We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fairly standard hotel; room was nicer than the common areas” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chattanooga Marriott Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Chattanooga Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Carter Plaza, Chattanooga, TN 37402 (Formerly Chattanooga Marriott at the Convention Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #19 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
Carrboro, NC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“fairly standard hotel; room was nicer than the common areas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

I spent one night at this Marriott for a conference; I thought it was a good deal for the money. The room itself was acceptable and relatively recently updated. The toiletries were from Bath & Body works and the linens were fine. The room did have 1 weird feature: it had only half a window, up high (I was on the 3rd floor). So I couldn't see out of it, which was slightly claustrophobic. Mostly, my complaints were with the common areas of the hotel; the restaurant was very bad and my salad was inedible. The common rest rooms were not clean. There was free wireless internet throughout the hotel. The parking was convenient and cheap for hotel parking. There was no decent coffee in the hotel; we went to the starbucks in the sheraton down the street. I don't know what the rooms in the sheraton are like, but it did have a beautiful lobby and next time I think I would try that hotel (although I'm not sure when I'll have a need to go to Chattanooga again, though).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMgmt, Front Office Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, March 16, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Chattanooga Marriott Hotel at the Convention Center. We value all forms of guest feedback as an opportunity to continually improve our services and facilities for our guests.

I am concerned to learn that your experience fell short of your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies that you were left to feel claustrophobic and disappointed with our quality of food/coffee and overall cleanliness of our public restrooms. I can appreciate what an inconvenience this was for you as you wanted a relaxing stay for your conference.

I would like to assure you that we pay careful attention to feedback such as you have provided, taking immediate steps to correct any deficiencies.

I would therefore hope that your experience on this visit would not dissuade you from staying with us again if your plans bring you to Chattanooga, as we hope to see you visit our property again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dan Deaver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    168
    79
    40
    21
See reviews for
145
112
18
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tn.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

The front desk personnel were courteous, but when we booked our room, I had asked for a quiet room on a low floor, and instead we were given a room on the 14th floor.
The carpet in our room was heavily stained, sticky underfoot, and the room had visible cobwebs near the windows and night stands. The paper coverings over the paper drinking cups were covered in dust and dirt as though they hadn't been changed out in weeks. The grout around the tile in the bathroom was black in some areas.This entire property really needs a good cleaning from the walls down to the floors! In no way does this hotel look as if it were renovated two years ago. Though the hotel had no control over this- to make matters worse, there was a "drug deal" going on in the next room.The walls are very thin, and you can hear the conversation from the adjoining room . We were unable to go to sleep due to the commotion next door, until after 3 am. Needless to say, we will never stay in this hotel again, and could not recommend it to you in good conscience.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMgmt, Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, February 18, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel property. We strongly rely on guest feedback, both positive and negative, as we are constantly trying to gauge how we are performing.
From all of us at the Chattanooga Marriott, we sincerely apologize for not measuring up to what we promised. I have forwarded your comments go our Housekeeping Department for follow up.
Moving forward, we encourage you to give our hotel another chance to prove that we are the destination hotel in the city of Chattanooga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

We stayed at this hotel on New Years Eve(more than 2 weeks ago) & we are still miserable from the bed bug bites. Not only that, the toilet was a joke. It would clog with just a few small pieces of toilet paper. The staff was not friendly at all, and had an "uppity" attitude about them. Also, I feel it was way overpriced for what you get. Downtown Chattanooga did not feel like the safest place to leave your car(let's just leave it at that).

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMgmt, Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, February 18, 2010
All of us at the Chattanooga Marriott take the issue of alleged bed bugs very serious. Rest assured our entire guest rooms are inspected quarterly by the very best professionals. Please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience to discuss this in further detail, 423-308-1086.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

Although this hotel has undergone a recent "renovation" it is all cosmetic. Same old slow flushing toilets, stained showers and old, outdated HVAC system. There are flat screen tv's in the rooms but hooked up to a non-digital, non-HDTV cable it looks like crap. The swing lock on our door was broken and did not work. The hot and cold water was also hooked up bass-ackwards. Hot is on the right, cold on the left.

The beds are EXTREMELY comfortable and the water pressure in the shower will knock you down (very nice). The overall stay was relatively comfortable but it seemed nothing worked the way it was supposed to. We did have a problem with the air conditioner not working but they sent someone right up who fixed it.

Not a bad place but too many stars in my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMgmt, Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, February 18, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel property. We strongly rely on guest feedback, both positive and negative, as we are constantly trying to gauge how we are performing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

I can't say there was a lot WRONG with this hotel, there just wasn't anything that great about it! We were there for a Thursday-Sunday stay. We had stayed at the Courtyard downtown a couple months prior to our trip and we were much happier at that location.

The Marriott runs close to the same rates (if not more) and there isn't really anything better about it. The location is a bit more removed from the main tourist activities (aquarium, chilren's museum, etc.). It is walkable but if you are traveling with children, it is probably best to drive. The hotel is walking distance from City Cafe and the Porter Steakhouse.

The rooms were fine - average. Wireless access was easy to use and quick.

The location of our room left a lot to be desired. We were right across from the vending machines (I realize this can happen anywhere) but that weekend the hotel had lots of "crew athletes" (i.e. teenagers) staying there. I don't think the hotel was anywhere close to full, so it would've been nice if they put the large groups of teenagers on different floors from other guests. The kids were very loud.

The bathroom was on the small side and oddly shaped. The shape may have just been specific to our room though as we were the first room on the hall.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMgmt, Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, February 18, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel property. Without your feedback, we might not have been aware of the challenges during your stay.
Our hotel property is right directly on the Free Electric Shuttle route to all of downtown Chattanooga’s main attractions.
We apologize that your guest room was right next to our vending machines; I can understand that this isn’t the most ideal location. Next time please feel free to contact any of our team members and we will do whatever it takes to ensure your stay with us is a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, AL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

I was a little nervous about this hotel since I got an unbelievably low rate through an online booking service. The minute we walked through the front door, I knew we were going to get way more than we paid for. The lobby strikes a great first impression. The entire hotel was squeaky clean and well maintained. Our beds were comfortable and the room quiet. We had GREAT views of Lookout Mtn from our window. The indoor pool was small but clean and well-kept, and also has a hot tub. A self-parking fee of $10 per day is added to your hotel bill (more for valet), but it is secure. I didn't think this unreasonable as parking is scarce downtown. FYI... we didn't use it but Marriott does offer a free shuttle around downtown, plus the city has free downtown transportation. If you chose to explore on foot, this hotel is only about a 15 minute walk to the riverfront downtown attractions. I can't think of a bad thing to say regarding this Marriott and our stay. Oh, except maybe that it is time for new pipes. Each time we turned on the tub faucet, there was a 2 second stream of rusty water. A little weird but not any inconvenience.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMgmt, Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, February 18, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us! We take great pride in our hotel in providing absolute superior service and comfort.
Also, thank you for sharing your comments about the faucet water. We would be lost with the valuable feedback from our guests.

Once again, thank you for the kind comments and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

Stayed at the Marriott Convention Center this past weekend. The location is good for downtown Chattanooga. It's closer to the Chattanooga Choo Choo than to the Aquarium but it's on the free shuttle route.

I'm a Gold Card member for Marriott but it doesn't really do much good if you stay on the weekend. We had a room with 2 double beds room 1511 - Club level. There are 2 floors that have key card access to the Club Lounge. The only problem is the Club is not open at all on Sat. and reopens Sun. evening. So there doesn't seem to be a benefit. When the Club Lounge is open you have access to food and drinks throughout the day. However on the weekend they don't comp you breakfast or anything. Wireless is free and there is a flat screen TV. Rooms are a nice size and bathroom is nice with good water pressure. However I'd remember to ask for a room away from the elevator. Room 1511 is right by the vending area which is next to the elevators. Can be noisy. When we asked to switch rooms but the hotel was booked.

The At your service will answer your questions but they aren't overly friendly. We did get room service and the woman who delivered our food was very nice and friendly. So was the concierge and the valet even though we didn't valet. He moved our car when we were checking in.

You park in the deck that is connected for the Convention Center. It's $20 a night to self-park. That's kind of expensive but most places downtown charge to park.

Overall I would stay here again but would be more specific on my room.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chattanooga Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Marriott Downtown

Address: 2 Carter Plaza, Chattanooga, TN 37402 (Formerly Chattanooga Marriott at the Convention Center)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#14 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#16 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chattanooga Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Downtown Chattanooga, the Chattanooga Marriott Downtown is within walking distance to the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX 3-D Theatre, Creative Discovery Museum, and nearby the Chattanooga Regional History Museum University of Tennessee at Chattanooga and AT&T Field. The Chattanooga Marriott has an indoor pool and seasonal outdoor pool. Complimentary wireless and wired high-speed Internet access is available in public areas. Business amenities at this 3-star property include a 24-hour business center, flexible meeting rooms, and audio-visual equipment. Dining options at this business-friendly hotel include a restaurant, a coffee shop/cafe, and a bar/lounge. The staff provides concierge services, wedding services, and event catering. Additional amenities include a seasonal outdoor pool, 24 hour fitness facility, and gift shops/newsstands. Guests have access to a roundtrip airport shuttle and onsite covered parking is available.All rooms have beautiful city or mountain views. The 343 air-conditioned guestrooms at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown include coffee/tea makers and hair dryers, wireless high-speed Internet access (surcharge applies),and 32-inch LCD televisions equipped with premium satellite channels. All accommodations provide ergonomic chairs and phones with voice mail. Bathrooms offer shower/tub combinations and complimentary toiletries. Additional amenities include an iron and ironing board and clock radios. In addition, amenities available on request include refrigerators, a turndown service, and hypo-allergenic bedding and daily housekeeping service. Plan your next stay in Chattanooga at the Marriott Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chattanooga Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Marriott At The Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Marriott At Hotel
Marriott Chattanooga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.