We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“labron meadows” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chattanooga Choo Choo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chattanooga Choo Choo to your Saves list
Chattanooga Choo Choo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Market Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“labron meadows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a 4day coca cola convention there nov.6th-9th, The planning staff was excellent in planning all events. The sleeping rooms were large and comfortable and the cleaning staff did an excellent job. I don't think I have ever had such a great supply of towels and etc. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and very responsive to our needs. We had five events over the three-day period in the Roosevelt Room in which the staff changed out the room in between each event in a fast and efficient way. Our banquet to end our convention was on Saturday night and the food and service was excellent. The room was beautiful. Also the people at the front desk were friendly and efficient and did everything they could to make our stay pleasent. Overall, our convention was a success. We had many compliments from our attendees. We hope to have our 2015 convention at the Choo-Choo.

Room Tip: hotel #1 is best for group events
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Success is great! We appreciate you holding your convention with us. We do a lot of group business and hear similar comments. I am glad our staff and facilities exceeded your expectations. We look forward to another convention.
Regards,
Jill Ellis
Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    455
    334
    276
    208
See reviews for
655
512
67
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Not sure where to begin...

Black mold on the walls and lampshade (See pics), pubic hairs throughout the bedding, filthy carpet, and they appear to house college kids in parts of the hotel so the hallways reaked of pot. We had a good laugh but truly a miserable experience.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
I am disappointed that you were disappointed. Did you report any issues with management? We could have easily corrected any problem you had. We make mistakes, but we make great recoveries.

There is no excuse that your room was not prepared properly. We have 4 managers (including me) on our QA team that inspect rooms regular basis, along with the Executive Housekeeper and her inspectors. I will email you via tripadvisor.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Upon walking in we were stuck with the beauty of the history & beauty of the terminal/front desk. The garden’s are beautifully manicured which makes it a lovely to sit & reflect. Fun little shops on the grounds you can visit to look for that special souvenir. Must see was the miniature model railroads & to ride the trolley on the grounds. For the most part the staff is friendly, knowledgeable with a few exceptions. A few disappointments were the room is a bit dated & in need of a major “spring” cleaning. Carpets need a good deep cleaning, dust on baseboards, under sink areas & several areas could use some paint not only in rooms but throughout the Hotel itself. One of the doors into our hotel area from the outside was stuck open so anyone could come in without using the key card. Beds are also a bit stiff but to each their own. Also disappointed with breakfast in the Gardens Restaurant. Our server was MIA & the food when brought was borderline cold. Think they are used to more folks doing the buffet instead off the menu. Pluses are the location. Fun places nearby to walk to easily & really enjoyed that the CARTA free bus is right next door that you can hop on to go to other locations around.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. We do have a lot to offer on our complex. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the grounds and utilize the other venues on our property. I regret you had some issues with your room. I have reviewed your comments with the respective Department Heads, so that they can take corrective action. We take your comments very seriously and it is our opportunity to improve our product and service. Our PMS sends emails to all guest that have given us there their email. For the trailing 12 months we have received 3,107 responses, with an overall satisfaction rating of 83%. I will reach out to you via tripadvisor. Please call or email me.

All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were visiting friends and family in Chattanooga, Tn. and had the opportunity to stay at the CHATTANOOGA CHOO CHOO!! Just walking into the old train station took us back in time. The hotel staff all went over and above to make our stay enjoyable. We were able to meet some of the management team - all very professional and helpful!! Mr. B., Jim, Jill, Miss Sharon, Chef Mike, Brian, just to name a few , made our rooms (exceptionally clean and neat), meals, and visit a great experience.. We will definitely visit again!! Thanks to all for making our vacation a great one!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for the AWESOME comments. It is great to hear that you had a great vacation. Those are the types of comments we want to hear from everyone and we hear it a lot. Thanks for your comments about the staff. Come back soon.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I was with a tour group of about 50 people. We stayed one night in the motel section. The rooms were large but a bit shabby. The beds could be better. The bathroom was tiny and had mold around tub edge. However, the lobby and main building were magnificent and historical. We also enjoyed an above average breakfast buffet. I had never stayed here before but had heard about it through the years. Railroad cars have been made into rooms. Maybe they are nicer.

Room Tip: I would try the railroad cars for a unique experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I’m sorry that you were disappointed. I would be glad to speak to you in more detail about your visit. We learn plenty from our guests. I will email you via tripadvisor.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayson, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Hotel staff are very nice and try to help anyway they can from the front desk, room service attendants to security personal and maintenance workers. Nice to see that. The rooms were renovated a few years ago, but the wall paper in the shower area of our room is starting to peel.
I would take it off and paint the walls. It was a little noisy in our building, but there was alot going on in the hotel. Everything else was fine and looking forward to our next years visit. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thanks for your great review about our hotel and great staff. It means a lot to our staff to see this kind of a review. Thanks for planning to return next year. See you then.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerseyville, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We wanted to do something different for our vacation and chose Chattanooga. Staying at the Chattanooga Choo Choo was my husbands idea, as he is a train enthusiast. We were very pleased with our room and the surroundings. We ate at the Garden restaurant twice and it was a nice experience. We enjoyed the model railroad museum that was on site and the shops also. The hotel was very clean and well kept. The staff were all very helpful and courteous. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
TRAIN ENTHUSIAST IS GOOD TO HEAR! I am pleased that you had a great experience. Thanks for the great comments about the room, the staff. and other venues. I was just outside in our Formal Gardens and 2 ladies asked if they could see a train car room. I did let them in and they were in awe. It’s fun to see it first hand with a guest. Your 5 stars means a lot to us. .
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chattanooga Choo Choo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Address: 1400 Market Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the South's most renowned landmarks, the Chattanooga Choo Choo opened in 1909 and welcomed thousands of travelers during the Golden Age of railroads. Today, the 23 acre complex is a magnificently restored hotel resort for visitors of all ages. The Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel offers a variety of overnight accommodations, including the famous Victorian Era train rooms and luxurious suites. *Theme restaurants *Specialty shops *Authentic New Orleans trolley ride *Model railroad display *Convention Center *3 swimming pools *Tennis courts *Beautiful formal gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chattanooga Choo Choo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.