We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cookeville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cookeville to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cookeville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1228 Bunker Hill Road, Cookeville, TN 38501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Cookeville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

This is nice hotel to stay in , very clean with great front desk I'm traveling here on business and been staying in this hotel for while and every time I come they are very customer oriented .
Good breakfast and very clean and modern rooms only negative is noise from gas station next door , which by the way has the cheapest gas around.

So I give 4 stars.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    34
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
24
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Did not get a restful night sleep due to noise level from traffic. Because of the noise we would probably not stay here again. The sleep sofa was very uncomfortable. Front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. Replaced dirty pillows minutes after calling. Room was clean and very big.

Room Tip: as far away from the Pilot gas station as possible (may help with noise issue)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cookeville, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear nillarilla,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

The hotel and rooms were nice. Fairly modern and well kept. Our king room #301 was hug. Service was good. Nice breakfast setup.

Overall a decent stay but some negative items.

First the main reservation number told us they had 2 queen bed rooms available. When we checked in 30 minutes later they only had a single king bed with a pull out sofa. By the end of the night everyone was in the king bed because the sleep sofa was not that comfortable.

The next morning I went to the car and there was a big spot of spilled coffee and scrambled eggs just outside a secondary entrance. A worker was standing there smoking, looking at the mess as I tried to navigate around it with my suitcase. When we left an hour later two workers were out there smoking, huge nasty mess still there right in the middle of the sidewalk 20 inches from the door. Apparently it was nobodys job to clean it so they left it for guests to walk through, which several people apparently had by then.

The biggest issue was highway noise. The x01 rooms are as close as you can get to the highway and very loud. You hear the trucks all night even with the fan on. Firetrucks and police from the nearby station are fun at 3am as well.

If you stay here get a higher floor an even room and a higher number. Something like 420 should be much better for highway noise. Definitely stay away from x01 rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cookeville, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear CharlestonSW_com,

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback. I am pleased you found our rooms commendable. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. However, I would like to apologize that our service and the room allocations fell below your expectations. The feedback we receive from our guests enable us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. I hope to have the chance of serving you soon and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel was excellent - very affordable, with fantastic service and a nice, clean room. The room itself was closer to a suite than a normal hotel room, and the place was quiet and well-kept. The complimentary breakfast is a real breakfast, with hot food and a lot of variety. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Really nice, clean hotel right next to the interstate and next to a small truck stop, which for my purposes, was perfect. The attendant behind the desk was very helpful answering my questions about parking my bus, and providing other information I needed. They held a great parking spot for me that was secure. When I went in, the lobby was clean, as was the breakfast area. The group had secured one of the meeting rooms to have a get together the evening we arrived and the hotel staff went out of their way to make sure they had everything they needed. My suite was very clean and comfortable, and while it faced the interstate, I had no problem at all sleeping. The breakfast was very good both mornings, and had a variety of items to please everybody. And to have coffee available in the evening was a big plus for me. Would not hesitate to stay here again!

Room Tip: Don't know about the regular rooms, but the suite was great. Definitely pay a little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I thought this would be the best place to stay but little did i know the front desk "man" was a jerk. My mom and I would have loved to have a calm peaceful night but just the thought of seeing him every time i walked the front door mad my stomach turn. I am not one to complain at all but he embarrased me so bad. I know with this new modern ways that cards are the only way to go but i had some stuff happen to my account that week that i had to get all my money out of my account so i just had cash.. he told me that would be fine he still had to swipe my card though. i said ok (knowing that my card has NOTING on it) he swiped it. Gave me the gift bag my room key and told me where eveything was and how they worked so on so on . I walk out to my car and next thing i know he is running after me telling my card declined.. (how stupid can he get) so he took my keys and my gift bag and walked back inside .. I had to go to the bank put my money in my account and go back there before checking in again but needless to say NO GIFT BAG FOR ME. And to top it off our bathroom light did not work most of the time so dont stay in room 219.

Room Tip: Dont pick room 219.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Right off the interstate. Clean, nice lobby, cookies in the pm. Room clean, no problems. Front desk staff courteous and nice. He told me he was giving me a room that did not face the truck stop next door.(Really a gas station, but lots of 18 wheelers). So it was very quiet. Salt water pool. very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on opposite side from the truck stop/gas station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cookeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cookeville

Address: 1228 Bunker Hill Road, Cookeville, TN 38501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Cookeville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cookeville
#6 Business Hotel in Cookeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cookeville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cookeville, Cookeville s premiere hotel, has the amenities certain to please any travelers needs. Amenities include refrigerators, microwaves, free high speed wired and wireless Internet access in every room. Relax in front of a 32 inch flat screen TV with full cable access on our pillow top mattress. Start each morning with a free hot breakfast and gourmet coffee. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cookeville is located at I-40 and exit 287 South of the Main Exit in Cookeville, a close drive to interstate drive the location of restaurant row. Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Cookeville is located close to Tennessee Tech University, Russell Stover Candy outlet, Sams Club, Moeller Marine Products, Cookeville Regional Medical Center, Cookeville Deport Museum, Cookeville Drama Center, and Burgess Falls State Park. Area attractions include Center Hill Lake, Dale Hollow Lake, Big South Fork National Park, Fall Creek Falls State Park, TN Aquarium Chattanooga a short drive and The Nashville Super Speedway. Stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cookeville the heart of the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cookeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Cookeville
Holiday Inn Cookeville
Cookeville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cookeville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.