We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend the $$ for the Train Car Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chattanooga Choo Choo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chattanooga Choo Choo to your Saves list
Chattanooga Choo Choo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Market Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
Frankfort, Kentucky
1 review
“Spend the $$ for the Train Car Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

If you are going to visit the Chattanooga Choo Choo you really should spend the $ to stay in the train car. It is decorated like the times and completes the trip. Be aware if you open your binds then you are probably exposed to anyone walking by, because you are on a train that's stationary and not to high off the ground, that's common sense. Lots of lights, TV, extra pillows and blankets. The shower is smaller, but its expected in a traincar setting - there was a hair dryer, heater in the bathroom and the small coffee maker. There is a thermostat for heating/cooling as well. I found the staff very friendly and my room ready when I arrived. There are lots of little shops around so take time to see them, and a transit/bus system for the town that was at no cost right next door - we used this as opposed to paying for downtown parking. Very pleased with the Stay. They have a buffet that is about $11/person for breakfast or other a la cart choices for less too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the gardens, otherwise you are looking at the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thanks for your 5 star review! I am pleased that the you had a great experience. Thanks for the great comments about the train car and the staff! Your review means a lot to us and helps us keep a high CSI on Tripadvisor.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    455
    334
    276
    208
See reviews for
655
512
67
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

It sounded fun and inviting to my husband and I to stay in a train car but what a big disappointment. This place has seen better days. It's old and run down and needs major renovation. Our train car room was dark and dingy. We couldn't open the blinds because than we would have no privacy. The bathroom had holes in the floor. The carpets throughout the hotel were old and ragged. We had two nights booked and after one night we checked out. The staff was nice and accommodating but other than that, it's pretty dumpy.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. Let us know if you are ever unhappy about anything and let us find a solution to exceed your needs. We just need the chance to prove it. Give me us chance to make a great recovery. I will reach out to you via tripadvisor. Please call or email me.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

If you have never slept on a train, moving or not, then by all means do this once. The 'room' was clean, comfortable new looking mattress, TV, refrigerator, coffee maker, most all the amenities anyone needs. Other than the experience of being on a train, the experience was average. For those with allergies, our car had an old smell to it. There is no way to air the cars out since the windows don't open. The old train station depot, which is now the registration area, is worth seeing and envisioning the masses of people who passed through in a bygone era.

Room Tip: Note that in most cars, you will not have a view. We saw the parking area from one side and the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your review about our hotel. Thank you for realizing the history of the hotel. The train cars are very interesting and popular. Each unit has its own HVAC. We look forward to your return.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oostburg, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Our family had a great stay at this Historic Hotel in beautiful Chattanooga. The service was great, the staff was extremely friendly, & the accomadation were good. Will definitely be back sometime when whe can stay longer to enjoy the entire facility.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Great Service is WHAT WE LOVE TO HEAR. Thanks for you kind comments. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us. We hope that you will visit us again.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband is an absolute railway enthusiast so we decided to stop in Chattanooga to check out this hotel during a road trip south to visit several friends of ours. The area of TN where it is located is not great, but the hotel is in a separate, gated and well manicured area and feels safe and quiet. The room was clean and neat, with a very authentic period look. When you sleep in the railcar it really gives you an appreciation of what it must have been like to travel at the height of the railroad boom. We just loved the station and its decor. It has been beautifully restored and lends a very sophisticated look to what is now the lobby of the hotel. They have a really nice train layout that we spent an hour or so enjoying. The people at the gift shop were really friendly as were the servers at the onsite restaurant. If you are going to be in the area please stop off and stay. If you have a husband who is a train enthusiast, make it a trip. He will love it.

Room Tip: If you like railway nostalgia, spend the extra money and stay in one of the railway car rooms. So wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your great review about our hotel. Thank you for realizing the history of the hotel. The train cars are very unique and popular. Your review helps us maintain a very high score on tripadvisors customer satisfaction index. In 2013, our CSI for the year was 83%. We look forward to your return.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed agh the Choo Choo for a weekend and it we were very impressed. This hotel has an old charm feeling. We have a young son that loves trains and he had a blast. The staff was very pleasant. We will definitely return for another stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
GREAT STAY is what we love to hear. Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments. I am pleased that your family enjoyed the visit. We look forward to your return.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here with our two daughters and loved it. We took the shuttle bus at the hotel to the many stops through town and enjoyed walking around site seeing. We took a walk on the bridge that over looked the river and ate at the famous 5 guys. Their burgers are the best! The hotel had great service and we spent some Time in the hot tub at night after our day trips around town. Plenty of things to see on the hotel grounds. Great location and a short distance from Ruby Falls and Rock City.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
I am so glad that you loved staying at the Choo Choo. Thanks for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to a return trip with your family.
Regards,
Jill Ellis Coker
Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chattanooga Choo Choo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Address: 1400 Market Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the South's most renowned landmarks, the Chattanooga Choo Choo opened in 1909 and welcomed thousands of travelers during the Golden Age of railroads. Today, the 23 acre complex is a magnificently restored hotel resort for visitors of all ages. The Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel offers a variety of overnight accommodations, including the famous Victorian Era train rooms and luxurious suites. *Theme restaurants *Specialty shops *Authentic New Orleans trolley ride *Model railroad display *Convention Center *3 swimming pools *Tennis courts *Beautiful formal gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chattanooga Choo Choo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.