We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't possibly expect more for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverview Inn

Save Saved
You added Riverview Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riverview Inn
50 College Street, Clarksville, TN 37040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 34 hotels in Clarksville
Bakersfield, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't possibly expect more for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We don't usually have long stays in hotels but a family occassion brought us to Clarksville for 8 days. We wanted some space so got a suite at the Riverview Inn. This is not a fancy accommodation but it provided for all of our needs. The lobby area was very pleasant and would have been a nice area to hook up with friends and relatives if needed. In our room, we had an adequate seating area separate from the bedroom plus a very handy kitchen area with a refrigerator, microwave and a Keurig (which we use at home and LOVE). We are fussy about mattresses and this one was very comfortable; I would rate the bed as a 5 star. Bathroom was a little small but again it totally met our needs. The room was clean and we had fresh linens each day. A nice bathroom ammenity was a sealed Dove makeup remover towelette. You would think that this could be provided at hotels with many times the rate but this modest hotel came up with a great touch. Also, just a great product that I had not used before. We ate the complimentary breakfast just about every day. Again, very basic but it was handy and the price was right. I actually ate healthier here than most restaurantsts. Juice, yogurt, cereal, toast and fruit. How much more could you want? My husband liked the eggs and breakfast meats and biscuits and gravy but I was not a gravy fan, too artificial tasting but the biscuits were great. I do suggest they add honey to the condiment tray. I don't like indoor pools so that is a nix for me but it looked like other guests enjoyed it. I did use the teeny, tiny gym but in all of the days we were there, I was the only one there. Wish they had a elliptical but I made do with the treadmill and the universal weight machine. Since it doesn't appear that customers care so much about the gym, I don't suppose the management will put much into the equipment. There was a public restaurant in the hotel that was only open a few days a week. Too bad. I have been to this property before when this was a booming bar and restaurant. I think downtown Clarksville could use another option so maybe somebody will come in and give it what it needs. We walked just one block to the Saturday farmers' market which was excellent by any standard. The cute litlle downtown was also just one block away with little shops and a few great restaurants. I highly recommend the Courture Crush for unique fashions at good prices and the Blackhorse Restaurant for great food and drink. All in all, I was concerned about such a long stay but the staff and the accommodations made the time away from home very pleasant.

Satisfied Customer

Room Tip: Highly recommend the suite that faces the river. Don't remember the name
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcapps, Manager at Riverview Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for picking us for your 8 day stay! We do enjoy our serving a hot buffet breakfast to our guest! So wonderful you enjoyed your view of the river. Thank you for sharing your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    41
    8
    8
    11
See reviews for
27
15
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We blocked off about 40 rooms for my wedding in July 2013 and had a wonderful experience. The rooms were very nice! We were also glad to see a Keurig machine in each room. The staff was VERY friendly and accommodating to all our guests. I couldn't have asked for a better hotel to work with having such a large group to accommodate. Each night hotel guests enjoyed themselves at the lounge for drinks. Breakfast was your traditional free hotel breakfast. The hotel is directly across from the River which has a walking path and park and in the heart of downtown Clarksville. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcapps, Manager at Riverview Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are so pleased you and your guests enjoyed your stay! We appreciate your special comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel while attending a wedding. The room was very clean and comfortable. We had an end room and it was very quiet. The facility seemed very full with meeting and reunions. It is right downtown on the river and within walking distance to the many unique shops and restaurants. It is not far from Austin Peay University. The only negative comment would be the complimentary breakfast. The room is very small and both mornings the buffet looked like they had not anticipated the size of the breakfast crowd. One morning every one of the "hot" items were gone and there was no where to sit so we took our sweet rolls and juice to our room. The second morning the conference room across the hall was offered for additional seating (it was in use the previous morning) but once again many of the items were not available.

The staff was super friendly and very eager to please. There were several groups being hosted that weekend as well as many activities happening in downtown. Parking was free but we were given parking pass to "display prominently" as they apparently have problems with downtown visitors using their parking lot,.

Overall, I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Riverview Inn. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. It's location is great. It is within walking distance to shops, restaurants, bars, and the river walk. Our room was very large. We had plenty of room for ourselves and our dog. The room decor could use a little updating, but the TV was new and the lobby area has also just been redone. They also had a great continental breakfast. We will definitely stay here during future visits to Clarksville.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Although we were only there for one night, the treatment we received was great. The room was clean, the bathroom was sparkling and the view was outstanding. The carpet is probably due to be replaced, but it was clean. The complimentary breakfast was far more than adequate, well stocked and fresh. The staff was helpful and very pleasant. Even the housekeeping staff was quick to greet us. Couldn't have asked for a more pleasant and convenient place.

Room Tip: You would not be disappointed with a room with a view of the river. It is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcapps, Manager at Riverview Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your review! It pleases us to hear you enjoyed your stay. Perhaps you can stay longer than one night next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulaski, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was a business trip. Check in was easy and we were greeted with smiles and a happy atmosphere. Banquet room was beautiful and the grounds were well kept. Rooms very clean and comfy. Pool was very clean. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcapps, Manager at Riverview Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We are so pleased that you had a good business trip! Hopefully you can come back to see us for another event. We appreciate your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Very helpful and courteous staff. Clean comfortable room. Convenient location downtown. Excellent breakfast included. Some of the rooms have a nice view of the river. Downtown Clarksville is clean lighted well at night. The inn is a short walking distance to many interesting sights and excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcapps, Manager at Riverview Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We love our location too! Being so close to downtown is a great bonus of staying with us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Inn

Address: 50 College Street, Clarksville, TN 37040
Location: United States > Tennessee > Clarksville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Clarksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown Clarksville within walking distance to dining, shopping and entertainment. Meeting and banquet space available from the small conference rooms to receptions up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Riverview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverview Hotel Clarksville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.