We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverview Inn

Save Saved
You added Riverview Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riverview Inn
50 College Street, Clarksville, TN 37040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 34 hotels in Clarksville
Monroe, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We've stayed here several times over the past few years. The lobby was always inviting and has been recently updated. We felt right at home while sitting in front of the cozy fireplace drinking the wonderful complementary hot drinks provided.
It is an older hotel, but the only downfall we could see after the room and lobby update, are the windows in the rooms. The hotel offers a wonderful view of the Cumberland river and countryside, so it's a shame the cloudy windows obscure the view a bit.
There is a walkway leading from the hotel to the beautiful riverwalk along the river. The city does a wonderful job of decorating both the hotel-adjacent downtown area and riverfront.
Some of the publications state that there is a restaurant and lounge on site. The restaurant, from what I hear, used to be wonderful. It has always been closed on previous visits, and now has been removed. The bar is really nice, but poorly attended. Since there aren'y many options for dining, we feel that just offering burgers , soup & sandwiches in the bar would be a wonderful addition and help the bar business as well. The complimentary breakfast was very nice and they even decorated the tables for Christmas. I can't finish this review without mentioning Robert. This employee is the definition of customer service. We have never encountered anyone who payed more attention to your needs. He was intuitive and went and went above and beyond expectations. Thanks, Riverview Inn, for a wonderful stay in Clarksville!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    41
    8
    8
    11
See reviews for
27
15
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Overall, the Riverview is a good place to stay. It is near downtown and many places to eat. You also have direct access to the riverwalk directly behind the hotel without having to deal with traffic. The riverwalk is especially nice during December with the Christmas displays. The hotel lobby and 1st floor where the fitness center is look beautiful. The rooms are good as well. However, floors 3 and above are in need of renovation to look as nice as the first two floors. Also, the outside of the hotel needs a paint job and new windows or at least clean the windows. The elevators commonly reeked of smoke. I would stay again if the smoke smell was gone.

Room Tip: pick a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed at this location for almost 2 months while I was stationed at Fort Campbell working as a government military contractor. The room itself was quite spacious and still had plenty of room to move around even after having a very large dresser, mini-fridge, microwave, a table, chair, and a king size bed.The bed was by the far the most comfortable one I'd ever slept in at a hotel. The bathroom was considerably large too and had high-quality toiletries that smelled fantastic. The staff was very polite and even on the weekends when I returned very late at night (or more like early in the morning) from partying in Nashville they greeted me with a smile and asked me how my evening was. There was some construction going on because the hotel was in the process of updating its facilities, but I didn't mind that. The only thing I disliked was the breakfast selection. Most of the options were packaged processes items like honey-buns, donuts, and other items you would find at a gas station. I suppose this may have been done as a convenience for guests that were in a hurry to leave in the mornings, but it was a little disappointing for those that were actually hoping to sit down to a hot meal of various foods.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I was visiting Clarksville for a few days. The price of my stay was great. The hotel is well maintained, but with nothing flashy. One slight disappointment was the breakfast. They only had disposable plates and cutlery, such a waste. Hopefully they will change to real plates and cutlery some time soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view, the other side of the hotel does not overlook anything interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

The Riverview Inn is a nice, comfortable place. The rooms have what you need, even a tiny fridge and microwave, but it is older and outdated. The staff is very, very nice. The location is great. You can walk to several great, local restaurants. Overall, I would stay here again although I do think it is a bit pricy for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The Riverview Inn is in the heart of down town Clarksville, Tenessee. It is perfectly situated in the town. From the outside, the hotel looks a bit dated, which is discouraging. But on the inside, the hotel looks very nice, and is very well maintained. When you enter, there is a nice lounge, the reception on the left, with a swimming pool with views to the river behind the reception. The rooms are large, and a family can book two rooms, connected with doors, so you can create your own large living space. The rooms are up to date, clean, and have all the facilities you need, including a refrigerator, coffee maker, and up to date flat screen TV's. The beds are comfortable. Breakfast is modest, and what you could expect in a non-luxury hotel - with fresh milk, cereals, fruits and juices - very acceptable. I would definitely go back to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daleville, Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Very friendly staff. A 3 star hotel with 2 star pricing. Location to downtown shops and eateries major plus. Lovely view of the Cumberland River. Although they have just started renovating, it has not taken away from the quality of the hotel.

Room Tip: Complimentary Hot Breakfast. Had a lot of food items to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riverview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Inn

Address: 50 College Street, Clarksville, TN 37040
Location: United States > Tennessee > Clarksville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Clarksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown Clarksville within walking distance to dining, shopping and entertainment. Meeting and banquet space available from the small conference rooms to receptions up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Riverview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverview Hotel Clarksville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;