We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get ready for a horrible hotel room!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Read House Historic Inn And Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Read House Historic Inn And Suites to your Saves list
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   827 Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402 (Formerly Sheraton Read House)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #34 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Get ready for a horrible hotel room!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I suppose the people working at the front desk is the only plus about this place!
All of the poor reviews are totally accurate. If you like to sleep by an elevator, don't want a draining shower, or really like to watch TV on an wall that isn't infront of you, this is the perfect place for you to waste $120 bucks! Get ready to only be comp'ed a crappy breakfast buffet! You might even score and get parking for free (if the Manager isn't already being comfronted by another guest with the same complaints). I hope this helps anyone like us that got fooled by the Lobby.

Room Tip: If you like crappy hotels, this place is for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
When I read your review I felt that it was necessary to respond to you myself. I am the General Manager of the Hotel and this is my cell number, 423-313-3873. Please call me so that we may discuss the problems you had with your stay. We are never happy when even one of our guests has a problem with their stay, whether it be with their accommodations or with a food and beverage issue. We work very quickly to resolve these issues so that no one else experiences the problems that you had with your stay. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    312
    160
    96
    61
See reviews for
244
276
27
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is not up to usual Sheraton standards (by far). Thanks to my Starwood status, we were upgraded to the Presidential Suite, which we thought was a very nice attention. However, the A/C was as loud as a 1980s General Motors Diesel engine, the door did not close properly and the room felt like my grandparents's house in the 60s.
This being said, the staff was delightful, especially Manager on duty, trying to make every possible effort to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Please convince Sheraton that it is worth upgrading this historic landmark!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for recognizing our Sheraton Read House as the local historic treasure that it is. We also thank you for your comments and suggestions and take them to heart to continuously improve our Hotel. And our Staff--we do take pride in the people who work for us! They are eager, diligent and care that our guests have a great stay with us. We do hope that you will return to our Hotel so that we may serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for Valentine's Day weekend and the location is very good. It's close to downtown, you can easily walk to anything but our room was just ok. It was fairly outdated, the chair in the room had a lot of stains and we moved a curtain and found a lot of old goldfish crackers where they haven't vacuumed in a long time. Also one of our windows didn't have a darkening curtain so it was very bright in the morning. The lobby, pool, workout area was all very nice though.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We thank you for your kind comments about our historic Hotel here at the Sheraton Read House. We thank you for bringing your comments to our attention so that they may be addressed and corrected. We do use our guests' comments to continuously improve the service areas of our Hotel. We do hope you will return to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Although this hotel has a grand history, striking presence, and urban legends of hauntings, I was decidedly underwhelmed with the quality of the accommodations. Granted, this is an old hotel built in 1926 and is going to show its age, but it's decidedly disappointing when you can (try to) sleep to the soothing 24-hour lullaby of the elevator cables singing to you through the wall. It wasn't loud but was clearly audible and sounded like a flock of pigeons trapped in the ceiling. Let's have some soundproofing, shall we?

Also, our tub was clogged, the shower water took several minutes to get hot one night and only managed a lukewarm temperature the next. The TV is awkwardly placed on a desk next to the bed instead of being mounted on the opposite wall. The bed, however, was very comfortable and one of the best I've ever used in a hotel. This place is quaint and looks like movies were filmed here, but those (like me) used to more modern construction and amenities should stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room away from the elevator!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We are very proud of our treasure of a Hotel, but we do have some age problems. We are continuously working to update our Hotel and thank you for bringing your problems during your stay to our attention. We would hope that you might try us again in the future as we are working very hard to please every guest who comes through our doors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

If you are into the history and unparalleled detail put into the construction of this beautiful building well over a century ago, you will be amazed. From the hand carved maple and crystal chandeliers in the lobby, to the most elegant silver ballroom on the mezzanine floor, you will feel you are in an extraordinarily special place. The rooms are spacious, including the bathrooms. From previous stays, however this varies from room to room. Probably due to the age of the previous architecture plans. I will challenge anyone to find a more comfortable bed anywhere, especially the pillows. Staff is incredibly accommodating as well. Many things you will want or need during your downtown stay is within walking distance if not on property. My husband and I always choose this property first when his business takes him to Chattanooga. One last thing---with Starbucks and Porter's Steak House, your taste buds are in for a treat.

Room Tip: The Read House has two buildings. One is red brick, and the adjoining is white stone. From past expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We here at the Sheraton Read House would like to thank you for your wonderful review of our beautiful Hotel. We could not have said it better ourselves! We hope that you will return to our property for many years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Enjoyed a delicious meal at Porters Steak House in Valentine's Day, relaxed in the most comfortable bed at The Sheraton & then conveniently grabbed our Starbucks the next morning to venture out into downtown. Will return & stay here again. The staff is friendly, courteous & generous with information.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our Sheraton Read House is a local treasure that has been accommodating guests for many years and many more years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

While stranded because of the weather in Atlanta, I ended up at the Sheraton. They had a great on-site restaurant, bar and Starbucks. They also had a full gym. The service was wonderful and although the a/c, heat unit sounded like it was going to take off, was comfortable. I would stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We are so glad to hear that your "stranded in Chattanooga" experience turned into something you were happy about! Our Sheraton Read House is a local treasure and we take great pride in her. We are so glad that you enjoyed Porter's Restaurant and Starbucks right here in our lobby. We appreciate that you brought our noisy heating unit to our attention and we are taking measures to correct that problem. We hope to see you again soon on a planned visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Read House Historic Inn And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Read House Historic Inn And Suites

Address: 827 Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402 (Formerly Sheraton Read House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Read House Historic Inn And Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Chattanooga, the The Read House Historic Inn and Suites is ideally situated for business, weekend getaways, or a vacation in one of Tennessee's most historic cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Read House Historic Inn And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Read Hotel
Sheraton Chattanooga
Chattanooga Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.