We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, convenient accommodations.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Read House Historic Inn And Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Read House Historic Inn And Suites to your Saves list
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   827 Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402 (Formerly Sheraton Read House)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #33 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
Sarasota, fl
1 review
“Charming, convenient accommodations.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Friendly staff for late night road trip travelers. Cody and Logan the valets were very welcoming and accommodating. Front desk staff were equally helpful. Charming old hotel. Easy to navigate to from highway. Comfortable beds and clean rooms. All necessary amenities available. Brief stay, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to see you again very soon! Until then ... !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    313
    160
    96
    61
See reviews for
244
276
27
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hotel is kept extremely clean and our room was spotless. Everyone we dealt with was extremely friendly and helpful. It is on the free bus route and the interior is grand. I was unsure about this hotel as multiple reviews about noise and room condition. I booked one night but we ended up staying 3 nights. I requested a quiet room and we were placed in the newer section. No view and did hear some of the valet parking issues but overall quiet room.
Negatives: Our A/C would not run on the constant fan cycle to cover the valet parking noises and we requested to get it fixed -but it was not fixed. We still opted to stay because of the great rate we got and sleep with just the fan running to cover the valet parking noise. (no a/c so got hot)
The valet guys talk loudly sometimes and toot the car horn I assume when coming around the blind corner. This echos up the concrete wall and is irritating. We had no street noises but the first night I was awakened several times. In comparison to other downtown cities though it was a very quiet room.
Pool was closed for repairs.
i would avoid the second floor in the newer building as you will be able to hear the conversations and horn noise much clearer from the valet parking.

Room Tip: We don't use valet parking for multiple reasons so opted to use the ground parking lot across th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. We will be looking into our noisy valets! We are also looking into the air-conditioner system. We sincerely hope that you will return to see us very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Our stay at the Sheraton Read was excellent!! The young men in the valet parking garage were beyond helpful. They were always willing to run to our car to retrieve forgotten items and returned as quickly as possible with our car. John Michael R. was very helpful and so congenial while helping us with our bags. The rest of our stay was comfortable and relaxing. It was so nice to be so close to all the shops and restaurants downtown. I look forward to staying there again!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We will pass along your sentiments to the fellows in Valet Parking and let them know what a great job they are doing! We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

This is a grand old lady of Chattanooga's past restored to almost excellence. Rooms are clean and spacious, public areas are spotless and the staff is polite, knowledgeable and helpful. There are a couple of easy and inexpensive add ons that could make the short step up to excellence:.1 if valet parking should be covered for the price and 2. Make (at least) lobby coffee available at 6, not 7, AM. Still a very good experience.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Just so you know, we have a Starbucks right off of the Lobby area for your convenience. Thank you for letting us know how we are doing and we use all feedback to make improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Old historic hotel that needs to be updated. Worn carpet, a/c noisy, wore earplugs. Valet parking scary. Parked there the first night, then moved car across the street, which was cheaper. Staff was nice and helpful when we needed something. They forgot to clean room the last day, but came up ASAP when called. Location great for fun filled city of Chattanooga.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I have to say, we were pleasantly surprised with this historic, beautiful hotel. We only stayed one night, and were driving through Chattanooga, so we were basically looking for a low rate in a nicer hotel. If it wasn't perfect, we weren't going to really care. Upon arrival you can't help but notice the gorgeous lobby with elaborate chandeliers. It was a really comfortable place to hang out. We had booked a room "away from the elevator," and when we checked in and went to our room, it was indeed far from the elevator (as far as it could get down the hall and the last room--score!). It was an adjoining room, so we heard just a bit of noise from the room next door, but only for a minute or two and then not again. The a/c quality was great. We were able to crank it up and it kept the room cold, which we like. The bathroom was small and basic, and there was a little counter with a mirror right outside of the bathroom, and a full length mirror, so getting ready with two people was convenient. The beds were firm but had pillow top mattresses, and we both found them very comfortable, and slept well. There was a small coffee pot/coffee supplied, but we didn't use them because there was a Starbucks IN THE HOTEL LOBBY. I was so happy when I discovered this. We didn't use it, but they have a really nice workout room with what look like updated machines (treadmills, ellipticals, etc.).

The only negatives: If you want to park, you either have to park on the street all night, or valet it for $15.00. I wasn't too thrilled that they didn't let us know that ahead of time. Also, the hotel location is not exactly in the best place. We walked down to a restaurant, and it was a bit of a hike to the more lively area with good restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: If you like it quiet, ask for a room far from the elevator (we got one at the end, and it had a bonu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and let us know how we are doing! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. As a side note, there is free shuttle service compliments of the city of Chattanooga up and down the main streets, Market and Broad. They travel all the way down to the riverside where you will find the Tennessee Aquarium and many other sites, sounds and restaurants! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, GA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed overnight to attend a wedding held in the hotel and we thought it was fabulous! The rooms were large and very clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and always ready to help if needed. Very nice valet service. You could tell they valets loved their jobs. Wedding and reception facilities were gorgeous! Food was delicious. We had a great time!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay! We think that our hotel is the perfect place to host wedding receptions. The Silver Ballroom has a lavish, historic look that has seen many happy brides and grooms over the years. We hope to see you return very soon whether for business or for pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Read House Historic Inn And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Read House Historic Inn And Suites

Address: 827 Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402 (Formerly Sheraton Read House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Read House Historic Inn And Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Chattanooga, the The Read House Historic Inn and Suites is ideally situated for business, weekend getaways, or a vacation in one of Tennessee's most historic cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Read House Historic Inn And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Read Hotel
Sheraton Chattanooga
Chattanooga Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.