We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sit Down Chinese again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hong Kong Wok

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hong Kong Wok
1820 Madison St, Clarksville, TN 37043
(931) 906-1602
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 331 Restaurants in Clarksville
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Sit Down Chinese again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have enjoyed Hong Kong Wok for several years. The latest update to the restaurant is very nice and fresh.

It's so nice to have a nice Chinese restaurant that is not a buffet, nor focused on getting everyone through the buffet. We generally are creatures of habit and order the Gen Tso's chicken and spicy garlic beef. It's always fresh and made to order, seasoned perfectly. Last week we ventured into the Poo Poo tray. It was excellent, and a great way to sample their starters.

Our daughter (13) has placed HKW above P.F. Changs for bistro style Chinese. We love it, due to the quality of the food, great service from the ladies, and redesigned space & atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We love Hong Kong Wok! My husband, daughter and I ate here on Saturday, 2/18, for a casual dinner. We started with the Poo Poo Tray (hope I spelled that correctly). It was wonderful - as always! My husband ordered the Kung Pao Beef, my daughter ordered the General Pso's Chicken and I ordered the Green Pepper Steak. We shared our meals with one another - we like to eat family style when we go to Hong Kong Wok. Everything was wonderful!

Our server was great! She was very attentive and always there with refills before we even realized we were getting close to needing one. She was pleasant and very good at her job!

The pricing is very reasonable (especially for the quality of the meal) - in the low teens. We will be going back!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Nice Take-Out, Pricier but Great Quality!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We just moved to Clarksville and since we're waiting on our household goods to get delivered we've been eating out... Normally when we order chinese, we're used to northeastern authentic quality and quantity for a good price.

Being in the army and stationed mostly in the South I have noticed Chinese is just not the same. However, this place brings it back. The big difference was their portion sizes were smaller for the price you pay but the food tasted great and fresh.

We picked up early on a Friday so the place wasn't busy. The ladies who assisted me were very nice and pleasant. They had a full bar inside and seemed to offer a nice bistro atmosphere...kinda of like a mini PF Changs.

Anyways, I'm new here to Clarksville so I have nothing to compare it to but I'd definitely eat here again ;)

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Better than others in area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011 via mobile

We ate here in May. Service was decent. They did mess up our order, but food was good when they fixed the mistake. The resturant is very clean. Great lunch spot because they do serve quickly. Resyurant prices are okay, lunch prices are better than dinner. We gave also gotten takeout. Everything was good and hot! We will go back.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I had take out from this establishment for the first time last Sunday afternoon. He had a Thai curry and I had the Happy Family. We could tell instantly they use fresh, good quality ingredients and authentic seasonings. The flavors developed as we ate (from each others containers no less - they were both so good). The rices were cooked perfectly. Here's a bonus - everything was nice and hot! The curry was a little on the mild side but that could of been an error on our part. Not knowing whether we could have adjusted the chili amount or not. I bet we could. The sauces for both were delicious. We used a buy one get one half price coupon and it came to $23.00 plus a $3.00 tip was added on. Soooooo.... like I said, you get what you pay for. Will we pay full price to get more? Definitely.
A new hidden gem in Clarksville.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hong Kong Wok also viewed

 

Been to Hong Kong Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hong Kong Wok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.