We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway with friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chattanooga Marriott Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Chattanooga Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Carter Plaza, Chattanooga, TN 37402 (Formerly Chattanooga Marriott at the Convention Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #19 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
Brunswick, Georgia
1 review
“Nice getaway with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

When driving up to the hotel I was greeted by a helpful and friendly staff. Checking in was fast and the lady behind the counter was accommodating in making sure everyone in our party had rooms close to one another. The weekend was a blast spent with awesome friends, great restraints and a very nice place to relax and recharge after a long day.

In traveling form time to time with work in the past 5 years and staying at different hotels this was one of the most friendly, clean and helpful Marriott I have had the pleasure of staying at.

PS the cookies in the lobby in the afternoons are AWESOME too!!!

Room Tip: Between all of us we had 6 rooms total and they all looked great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
nicole K

Thank you - I'm glad that you had such a great getaway weekend and that we could be a part of it. Thank you for sharing your feedback with future travelers as well.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    167
    79
    40
    21
See reviews for
145
111
18
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a great hotel that had some of the friendliest staff I have ever experienced. I would say if you are going to Chattanooga you have to stay here!!! Great central location to all downtown areas. Clean and comfortable rooms that had all of the items you would expect from a Marriott. Can't say enough about what a fantastic time that we had!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Joe B

Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, hotel cleanliness, and location! We appreciate it and we hope to see you again soon.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were their for a friends birthday in town. We had a great room, close to downtown. Employees were always nice. Resturant and bar had great food at good prices and amazing staff. Some places you can just tell that managment cares.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Jason B

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel and your experience. We appreciate you taking the time to share.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We arrived early, no problem. We asked upon arrival for double beds and adjoining rooms, got it. We needed a microwave and it was in our room a short time later. The room was up to date and clean. We loved the electric buses for travel to our destinations. The hot tub in the pool area was perfect. Overall a great experience!!!!!!!!! We have stayed several times and will continue to stay at the Chattanooga Marriott Downtown!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Jason B

Thank you for your recent and previous stays with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with other travelers as well. We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you
Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

From the moment we pulled up to Valet our car and check-in, things could not have gone more smoothly. It was apparent that this hotel had staffed up this past weekend for the Cheerleading Competition - very smart. The check-in with the Front Desk staff was very quick and the Bellmen were helpful, as well. The only hiccup was that elevator service took some time throughout the weekend, but that was to be expected with the number of people at this hotel. Dinner on Friday night at the hotel's main restaurant was just average, nothing too special. The hotel did have a food concession set up as you exited the hotel and entered the Convention Center, which was great to just grab a coffee on your way into the venue, or a quick snack item. Rooms were clean and relatively quiet, if some of the other cheerleaders had stopped practicing in the hallway at 11pm ( had to warn them several times). All in all I would recommend this hotel even if coming on a non-cheer weekend. Close to downtown activities and easy to access the highway. Nice job!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Micheled7

Thank you for your review. It was indeed a very busy weekend and I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks again for your business and we'll look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon. I'll be sure to share you comments with our staff and I apologize for the noise issues that you encountered.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here this past weekend when there was a huge cheer competition in town. I ended up getting a room a couple of days before. I am so glad we stayed here because it was very convenient to be next to the convention center. We asked for a room with two double beds but were not guaranteed since they were sold out. They accommodated our need for two beds when we got there. They also gave us a great recommendation for a restaurant for dinner. Our room was very clean and we had no problems with anything in the room. The next day the staff made excellent recommendations for things for us to do with 3 teenagers. The bellman made some great suggestions and was nice enough to drop us off at the Bluff View Art District. After he dropped us off, he even made sure we had our bearings and did not pull away until we were certain of where we were going. We really enjoyed the restaurant he suggested as well as walking around there. The staff are very helpful and friendly. I have stayed in 5 star resorts all over the world and this staff was as nice as any I have encountered. Would definitely recommend. I enjoyed Chattanooga as a city.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
ladybug30004

Thank you for your review from this past weekend. We look forward to your event every January and I'm glad that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and in Chattanooga. Thanks again and we hope to see you again next year!

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful and well decorated hotel. The staff was exceptionally friendly and very helpful. The shuttle service to our restaurant was a plus.Very pleasant experience. We will definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family visiting Chattanooga.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
pampam005

Thank you for your stay and your positve comments regarding your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback regarding our staff friendliness, hotel decor, location and ease/access of the complimentary shuttle.

We hope that you'll keep us in mind when you visit Chattanooga in the future.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chattanooga Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Marriott Downtown

Address: 2 Carter Plaza, Chattanooga, TN 37402 (Formerly Chattanooga Marriott at the Convention Center)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#16 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chattanooga Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Downtown Chattanooga, the Chattanooga Marriott Downtown is within walking distance to the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX 3-D Theatre, Creative Discovery Museum, and nearby the Chattanooga Regional History Museum University of Tennessee at Chattanooga and AT&T Field. The Chattanooga Marriott has an indoor pool and seasonal outdoor pool. Complimentary wireless and wired high-speed Internet access is available in public areas. Business amenities at this 3-star property include a 24-hour business center, flexible meeting rooms, and audio-visual equipment. Dining options at this business-friendly hotel include a restaurant, a coffee shop/cafe, and a bar/lounge. The staff provides concierge services, wedding services, and event catering. Additional amenities include a seasonal outdoor pool, 24 hour fitness facility, and gift shops/newsstands. Guests have access to a roundtrip airport shuttle and onsite covered parking is available.All rooms have beautiful city or mountain views. The 343 air-conditioned guestrooms at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown include coffee/tea makers and hair dryers, wireless high-speed Internet access (surcharge applies),and 32-inch LCD televisions equipped with premium satellite channels. All accommodations provide ergonomic chairs and phones with voice mail. Bathrooms offer shower/tub combinations and complimentary toiletries. Additional amenities include an iron and ironing board and clock radios. In addition, amenities available on request include refrigerators, a turndown service, and hypo-allergenic bedding and daily housekeeping service. Plan your next stay in Chattanooga at the Marriott Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chattanooga Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Marriott At The Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Marriott At Hotel
Marriott Chattanooga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.