We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under renovation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chattanooga Marriott Downtown

Save Saved
You added Chattanooga Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Carter Plaza, Chattanooga, TN 37402 (Formerly Chattanooga Marriott at the Convention Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #17 of 95 hotels in Chattanooga
PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Under renovation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The lobby of the hotel was being renovated. The noise level was unbelievable; I could hardly hear the folks at the registration desk. There was no seating area in the lobby; some couches and chairs had been moved to the second floor outside the bar.

Room Tip: We've never been disappointed in any of the rooms we've stayed in the last several years.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
HI ikhart50

Thank you for your comments. I am very sorry for the disturbance of the lobby renovations that you encountered. During our renovation this month, we have tried to minimize/limit the noise impact around our guests'/groups' schedules. I am sorry that your stay with us was affected, but we do appreciate your comments, your 4-star rating, and your previous stays with us as well.

Thank you!
Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    144
    70
    36
    18
See reviews for
125
99
18
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

For $240.00 a night in a double bed room including parking fees it was not worth the money. I expected some upgraded interiors (like they advertised), seemed like a remodel from 2005. Hallways, elevators and bathrooms are not up to par. Parking in the paid garage was tight and limited. I would have stayed at a cheaper place had I known it wasn't a nicer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hi Jen Z

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay and I am following up on your comments. We appreciate your business and your feedback and hope that you'll give us another opportunity, if you return to the Chattanooga area in the future.

Thanks
Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Staff is extremely helpful. Smiling faces and friendly atmosphere make this a great hotel! Everyone is very knowledgeable--the luggage porter told us how to access WiFi. Excellent WiFi everywhere. The housekeeper sent up a refrigerator and then called to make sure that I received it. (I needed a refrigerator to store the pie that I brought back to the room from an awesome restaurant/bakery which is located a very short walk from the hotel)

Room Tip: The City Grill (a very short walk from the hotel) has awesome desserts--pies, cakes, cheese cakes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hi Peggy R

Thank you so much for the great comments about our staff! Those are always great comments to read/hear and we appreciate it very much - I will share them with our team. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again on a future visit.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for one Saturday night on a recent weekend trip to Chattanooga. There were 3 of us (1 couple and a friend), and we were lucky enough to get 2 rooms located at the higher floors which are reached by glass elevators outside the hotel - nice! One room overlooked downtown and the other had a nice view of lookout mountain. Parking is convenient in their garage, and if you self park it is quite affordable (I think we paid $10 for 24 hours). The allowed us to check in 3 hours early. The rooms were clean and equipped with the usual amenities (TV, coffee machine etc.). Wifi is free. The hotel is in walking distance from the Choo Choo; the walk to the aquarium and waterfront is a bit longer but easily doable. The also have a shuttle which serves both directions on a regular basis. We did not check out the pool (they have both indoor and outdoor), gym or restaurant, but we had a drink at the bar later at night which was quite nice. Would stay here again any time!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
silke72

It sounds like you had a great visit to Chattanooga! Thank you for taking the time to share your hotel experience - we appreciate it very much. Please keep us in mind for any future visits to Chattanooga, as well.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great hotel conveniently located to Chattanooga Convention Center. Covered pedestrian bridge from hotel to convention center that helped on first day (rain). Close to some very neat downtown restaurants. Will stay at this Marriott property again whether it be business or personnel. I ate lunch two days at the hotel restaurant and it was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hello Charles!

Thank you for your comments. Sorry about the rain during your visit! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to Chattanooga as well.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

On our first time visiting in Chattanooga, Tennessee, we were very pleased by the excellent value and service of the downtown Marriott. The room was spacious, everything new and spotless, and the breakfast buffet ($14) was excellent. Location was a short couple on blocks from nice shopping.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
dukewoodhull

Thank you for your review. Thanks for staying with us during your first visit to Chattanooga, and I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We'll hopefully see you again soon.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel was clean and staff was friendly. But for the price I would expect queen beds and some kind of free breakfast. Also, the room was very small an the beds were uncomfortable. The hotel is really not that close to downtown so I was surprised there was a charge for parking ;( But the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hi Joanna J

I am so sorry of your impression of your stay with us. The room types that we offer and the parking options/costs are all discosed on the different booking channels and website, so I apologize if those were a surprise. If they weren't, please send me an email at tunderwood@shanercorp.com, so I can follow up. Thank you for your comments on the hotel cleanliness and the staff friendliness - that's great to hear. Thanks again for your business and for your feedback - we appreciate both.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chattanooga Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Marriott Downtown

Address: 2 Carter Plaza, Chattanooga, TN 37402 (Formerly Chattanooga Marriott at the Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#15 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#18 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chattanooga Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Downtown Chattanooga, the Chattanooga Marriott Downtown is within walking distance to the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX 3-D Theatre, Creative Discovery Museum, and nearby the Chattanooga Regional History Museum University of Tennessee at Chattanooga and AT&T Field. The Chattanooga Marriott has an indoor pool and seasonal outdoor pool. Complimentary wireless and wired high-speed Internet access is available in public areas. Business amenities at this 3-star property include a 24-hour business center, flexible meeting rooms, and audio-visual equipment. Dining options at this business-friendly hotel include a restaurant, a coffee shop/cafe, and a bar/lounge. The staff provides concierge services, wedding services, and event catering. Additional amenities include a seasonal outdoor pool, 24 hour fitness facility, and gift shops/newsstands. Guests have access to a roundtrip airport shuttle and onsite covered parking is available.All rooms have beautiful city or mountain views. The 343 air-conditioned guestrooms at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown include coffee/tea makers and hair dryers, wireless high-speed Internet access (surcharge applies),and 32-inch LCD televisions equipped with premium satellite channels. All accommodations provide ergonomic chairs and phones with voice mail. Bathrooms offer shower/tub combinations and complimentary toiletries. Additional amenities include an iron and ironing board and clock radios. In addition, amenities available on request include refrigerators, a turndown service, and hypo-allergenic bedding and daily housekeeping service. Plan your next stay in Chattanooga at the Marriott Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Chattanooga Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Marriott At The Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Marriott At Hotel
Marriott Chattanooga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.