We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salmon with Goat Cheese, Delectable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crawdaddy's West Side Grill

Crawdaddy's West Side Grill
53 W Broad St, Cookeville, TN 38501-2573
931-526-4660
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 135 restaurants in Cookeville
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Harriman, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Salmon with Goat Cheese, Delectable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Hubby & I were finishing up an overnight trip in the Nashville area and stopped off in Cookeville to eat dinner on our way home. We arrived at an odd hour for dinner but to late for lunch. The lunch menu looked great but was only offered until 3:00 Monday-Friday. We stopped in on a Saturday.

The server, Crystal was very helpful and very attentive. We started out with a dozen oysters on the half shell. They were chilled well and firm, very enjoyable. I asked Crystal for a recommendation for my dinner and she suggested the citrus glazed salmon with goat cheese which is what I ordered. I would have loved a sweet potato but that was only available after 5:00. I ordered asparagus and roasted red potatoes. Hubby ordered Gumbo and a salad.

We were both extremely happy with our meals! We were seated quickly, waited on quickly but the wait time for our food was a little longer than what we would have preferred.

Over the weekend we ate at three restaurants which we had never eaten at before. We enjoyed all three, but Crawdaddy's West Side Grill was by far the best!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    72
    40
    19
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crossville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
361 helpful votes 361 helpful votes
“Crawdaddy's West Side Grill - Can Also Be your Crawmommy's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Great home cooked Cajun food that your mommy would have made! We have eaten here several times and we are always completely satisfied with our meal.

Came for lunch on a weekday at 12:03 PM. As soon as we were seated the place began to fill in very quickly. Our waitress was Sabrina - 5 stars to her also!

We each had the seasonal Calfkiller draft beer ($3.00 each). Calfkiller is a small microbrewery in nearby Sparta, TN. We shared the blackened catfish ($7.99) and the shrimp and grits ($7.99).

Our whole bill came to $23.54 plus a generous tip for Sabrina.

We will definitely return!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Gumbo was the "best ever!"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This was fun to find, while traveling cross country. Local restaurants are just the best! I don't know how gumbo could be the "best ever!", but my husband said it was! I learned to always put brown sugar and cinnamon on baked sweet potato. So good! My catfish was just a little too buttery/rich. One suggestion to the restaurant: get better french fries. There are so many good ones out there at other restaurants.
We were there on Halloween night, and I wondered if it was a "costume place" and we would feel out of place. Nope! We felt right at home, just like a local. We've put this in our travel journal as a place to stop.
Eat upstairs - more fun

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Good food and portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Have eaten here a few times. Service is overall good. Food is excellent for reasonable price. One of only a few good non-chain restaurants in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trophy Club, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We've eaten here numerous times. If the weather is nice enjoy your meal in the courtyard. The food is good, great beer list. On our most recent visit the shrimp bisque was good but a bit salty. Shrimp and grits were seasoned well. Good service with the manager helping the servers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crawdaddy's West Side Grill also viewed

 

Been to Crawdaddy's West Side Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crawdaddy's West Side Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.