We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Hideaway in a boating community!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bear Inn to your Saves list
Bear Inn
2250 Billy Nance Hwy 114, Clifton, TN 38425   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Clifton B&B and Inns
1 review
“Honeymoon Hideaway in a boating community!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed ourselves. We were extremely impressed. The cabins were well maintained, clean, and affordable. We spent 4 days and 3 nights here for under $300. There is breakfast served every morning, and dinner served every night for an affordable price too. The bar and grill was a nice addition to the hotel and a huge convenience for us. We will be returning to this facility for future stays.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda A, Front Office Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We are so happy to have you as guests at the hotel and we wish you both many, many years of happiness! We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    3
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
5
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

The rooms make you feel like you're in a cabin in the Smoky's. The bar and grill is laid back yet has the feel of a Nashville night; guitars, alcohol and good times. Troy at the bar makes you feel very welcome. I'll definately be back! Someone just needs to buy the PGA golf course out back and open it back up!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda A, Front Office Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you'll stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Rica, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Found this gem while working in the area. Rates was in our budget. Food and the bar was second to none. Ribeye done to perfection. Defiantly will be coming back. Rooms clean and the drinks poured well. Did I mentioned this is the only liquor bar in county

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda A, Front Office Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at the inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury,
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great find in a small town. The staff was friendly. We were cooked up a wonderful breakfast that included the fluffiest scrambled eggs and homestyle potatoes. The room was clean and equiped with a small kitchen. We have stayed there several times and will come back again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda A, Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have been in Clifton several times in the past few months for business, and anticipate being there on several other occasions over the next year. There is no way I would stay anywhere else in this area.

When you arrive, you are greeted warmly at the front desk who makes sure that you have everything you need for your stay. They have a full service restaurant and bar manned by Kirk, who is a colorful local man who is ready to grill anything you might want. As this is the only night life in Clifton (a very small town with a beautiful view of the Tennessee River with not a single red light), this is a rather hopping spot with the locals, who will gladly invite you to their table and instantly make you feel at home.

The rooms are comfortable, and have everything you need. Last time I stayed in a suite with a kitchen table and a recliner. Great for relaxing in the evening watching a large flat screen HD TV, and great for working the next morning.

Finally, you get to meet Kirk again at 7:00 a.m. sharp to fix you a made to order full breakfast. Better than any Embassy Suites or continental breakfast you get at most chains these days. I have stayed in many five star hotels and resorts where the breakfast was not as good despite paying $20 or more for breakfast. This is for FREE!

When you check out, the same lady who took care of you the night before is back at the desk, and seems to genuinely care how your stay went. I asked her to book me the same room for next month, and I am looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda A, Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank You for your kind review of our Inn. We all take pride in making sure our guests have a good hot meal, whether it is Dinner or our complimentary Hot Breakfast. We look forward to seeing you next Month!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

It is basic, clean and the price is right. If you are floating the TN River, cruising America, a biker, or junker, the Bear Inn might be for you. We stayed the night before New Years and they were getting ready for a Throw Down up stairs in the bar. It is in the middle of rural TN a few miles from Clifton, TN a tiny town of yesterday with southern charm. The river view is terrific in town. These are down home folk, kind, generous, and helpful. Great breakfast, but to much smoke in bar so take out. They are good people!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda A, Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank You for your review of our "Second Class Bar& Grill". We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also have taken on an Indoor Non Smoking Policy for our Bar and Grill. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed at the the Bear Inn on 2 recent occasions. I was traveling on the Tennessee River with a large group of boaters. We had 7 vessels at the local (very nice) marina. The Bear Inn staff were very acommidating. They provided transportation to the Inn and to a nearby restaurant for breakfast the next morning. The food at the Bear Inn was excellent. We enjoyed two very nice dinners.Our entire group was pleased with our choice of the Bear Inn. I highly recommend this Inn.

Room Tip: Cabins are available as well. However I did not get to see the interior of a Cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thanks for staying with us and for posting a review of our inn! Look forwrd to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Inn

Address: 2250 Billy Nance Hwy 114, Clifton, TN 38425
Location: United States > Tennessee > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Creekside Cabins and Cozy Inn is located in the heart of Tennessee. The location of our inn speaks to the heart and soul of a very rich American history. Our guests are treated more like family passing through. Each guest can be sure to find a room that fits into his or her personality. Each room is designed specifically to capture history and to deliver sweet solace to those who reside in it. Whether it be a passionate golfer who would enjoy or "PGA"room or a fast driven and determined race car stock driver who would certainly feel at home in our "Stock Car Room". Certainly if you are like many and are desiring a simple getaway from the day to day, The Bear Inn has something for you too. While vacationing at our delectable Inn you are treated with kindness, dignity, and respect, which is what the great state of Tennessee was built on. 24 Hour housekeeping, room service, full R.V hook-ups and an on site chef awaits your visit. Dining in Our Restaurant The Backyard Bar & Grill is open Thursday, Friday and Saturday 5pm to 10pm. Enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of a full bar and bar menu. Play a game of pool and relax on the two decks or under the gazebo. Wi-Fi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.