We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will leave with a such a smile your knees will be shaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Tapatio Mexican Restaurant

El Tapatio Mexican Restaurant
900 South Jefferson Avenue, Cookeville, TN
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 137 Restaurants in Cookeville
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Maumelle, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You will leave with a such a smile your knees will be shaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

What a great place. Service, food, ambiance, location, and PRICE. They have it all. Wish they were in my hometown. I had the fajitas and they were great. The waiter put extra tequila in my margarita and treated me like royalty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    22
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“El Tapatio - Great Mexican Food In Cookeville, Tennessee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Whenever my wife and I travel between our home in Memphis, TN and our daughter and son-in-law's home in King George, Virginia we try to make a stop in Cookeville, Tennessee for some of the best Mexican food we've had.

El Tapatio has two Cookeville locations (Willow Avenue & South Jefferson Avenue) and another in Sparta, Tennessee. We have only eaten at the 900 South Jefferson Avenue location as it is easily accessible off IH-40, exit 278 .4 miles north on the right hand side. The restaurant shares an always crowded parking lot with a Best Western, but is not affiliated with the hotel chain.

My wife, who is Mexican-American is hooked on the Chimichungas while I am addicted to their Chiles Poblanos, better known to me as Chiles Relenos, They serve a fantastic Salsa with chips before ample portions of the main course. We always struggle to finish our food, but it tastes so good that it seems sinful to leave any behind.

El Tapatio has many appetizers and main courses from which to choose and has a very good selection of beer, wine and mixed drinks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Two of us shared a fajita dinner of shrimp, and chicken. It was enough for 3 people. I am very fond of shrimp and they were excellent. it was really nice after riding in a car for many hours to have this restaurant so close, delicious and reasonable. My friend ordered a margarita and they didn't ask the size. She was surprised at how large it was but it cost almost as much as the meal!!! iShe said that it tasted great, though. I had a beer which was reasonably priced.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“El Tap is emergency Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

El Tap is Cookeville's emergency mexican restaurant. Speedy with beans, speedy with rice kind of place. Usually lots of people there, food is delivered quick. menu selection is pretty good. Its a popular, quick Mexican restaurant

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not very good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

very bland and food service quality stuff, travelers through beware! There are a few decent dishes like quesadillas and the speciality chicken dishes but stay away from the taco, enchilada, rice and beans.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tapatio Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Tapatio Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tapatio Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.