We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scoops & Burgers - CLOSED

Scoops & Burgers
808 25th Street NW, Cleveland, TN
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Cleveland, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Took our family when we first moved here, and surprisingly all my picky eaters loved it!! Cheese fries are a meal in itself!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't bother eating here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Like the other reviews stated, burgers are very disappointing....beef is smashed and over-cooked to the point of .....dry, dry, dry.
Fries are ok, though...... onion rings are void of any flavor. No combo meals available means you have to piece your meal together....at a higher cost. $8.00 for a burger, fries, and a small Coke. Floor was dirty, decoration was sparse........staff was friendly.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Good Fries, Flawed Burgers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Once I got the surly female teenager behind the counter to acknowledge my presence, I ordered a Titan burger with large fries. The fries were fresh out of the fryer & consistently crispy; I can't think of another restaurant in Cleveland that does that & would wholeheartedly suggest the fries (though a large order is more than enough for 2 people).

The high-priced burger, however, was disappointing. The restaurant prides itself on Hereford beef in their burgers & that everything is char-grilled. When the cook smashes the 1/4 lb burger to less than the width of a pencil, though, it's too dry & becomes indistinguishable from Grade D But Edible. The patty was seasoned well but the meat became a gray lump that purely served as a delivery vessel for bland vegetables. The condiments & vegetables are all lumped in the center of the burger which makes eating the burger an unnecessary mess & means you make have all compressed beef & bun in one bite & overpowering onions & mustard in the next. Not the most pleasant dining experience. To taint such good beef is like putting a bumper sticker on your Porsche.

Would I return? Not for a burger. I'd come back for the excellent fries & I'd be willing to give it a 2nd chance to see if their hot dogs are better executed than the burgers (could it be worse?). Until Scoops & Burgers learns how to respect it's product you're better off getting a burger at Cafe Roma or the Bald Headed Bistro if you want to keep your money local.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“New Place in Town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We've only eaten there, once. I didn't really like the flavor of the hot dog I had, but will go back and try a burger. Great service; clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Hot Dogs and Ice Cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I really love the hot dogs at this restaurant. The bun is grilled and is very different from anything else offered in this area. Staff is friendly, service is OK, and there are other options for those who want something besides a hot dog. They also have an excellent selection of ice cream based desserts. The building is sparsely decorated, and is quite noisy when a crowd is present, but the food is worth it.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scoops & Burgers also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scoops & Burgers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.