We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good steak for a great price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CHAR Steakhouse

CHAR Steakhouse
14 South Washington Ave., Cookeville, TN 38501
931-520-2427
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 139 Restaurants in Cookeville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: CHAR is a new, locally owned and operated Steakhouse on the square in downtown Cookeville, TN. Boasting the best steaks in the region as well as the best all around dining experience in town, CHAR has quickly become THE local hot spot for great food, cold drinks, and the best live music in town.
Tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good steak for a great price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Always try to eat local when on the road and was not disappointed on our choice to eat Char Steakhouse. The atmosphere was surprising for this location, we ate outside on the patio. The service was excellent and the steak, a ten ounce New York strip with blue cheese for $14 with two sides was just great. Had the house cab with the meal for $5, it was great and paired well with the meat. Highly recommend trying this hidden gem in downtown Cookeville.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    26
    15
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“DY-NA-MITE!!!! (My new favorite restaurant)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

No possible way to improve this restaurant/dining experience. When we entered I immediately thought "this is going to be expensive", but surprisingly it was very reasonable. The atmosphere appeared way more upscale than the ticket price. Our waiter was very friendly and never let our glasses run out.
We ordered the spicy vege quesadia appetizer. It was hands down THE BEST APPETIZER I HAVE EVER HAD anywhere any price. If you dine here order it. I had a ribeye with portobellos- it was great. All in all quiet possibly my new all time favorite restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Consistently good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I have enjoyed lunch at Char several times. The service and food have always been very good. The daily specials on the menu are a great value, delicious and portions are large enough for even the heartiest appetites.
Customers dining here for the first time, may be concerned by the dimness of the light, but don't that deter you. The quality of the food and promptness of service make up for lack of wattage.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Some of the best steaks in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife and I like to come here to splurge a little from time to time. If the weather is nice, sit outside on the patio. It's surrounded by fir trees and right in the middle of downtown Cookeville, but it's actually quite serene.

Food is excellent - never had a bad meal. Atmosphere is contemporary, but welcoming. Enjoy!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Supreme Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I had the rack of lamb and it was cooked to perfection! I also loved to atmosphere. The service was also good. I highly recommend Char for a nice casual dinner.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CHAR Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to CHAR Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CHAR Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.