We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiant by Showing it's Age” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chattanooga Choo Choo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chattanooga Choo Choo to your Saves list
Chattanooga Choo Choo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Market Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Quiant by Showing it's Age”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband and I like to stay at historic hotels, so we jumped at the chance for a Groupon to The Chattanooga Choo Choo. The main lobby is lovely - it is a renovated train depot. The ceiling is gorgeous; fantastic glass work; original floors and over all well renovated and maintained. The desk service was fast but not very friendly - the clerks acted disinterested both at check in and check out. Beyond the main lobby is another large atrium area that houses one of the restaurants. It is a bit like eating in a public lobby - very open with high ceilings and lacking warmth. The hotel as 4 rows of old train cars that are converted to rooms (2 rooms per car) and 2 other 1970's vintage 4 -5 story hotels. We walked into hotel Building #1 to see the indoor pool. The building looked well maintained but VERY dated - dark and rather depressing. The indoor poor had a layer of odd looking bubbles on it. Suffice it to say we did not swim. The ice machine is located in the very back of the pool area. You have to be able to climb a rather steep step and maneuver a tight entry to get into the rail car room, but it is all authentic to the train and very cool. The room itself is long and narrow, as expected. Our room had a queen bed at the far end; two nightstands; leaded glass lights over each nightstand ; a desk with phone and clock radio; 42 inch flat screen TV (nice); two other chairs and a day bed; a dresser; and a couple more lamps. Much of the original structure of the train car was left in place and I really enjoyed looking at all the compartments and trying to determine what they were used for originally. The bathroom was surprisingly large with a separate area for the toilet. The floors in the bath are tile and in average condition. The whole bath is painted a dull beige with no color what so ever, which does not add to the feel of the area. The tub/shower is 1970's fake marble, but is clean with new caulk and no mildew. The closet is a 12 inch metal bar next to the tub in the bathroom and had 3 mis-matched hangars. Toiletries were nice. The room had a ice bucket and a "pod type" coffee pot. The carpet was in very good shape - looked almost new. Bed linens were nice and in good condition.The main bed had all white linens but the day bed still had an old, very tired looking bed spread that I would not have touched for any reason. The room had many windows - all the original windows from the train - with wooden blinds. The blinds needed some maintenance BUT were VERY clean - no dust at all. The room, over all was extremely clean, which to me is one of the most important aspects of a hotel room. The room "feels" very stable and solid, but when we went to bed you could clearly hear the guy in the next room talking and, later, snoring. The grounds are interesting to walk around (and are like by natural gas torches at night) and the restaurant that features the singing servers is a must see .We did not eat there - went after dinner - and WOW - they are very very talented and put on a great show. Other aspects of the hotel were very tired - the odd model train museum (extra fee to get in); very dated gift shops; sort of depressing arcade - it all smacks of a place well past its hey day. I hope they are able to stay in business and perhaps update some of the common areas so that the trains and the lobby can be enjoyed for years to come.

Room Tip: We stayed in 765 - a Train Car room. I strongly suggest staying in the trains and not in the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thanks for your review and photos. Also, I am glad that you enjoyed staying in one of our signature rooms, the train cars. They are very popular, nothing like it. Thanks for great comments about the Station House it has been here for 40 years! I love to give people the facts. On average, we invest between $1.5-3 million a year in maintaining and upgrading the property
All the Best
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    453
    334
    276
    208
See reviews for
654
511
67
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The wife and kid, stay here a lot.
always friendly service and polite staff.
Not a whole lot open late or during the week in the
winter months. Just a real good place to stay.
You have to pay 6 dollars a night for parking, no free
breakfast unless your a child, they eat free for breakfast.
Rooms are average, standard room has no fridge or microwave,
usually clean though. Some have a sliding glass with patio which
is nice. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We always stay in hotel 1 next to the indoor pool in the winter months
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
“Always a great stay. “is what we love to hear. Thank you for your kind review. It’s a great compliment for us for you to recognize our staff. Remember, the free electric shuttle is adjacent to our hotel. Our guests love it; it takes you all over downtown.
Regards,
Jill Coker
Quality assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
359 reviews 359 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
330 helpful votes 330 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The rooms were good. A decent location, being located right beside the free electric trolley's. The highlight was the breakfast - excellent option! The room was fine - we didn't stay on the trains. Pool was warm.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments. Our goal is to be the best hospitality value in the city. We look forward to your return.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffin, GA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I have stayed here before and it has always been great. The staff is excellent and very accommodating. The hotel lobby is beautiful. Our room was clean and spacious. We ate at the Station House with the singing servers and it was a great experience. We will return again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thanks for your repeat business! Also thanks for sharing your story with us and you 5 STAR review. We love to hear that you had a great stay. Come back again soon.

All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed at the Chattanooga Choo Choo to keep from having to risk the terrible traffic conditions that had occurred due to inclement weather. Although the weather had caused havoc everywhere else, the staff at the Choo Choo were more than accomodating and friendly. My room was very cozy when I walked in which was a reprieve from the bitterly cold outside and was well stocked and clean! The staff was more than helpful in ensuring that all needs were met since I really didn't have anything for an overnight stay. I enjoyed the way the grounds looked with the snow all around us and could envision how grand the station was in the past. It is a historical landmark and the beauty of THAT is well worth the stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
AWESOME! Thank you for your comments and a 5 STAR REVIEW. We will share your fine comments with our staff. We love for all our guests to have a memorable experience and a brighter day. Based on your comments you did.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Liberty, Iowa
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

When we pulled up, my 12 yr-old granddaughter was so excited. She said "this isn't a hotel!" It looked so grand. The entrance was beautifully decorated for Christmas. Again, we were both getting so excited to see our rooms because of what we were seeing from the beginning. Tyler was very helpful. Our room was in one of the back buildings. As we drove past the railroad cars, we wished we had a reservation to stay in them. They seemed to be something quite different. The back hotel building was dirty-looking; stains on rugs and gave you a very squirmy feeling knowing you were going to have to sleep on the beds. The elevators were so small, it was hard to put the cart and us inside to get up to our floor. We had to walk by the heated pool but because of the uncleanliness, we weren't sure how filtered the water would be. We decided to make the best of it but we couldn't wait to leave there the next day. It was so disappointing to us both.

Room Tip: Perhaps staying in the railroad cars may have been better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
I'm sorry that we did not live up to your expectations.
We take your comments very seriously. I wish you would have called us during your stay, so that we could address any issue you had at that time. If you are reading this remember to call a manager, if you have an issue. I recently had a problem with a hotel in Austin. I spoke to the management, they rectified the situation. The pools are checked 3 times a day. We had a Health Inspection just last week and scored 94%.
I would be happy to speak with you regarding your stay. I will email you via Tripadvisor.
All the Best,

Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Tennessee
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed one night in the Victorian train car room on January 25, 2014. The room which is a converted train car is dingy and the carpet has actually worn through in places. Although heated the bathroom floor is tiled and was very cold. The toilet and bathtub are very small and hobbit like, overall this space needs to be deeply cleaned, the floor coverings need replacing and the bathroom fixtures which are very 1970's need to be replaced. we paid over $200 for one night and slept in hobo accommodation it reminded us of a night we spent in grandpas old camper trailer when we were younger except grandpas trailer was clean.

Room Tip: We heard that the station house has better rooms but most rooms will be better than the train car ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
I’m sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay at the Chattanooga Choo Choo. I have tried to call you but have been unsuccessful. I have shared your review with our management team for corrective action. I would like to speak with you regarding your comments.


Sincerely,
Jim Bambrey
GM
423-308-2424
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chattanooga Choo Choo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Address: 1400 Market Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the South's most renowned landmarks, the Chattanooga Choo Choo opened in 1909 and welcomed thousands of travelers during the Golden Age of railroads. Today, the 23 acre complex is a magnificently restored hotel resort for visitors of all ages. The Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel offers a variety of overnight accommodations, including the famous Victorian Era train rooms and luxurious suites. *Theme restaurants *Specialty shops *Authentic New Orleans trolley ride *Model railroad display *Convention Center *3 swimming pools *Tennis courts *Beautiful formal gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chattanooga Choo Choo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.