We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff make the difference” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Cookeville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Cookeville to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Cookeville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1151 South Jefferson Avenue, Cookeville, TN 38506 (Formerly Baymont Inn & Suites Cookeville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Cookeville
Waverly, Tennessee
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Staff make the difference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I just got back from a business trip where my employer reserved rooms at this hotel. Here's my take on it:

Room: Comfortable bed, bathroom was clean, decent furnishings - everything was functional - no complaints in that department at all. The sink was outside of the bathroom and shower and had a nice long counter space. Drapes effectively kept the room dark at night and noise was minimal. I would have liked to have had a refrigerator since I bring bottled water when I travel, plus, it would have been handy for leftovers - hated throwing them out. Also, would have liked to have had a microwave in the room - again - I'm a frugal traveler and I would have liked to have eaten my restaurant leftovers. However, neither of these absent appliances were deal breakers.

Breakfast: There are different selections each morning, along with some regular offerings. One morning, there was bacon, eggs, and some Peruvian potatoes which were pretty tasty and a nice change of pace. Another morning, French toast was offered. There was always fruit, cereal, yogurt, oatmeal, coffee, juice, milk, instant grits, etc. In summary, a perfectly good breakfast. Seating was a little crowded and a bit of a challenge to navigate the space if you arrived during peak breakfast time.

Check-in and out: Smooth, fast, and room was ready at 2:30 when I arrived and I was able to get unloaded and up to my room in time for a conference call at 3:30. Luggage trolleys are lightweight and easy to maneuver; not like in some hotels where you feel like you are pulling along a horse trailer. Elevator worked fairly quickly - didn't have to wait long at any point of my stay, even though I was on the 5th floor.

Other amenities: U.S.A. Today available to guests daily as well as some warm chocolate chip, peanut butter, and macadamia nut cookies. Ice machine worked on my floor.

Staff: These folks were what made this hotel stand out. Matthew, Jessica and Whitney were super friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about the area and what it has to offer both business and holiday travelers. They truly made the difference for my stay - I enjoyed chatting with them for a few minutes each morning and at the end of my work day. It made the long work days a bit more cheery. They are exceptional.

Room Tip: I stayed in 521 - it's never been a smoking room according to staff and was at the far end of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    128
    58
    31
    13
See reviews for
161
56
22
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This hotel is right off exit 287 I40 and avoids having to navigate the traffic on the busy road it dumps you onto. It is set back so it is quiet. It was formerly the Baymont Inn and Suites and still has the ghost of the signage which the hotel needs to deal with as the exterior upon approach looked a little
concerning, but inside, it was very inviting. Cookies, coffee and newspapers greeted me in the lobby. The staff was extremely helpful and efficient and the newly refurbished rooms were a pleasant surprise. Very comfortable and stylish AND QUIET.

My only pet peeve is the lighting in the rooms. The bulbs in the lamps are the fluorescents which are the blue ones which I found a bit harsh for doing work in. If I had lighting that was a more natural lighting I would have had a more productive working and overall pleasant ambiance for peace of mind after a long drive. Other than that it was very nice. Also included was a pretty well thought out breakfast bar. So, don't let the exterior dissuade you, I would stay here again on my way through Cookeville.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I recently stayed at the Country Inn and Suites with a conference group, and I must say I was very impressed. The staff were amazing. The room was very clean and tidy. I would also like to give a sincere thank you to the afternoon shift manager Matt. He was extremely helpful with suggesting restaurants and other places to go around town. He went the extra mile to accommodate our group. I was very impressed with our stay at the Country Inn and Suites and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean room and great service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siloam Springs, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We arrived somewhat late in the evening and the check in person was very friendly. We had reservations ahead and check in was quick. We got to the room and I did the usual check of the room and noticed that the toilet did not appear cleaned. I called the front desk and within minutes she brought us the keys to a new room. She was very apologetic and handled the situation great. The second room was very clean and comfortable. We already had reservations for the return trip and when we arrived the second time I mentioned the past experience and the check in person mentioned that the problem had definitely been corrected. Overall experience was very good. Beds were comfortable and breakfast offers a good variety. We received an excellent rate but our stay was off season. I recommend this place if nothing else for the friendly staff. Driveway is hidden behind a large electrical box and signs not so easy to see at night.

Room Tip: As with ANY hotel, always do a room check first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Very friendly and clean. They serve eggs, bacon, and other items. Was a recently purchased and updated. Beds are firm and large rooms. Easy in and out. They do a lot of business, and had to wait for a clean room at 2.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I drive a charter bus and stayed here with a college baseball team 3 nights. Staff was excellent and accommodated us in every way possible. Rooms were nice and breakfast was plentiful. Can be overlooked because it's behind another hotel but look for it. It's worth it!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland City
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Check in was easy. Rooms were large & quiet. Parking lot was well lit. Breakfast was really good. Make your own waffles, cereals, biscuits and gravy. Just your typical breakfast items. Lot's of great restaurants near by to choose from. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Cookeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Cookeville

Address: 1151 South Jefferson Avenue, Cookeville, TN 38506 (Formerly Baymont Inn & Suites Cookeville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Cookeville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cookeville
#4 Business Hotel in Cookeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Cookeville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Upper Cumberland's Choice Hotel. Experience true Tennessee Southern Hospitality at the newly renovated Country Inn & Suites! Our interior corridor room entrances are always clean, cozy, and conveniently located in the "Heart" of the Upper Cumberland to the country's most Beautiful Lakes, Waterfalls, Trails, Parks, and authentic Southern History and Heritage. From Bluegrass & Biscuits to Wine on the West Side, The Upper Cumberland is Tennessee's Stairway to the Smokies. We serve up a Hot, Southern, Deluxe Be Our Guest Breakfast daily by our friendly staff and our rooms feature amenities such as microwave & refrigerator, "double" pillow-top mattresses, coffee maker, iron/board, wireless high-speed internet access and more. Located in Cookeville, Tennessee home to Tennessee Tech University Golden Eagles. Call today and reserve your getaway to the Upper Cumberland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Cookeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn Cookeville
Cookeville Baymont Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Cookeville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.