We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small museum in downtown Clarksville” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Customs House Museum and Cultural Center

Customs House Museum and Cultural Center
Corner of Commerce and South 2nd Street, Clarksville, TN 37041
931 648-5780
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 10 attractions in Clarksville
Type: Museums
Attraction Details
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Small museum in downtown Clarksville”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A lot of quirky things related to Clarksville. The outside of the old building is probably the highlight.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A mini-Ford museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is a neat little museum in downtown Clarksville. My Corvette club did a cruise to it on last Saturday. Admission on Saturday was free. I think it is about $5-7 during the week. It was about a two hour museum in my view. Lots of Americana stuff from Civil War photos and history, to a big diorama of electric trains, a bubble room with the possibilty of making full length bubbles to surround yourself with, to a room of porcelain birds and flowers by Boehm that was simply outstanding. A really eclectic collection of stuff that was very interesting to me. Kinda like visiting the Ford museum in Dearborne, MI, just on a smaller scale. Place was generous is open areas, well air conditioned, and just a nice place to spend a couple of hours. Easy parking nearby in a garage that was free on Saturday.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wartrace, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Unexpected quality and creative layout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

While it has been a year since we were there...it was a Harley Davidson exhibit! My son loved the hands-on science area in the basement. I love the antique items and THE TRAIN SET! A Must see for all ages.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland City, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Small, but fun (and inexpensive)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

The kids love the activity room downstairs, especially the bubble room. It's like a mini-Adventure Science Center. The rest of the museum (with the exception of the model trains & antique fire trucks) is more geared towards adults. Children tend to loose interest in these areas quickly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfect afternoon escape!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Very nice museum- the exhibits vary widely in tastes and types. Amazing kid's area with a bubble room! Really great historical section with all types of buggies and carts from the 1800's. Staff was very friendly. I got free tickets to the museum at the counter at F&M Bank (downtown Clarksville), worth a shot if you are interested in visiting. The gift shop has some interesting treasures!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Customs House Museum and Cultural Center also viewed

 

Been to Customs House Museum and Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Customs House Museum and Cultural Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Customs House Museum and Cultural Center to your Saves list