We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Gateway Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Gateway Inn and Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Holiday Road, Clarksville, TN 37040 (Formerly Executive Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 34 hotels in Clarksville
New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

I stayed here at a very busy time in Clarksville for my husband's return to the United States from a deployment. There was also a convention at the time and available hotel rooms were limited.

The Good: The room was MUCH cheaper than where I usually stay in Clarksville (Hampton Inn/Holiday Inn Express), and the room was MUCH larger. There are cheaper rates online and I was automatically upgraded to a king suite when I checked in. All of the rooms in this hotel are junior or king suites. This room would be great for a family traveling together, as there is a living area for children to play & could watch TV on their own while parents watched something else. Additionally, it had a kitchenette area with a countertop, microwave, fridge and I think it may have had a sink (I can't remember 100% at the moment, I didn't use it). Everything else about the room was standard, in my opinion.

The Not-So-Good: You need a cord to connect to the internet, but can get it from the front desk. Appliances are older, but working. The room smelled like it might have been a smoking room in the past, but it didn't really bother me. It has outside corridors, but that is true for almost all the hotels/motels in Clarksville.

Overall, I would recommend this for a no-frills room. It was safe and quiet, but not too fancy.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
5
5
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, TN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

Friendly check in. Room seemed clean, but the furniture is ratty. Holes in the couch looked like from just normal wear and tear. Need to reupholstry or buy some new stuff ! One pkg coffee in the room with 2 cup coffee maker.. if you put two cups of water in it, is watered down.. need more coffee in the individual bags or more bags in the room.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

This place is not up to the standard that I would expect in a Best Western lodging facility.
The hotel description on the internet states "Help yourself to our fitness center" - there was no fitness center. That was one of the deciding factors in making our reservation there, my wife likes to exercise when we travel.
The 'breakfast' consisted of a few bagels and some cereal. No selection at all. I don't expect a gourmet meal but some choices would be nice.
The in-room coffee consisted of a packet of regular coffee and one package of condiments. Every other place that we have stayed puts out regular and decaf, plus at least 2 condiment packs. Since we both drink decaf we had to go to the lobby for coffee.
We visit this area at least once a year, but will not stay in this place again.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2007

I stayed at this hotel for 1 evening while traveling from Florida to Nebraska for the holidays. The outside of the property appeared to be fine. They have 24 hour survellience cameras on the property, the police station was next door and a fire station was apparently just a blk the other direction. The room was clean and quiet, but the pillows and all bedding is in serious need of replacement. The wool blanket on the bed was old, knotted and rough feel and the bedspread was thin with stains and a couple small holes in it.... also in need of replacement. The bathroom towels were VERY skimpy!! I couldn't believe how thin they were and they only give you 2 sets of towels...which consisted of the larger bath towel, a hand towel and washcloth. All of which were extremely thin!!! There are several hotels, gas stations and restaurants in this area. The only reason I stayed there was because I travel with a cat and this hotel was 1 of 2 that were reasonably priced and didn't charge an arm and leg for the pet. The Holiday Inn wanted to charge me $50 for the pet fee!! PLEASE! Would stay here again, if I had to....but if I had other opportunities, I'd certainly check out another place in the area.

  • Liked — They allowed pets and most in this area did not.
  • Disliked — Was a non-smoking room, but smelt horribly of smoke the second I opened the door!!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2007

We arrived around midnight. You could not enter the lobby. You go through the first set of double doors and then there is a window that you can communicate with the person working the desk. The person was a bit confused and took quite a while to book the room.

The room was very clean but bathroom was old. It had a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. Towels are very skimpy.

Breakfast was served and consisted of cereal, lender-like bagels, cream cheese, sweet rolls, coffee, juice and milk. A free newspaper was available in the lobby.

This room is as nice as can be expected for the price. And for spending the night on the road it was absolutely fine and I would stay there again.

  • Liked — Clean with easy access from the expressway; safe location
  • Disliked — breakfast, bathroom old
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2007

I stayed here a few years ago, and the property was in great condition. I stay at the BW in Clarksville, TN over the weekend and I was really disappointed. The rooms use to have 2 t.v.'s in them and now there is only one in an odd place. The continental breakfast was definitely lacking hot items.Wasn't what it use to be. I would not say it was completely run down but it wasn't as nice as it use to be.

  • Liked — Location close to the highway
  • Disliked — Continental breakfast
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, GA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2006

This hotel is adaquate but not one extra anywhere. Room was clean but not spotless. Our room had three thin towels, two wash cloths and two face towels although we had reserved for three people. Soap in the shower but not on the sink. Shower was clean but the caulk was molded. Thin shower curtain stuck to you when you showered. Continental breakfast was offered but only the bare minimum: two dry cereal options, banannas, only one milk.(no indication if whole or 2%), two types of donuts, white bread, white bagels, or white english muffins. Coffee but no half and half. Orange juice that ran out and was refilled even though server came by and checked on food. Butter and two types of jelly packets and a single large slab of cream cheese sat out but not under the sneeze cover. Overall, not a bad place but just nothing to make you want to come back. This explains why it was the value in the area.

  • Liked — Double had queens
  • Disliked — sparceness
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn and Suites

Address: 250 Holiday Road, Clarksville, TN 37040 (Formerly Executive Inn)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Clarksville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 34 hotels in Clarksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gateway Inn and Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Inn and Suites is located 10 minutes from Austin Peay State University, 15 miles from Fort Campbell Army Base; and a short drive to Nashville Convention Center, Tennessee State Capitol, Country Music Hall of Fame, Grand Ole Opry, Adelphia Coliseum and Vanderbilt University. The Gateway Inn and Suites, a Magnuson Hotel affiliate, offers guests free Continental breakfast served from 6 am to 10 am, free high-speed wireless Internet access in public areas, guest laundry, business center, fax/copy service, free parking and a wakeup service. All guest rooms offer cable TV with extra stations, microwave, mini-fridge, hair dryer, free local calls, free wired hi-speed internet access, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, iron/board and electronic door locks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Otel so you can book your Gateway Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Clarksville
Clarksville Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.