotel Friday, July 26 on our way across the state. The hotel is older but clean. It has a large cable selection and free WiFi. Some rooms are interior and others are park and enter your room directly from the parking lot. We've stayed in both and have been happy in each style room. My daughter enjoyed the pool with the indoor/outdoor swim through and spiral slide. Pool towels are provided so you don't have to use your room towels to go to the pool.

The breakfast is not complimentary but $4.99 for an "all you care to eat" breakfast featuring scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits, and waffles as well as the common dry cereal and danish breakfast was reasonable. The food was a bit slow at coming out but there were a lot of people there and we weren't paying $10 or more for a breakfast. It was still faster and more reasonable than having to drive down the street to a Cracker Barrel and having to wait.

LaShawn who ran the breakfast service was working single handed. She was bringing out food, clearing tables, replenishing the condiments, plates, flatware, jelly, butter, etc. in addition to running the cash register. I watched her as she worked, constantly pleasant and helpful. She was doing all it was humanly possible for one person to do and her upbeat personality never cracked under the pressure of everyone going to her "wanting this and wanting that". She was so gracious we thought maybe she was the owner of a contracted food service. We asked and it turns out she is just an hourly employee. She was great and needs to be considered for a higher level customer service position.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Lake, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We arrived here without a reservation after a very long, hot day of motorcycle riding. Cody was quick to get us settled in a very nice and comfortable poolside room with an extremely comfortable pillow-top bed and lots of extra pillows. The price was surprisingly affordable and there were plenty of eating and drinking establishments to choose from within walking distance of the hotel. We enjoyed the pool and hot-tub and met some local people who were there just to relax and let their kids swim and enjoy the indoor slide. Everyone was pleasant and willing to share information on their favorite recreational areas nearby for us to explore the following day. We were impressed by the inexpensive breakfast buffet in the morning, and Kim was very helpful and pleasant to everyone she encountered. I even witnessed her showing a patron how to use the waffle maker and offering to turn and remove its contents while the busy mother assisted her children with the buffet. Who could ask for anything more?!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic pool! Includes a hot tub, slide and both indoor and outdoor pool. Staff all very friendly, especially waitress that helped my son make his waffle at breakfast. Clean, quiet, comfortable beds. Bonus points because the room actually gets cold at night with the air on high.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is an older hotel. It is an older Holiday Inn, but the rooms are very clean and it has been slightly updated. You can get it at a very good price, usually in the $55-$65 range if you book through Choice Hotels and use the discount code for either the National Rifle Association or State Farm Insurance. I believe it's 20% off the rack rate. The hotel bar and grill serve excellent food. However, breakfast will cost you about $5.00; they do not provide a free breakfast.

Room Tip: Less noise if you stay in the Executive Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Executive wing rooms are much nicer than the older party of the hotel. Management is always friendly and helpful. Great location right off interstate. The price is right.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 970 South Jefferson Avenue, Cookeville, TN 38501 (Formerly Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Cookeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 hotels in Cookeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Cookeville
Cookeville Clarion
Clarion Cookeville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.