We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Place To Stay In Chattanooga” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Read House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Read House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Read House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   827 Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #30 of 95 hotels in Chattanooga
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Only Place To Stay In Chattanooga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Had a great weekend in the Noog staying with the Sheraton Read House Hotel. The location is awesome, the building is magnificent, but the big deal here is the incredible service from the staff. The guys working the valet were especially great. The hotel is located close to all kinds of hot spots, including the City Cafe which is a 24 hour diner. Thanks for the great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room...rooms are okay, the bathroom was really beat, but the corner room is the way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Sheraton Read House Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
My sincere thanks to you both for your feedback and for staying with us here at the historic Sheraton Read House Hotel in downtown Chattanooga, TN - I am happy to read that you enjoyed your visit and our facilities here. Most of all I appreciate your kind comments about our staff members; we really do strive to provide the highest level of personalized service possible and it is always heartening to learn when we are succeeding. I agree with you about our location - did you have the chance to utilize the city's Electric Shuttle service? We have our very own "Read House" stop on the route that takes you right down to the Riverfront areas and back. I hope you will choose to visit us again and thanks once more for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    262
    125
    79
    49
See reviews for
201
221
22
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the Sheraton Read House Hotel for 2 nights. This was a Priceline bidding win so we didn't have a choice in where to stay in town, but we totally got a winner! I am an SPG member, so we got placed on the SPG floor in the older wing of the hotel. I say "older wing" but the rooms were updated and modern, it was just in the older part of the hotel. Free bottled water/Starbucks Coffee/Tazo Teas were in the room. The room was spacious and quiet. The AC worked wonderfully. The hallways and public areas were very clean and marvelously maintained. Shower pressure was adequate, but vanity space was limited. No refrigerator in the room, but an ice machine near by. There is a restaurant downstairs with a swanky bar where we had a few drinks. Adjacent to that is a Starbucks, which was nice for a morning latte.

We heard parking was $15 for valet, but never had to valet our car because there were ample meter spaces surrounding the hotel that were free on the weekends. If I was staying during the week or a busy time in Chattanooga I would definitely use the valet (our friends used it and said the service was great), but if you are there on a slow weekend, use the meter spaces if you want to save some $.

The hotel is close to most everything. Walkable to the River Walk, pedestrian bridge, and Aquarium. Lots of great restaurants in that area with many price points as well. Something for everyone. We are beer snobs so the Honest Pint was a welcome late night spot :-)

The staff was polite, knowledgeable, and accommodating. I will definitely stay in this hotel again on future trips to/through Chattanooga. Oh, and they say this place is haunted, but I definitely did not get visited by any ghosts on our trip, despite my spooky exploration to the third floor, woooo :-) If you stay, take a peak at the Silver Ballroom on the second floor. It is gorgeous!! Thanks for the wonderful time, Read House!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Sheraton Read House Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
I am so very grateful to you for taking the time to write such kind and detailed comments about your recent with us here at the historic Sheraton Read House Hotel in downtown Chattanooga, TN. While I recognize that you came to us via Priceline I am certainly glad you did, particularly since you are an SPG Member - what a great coincidence! It is very pleasing to learn that you enjoyed your overall visit and felt our staff took such good care of you. I note your comment about Valet vs. street parking; just remember that you park on the street at your own risk vs. in our covered garage which is staffed 24/7; our customers do not have to deal with any inclement weather. I could not agree with you more about our Silver Ballroom which dates back to 1926 - definitely one of our treasures of which we are most proud, along with our Lobby. As to our being "haunted", I can tell you that it is nonsense and there is nothing to this; just a rumor that got started somewhere in the past and took on a life of its own (no pun intended!) Thanks again for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I was able to score a great deal for the Sheraton Read House on one of the travel sites. The hotel is well located, easily within walking distance to the riverfront and aquarium. The surrounding area seemed safe enough, though there were plenty of vacant store fronts for a couple blocks until we were closer to the Aquarium. The hotel offers valet parking only - but reasonably priced with unlimited in/out, so it was perfectly acceptable. Check-in staff was friendly. We had a 6th floor room. It was spacious for an older hotel, but with slightly odd furniture placement, but that's no big deal. The bathroom was small with only a pedestal sink, but clean and well appointed. The bed was super comfortable - The Starwood Brand has some exceptionally nice mattresses. Must get one of them at home!

My only complaint was that I tried to call housekeeping for extra towels and to have them put linens on the sofa bed, but the phone rang and rang! After a few minutes, I tried the hotel's main number and the poor operator said she'd been on break and apologized. She was very efficient and helpful. Just seemed nobody had the memo that they needed to answer the phones while she was away from her desk. Not a big deal.

I'd definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: The windows aren't exactly noise-proof. If you are a light sleeper and traffic noise bothers you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Sheraton Read House Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent visit with us here at the historic Sheraton Read House in downtown Chattanooga, TN; I am so very happy to know you enjoyed your stay and felt we met your overall expectations. I totally agree with you about the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed - if you are really serious about purchasing one please contact us here so we can give you the information, or you can visit the Sheraton.com site. I apologize about our failure to answer the phone as you described; while I appreciate your understanding we need to be on top of these things. I realize you came to us via a third-party site but I do thank you for your business and your kind comments; I do hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you back to Chattanooga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

What is NOT to love about the Sheraton Read House? We loved everything! We checked in quite late on our first night, but no problem...Roy the valet was there ready and waiting to assist us. This place is quite historical and more that worth the time to visit and stay. The location in downtown Chattanooga is perfect for catching the city's trolley-car system, which makes everything easy to get around to. Good front desk service, more than adequate daily housekeeping/room service, very nice fitness room and pool area and lastly but not least the outstanding PORTER'S restaurant anchored in the corner of the hotel lobby, OUTSTANDING! We had a very special breakfast in the private Chef's room (ask management about this). Delectable egg-white omelette, french toast w/blueberry compote or choose from the breakfast buffet. The locals also agree the best steak in town!
There is also a Starbucks (nice and big) in the lobby area across from PORTER'S which stays hopping morning, noon and night.
This was a lovely find for a group of girlfiends on and excursion weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Sheraton Read House Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
I cannot thank you enough for taking the time to wrtite such wonderful comments about your recent visit here at the historic Sheraton Read House in downtown Chattanooga, TN - I am so very pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your visit and that you all felt we took such good care of you. In addition it is great to learn that you took the opportunity to experience just about all that we have to offer here, i.e. our Pool, Fitness Center, Starbucks etc. Of course, your feedback about our Porter's Steakhouse is music to my ears - I am thrilled you all enjoyed it! Rest assured that I will share your feedback with the entire staff there. Thank you so much for staying with us; I know you have many lodging choices here in Chattanooga and I am honored that you all selected us. Please visit us again should your travels bring you back our way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We were given two rooms on the SPG floor; 6th floor.

Upon disembarking the elevator there is an old musty smell. We went to the vending area and the area where there would have been soda/ snack vending had obvious signs of water damage... vending had been removed. Ice machine was still present.

One room had a large hole in the carpet where it meets the entry tile. The window seal was broken for so long that you could barely see out of the window. there was obvious signs of continuing water damage above the window. The bath tub finish was worn away. It looked as though refinish repair was attempted which had also worn away. Grout was dirty and broken. Shower flow was good. Beds squeak upon slightest movement. Robe in closet had stain on left sleeve.

Other room; repaired water damage above window which is of such poor quality that your attention is immediately drawn to it. Windows had greasy handprints. A/C set at 61F but still would not stay on to cool room. No robe in closet.

The bath tub finish was worn away. It looked as though refinish repair was attempted which had also worn away. Grout was dirty and broken. Shower flow was good. Beds squeak upon slightest movement.

Room service; soup, baked potato and soda were highlights. The rest of the food was awful. Even the turkey sandwich was awful! Service was quick and friendly.

Valet service was quick and friendly.

Check in and out was very easy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Sheraton Read House Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
I really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments about your recent visit with us here but I am truly heartsick about your experience. It is true that we are an older facility and we did experience a leak in the 6th Floor Vending area that you reference; however, there are simply no excuses for the condition issues in the room you describe and I have actually taken it out-of-order until the proper repairs can be completed. I am so very, very, sorry that we failed to meet your expectations; this was not typical of what we have to offer and I hope you will accept my aplogies. Please consider giving us another chance as I am confident we can regain your trust. Thank you for the kind words about our Valet Parking and Front desk staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed here for one night last week enroute from Atlanta to Nashville. Location is pretty central.

Fantastic service from the front desk. I arrived late (11pm) and the front desker realised this and expedited my check-in.

Rooms are large but overall a little tired. Could do with a little freshening up. But, this is a minor niggle as this hotel is suitable for a short business stay.

Room Tip: No real guidance. My room was on the major road side but I couldn't hear any traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Sheraton Read House Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thanks so much for staying with here at the historic Sheraton Read House in downtown Chattanooga, TN, during your recent travels from Atlanta to Nashville - we appreciate your business. Thank you, especially, for your kind comments about our Front Desk staff. I note your feedback about our product and do agree with you - renovation plans are currently in process. I hope you will think of staying with us again should you drive through Chattanooga again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Beautiful old hotel in the heart of everything in Chattanooga. Very well maintained with wonderful lobby. The fine woodwork was everywhere but painfully so were loud,unpleasant and unruly guests checking in at the same time. The were all part of something big. Shouting at each other across the lobby with small children running around screaming and yelling with no supervision. I thought about going somewhere else for a while and checking back, We got to our room and all was forgotten. Left for dinner later and no sight of the unrulies. This couldn't be blamed on the hotel but if I hadn't had reservations, I might have walked. I hate to be critical of anyone or anyplace but I'm not sure I'll make reservations here again.

Room Tip: If the lobby is full, run.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Sheraton Read House Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
I am grateful to you for deciding to stay with us here at the historic Sheraton Read House Hotel in downtown Chattanooga, TN; thanks for your comments about our Lobby - it dates back to 1926. As to the other customers you mentioned, I really do not know what to tell you about that as I received no reports of any concern along the lines you reference - I am sure this was just coincidence. Please do not allow that to deter you from staying with us again as we would love to have you return next time your travels bring you back this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Read House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Read House Hotel

Address: 827 Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#19 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#22 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Read House Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Chattanooga, the The Sheraton Read House Hotel Chattanooga is ideally situated for business, weekend getaways, or a vacation in one of Tennessee's most historic cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Read House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Read Hotel
Sheraton Chattanooga
Chattanooga Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Read House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.