We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happened to this place?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Girls Restaurant

Golden Girls Restaurant
2211 N Charles G Seivers Blvd, Clinton, TN 37716
(865) 457-3302
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in Clinton
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What happened to this place?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Either this place has changed hands or the owners have given up and just don't care anymore. I remembered this place fondly from road trips in the past. Even received a cookbook as a Christmas present once.
Instant gross mashed potatoes?
Cheap instant gravy?
Unfriendly lady behind the register. If you are the owners of ten years ago, how sad. Maybe I remember it better than it was.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    53
    4
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great place for Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Just a good old down-home place to get breakfast on a Sunday (or any other day, I guess) either before church, after church (or even instead of church!)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good Basic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Wonderful little restaurant, where the locals eat! Country style cooking .... great soups. The specials always seem to be excellent. Fair pricing, not expensive. We eat here when we are in the area .... never disappointed

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E. TN
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have eaten at Golden Girls many times over the last 10 years. The food is reasonably well-prepared Southern-style food. The prices are very reasonable.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Classic American Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I liked pretty much everything about Golden Girls (except maybe the restroom). It looks like it was a real log cabin - you enter into a "kitchen area" (complete with a stove, kitchen sink, and mixer) before being escorted to your seating area. It was decorated for Christmas to the nines. The waitresses seemed to know the locals and they made a lot of their desserts in house. The prices were right on the money.

I loved the red eye gravy (bypassed on giving it to the toddler) and I always enjoy a good cup of oatmeal so no complaints there. The cheese ON TOP of the omelette was out of the ordinary but it tasted good so I cannot complain. Overall, everything was good! Nothing fancy, no bernaise, hollandaise, or other fancy sauce.

The Italian Creme cake was unbelievable delicious. So good that I didn't share.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Girls Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Golden Girls Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Girls Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.