We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel grounds are great; hotels 2 & 3 need major renovation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chattanooga Choo Choo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chattanooga Choo Choo to your Saves list
Chattanooga Choo Choo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Market Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Hotel grounds are great; hotels 2 & 3 need major renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

At best, you are getting a large hotel complex that offers plenty to do when you are NOT in your room: beautiful gardens, lots of history, a lovely lobby, fun gift shops, a trolley you can ride for a few dollars, things like that. You also can hop on the free electric shuttle to all the wonderful attractions downtown. The rose gardens are impressive, and the largest in the city. The fountains are really pretty, and they serve as a good distraction for children who do not want to be cooped up in their rooms. While we were there, in fact, the Lionel Train Convention was there, and they had set up quite an elaborate train in the lobby. I believe some guests thought this was a permanent exhibit at the Choo Choo when it really isn't.
The downside? The rooms are HORRENDOUS in hotels 2 and 3, and they need major renovation. We were moved from our original room because of overpowering cigarette smoke (in a nonsmoking room) to a room that was not any better in a different building, but at least it didn't reek of cigarette smoke. We were on the third floor in Hotel 3. The elevator rattles so much that we told our son it's to replicate the sound that a train makes. The sign says the elevator permit is on file in the lobby, and while I've never really paid attention to those things, I actually wonder if the permit doesn't exist because it's just that bad. Our room's A/C did not work, and the exhaust in the bathroom did not work, either. Gnats were flying all over the place in the bathroom, possibly as a result.
It took them 1 1/2 days to fix the A/C.
Do not expect a mini fridge in your room. You get a small coffee pot. No free breakfast here, either. There is a small cafe to the side of the big restaurant where you can grab a bagel or muffin if you want to avoid a big breakfast. They have a $12 buffet for breakfast in the Gardens Inn restaurant as well as a la carte. We did the cafe. Cheaper and offered what we needed. Or, just go downtown and try some of the great new coffee shops down there. Lots to choose from if you have not been to Chattanooga in a few years.
Years ago - before we were parents - we stayed in a train car and enjoyed it very much. Only drawback to that was that kids and grown ups alike would climb up to the train cars in the morning and talk about how much fun it would be to sleep in one, sometimes pulling on the doors to see if they were open. Plus, they are all out in the open, and many people bang on them as they walk through the gardens.
I am very glad I went to a site to bid on this one for WELL under the advertised price, because I would be incredibly upset if I had paid the advertised price; instead, I paid $80 less than the advertised price, which sits much better based on the value of the musty, gross room.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you weren’t happy with your accommodations. Let me assure you that we have renovated every year in some fashion. I know because I do the purchasing for these renovations. Three and a half years ago, we finished a 1 million dollar plus renovation to our guest rooms and corridors in Building 3(your building) to brand standards. In addition our capital plan, we spend $870,000 dollars annually on maintenance and landscaping. The elevator is inspected regulary by a 3rd party.
Regards,
Jill Ellis Coker
Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    455
    334
    276
    208
See reviews for
655
512
67
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We enjoyed staying here. The hotel property is a lot of fun to visit, and the front desk and staff were extremely hospitable. The hotel rooms in Building 2 were average at best, with the hallway having a musty odor. The pools were fun for the kids, and it was nice that they had 3 to choose from. The water in each pool seemed a bit questionable, but we are all still healthy after spending a morning in them.

Room Tip: Go with Building 3 if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
It is great to hear that you had a fun time on our property. Thank you for your compliments of the staff. I will pass those along. I am unclear as to the smell you are referring too. However, we will follow up. Come back again soon.
Regards,
Jill Coker
Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is a railroad themed hotel with choices from the more familiar and standard rooms to converted railway cars. There is a large station lobby and nice architecture details to check out in the buildings. The site itself is impressive with a selection of restaurants and shops on site with a lovely garden smack in the middle in between several tracks laden with train cars. There is some upkeep attention needed, but for an historic site of this size and scope, we were charmed. However we soon learned that staying in one of their historic train cars in the middle of July was not the best idea of our trip. We arrived around 4:30 P.M.,registered easily and made our way to our train car, finding the room extremely hot and stifling. While the air conditioner was blowing on full cool, and the bed and furniture looked inviting, the train car was essentially uninhabitable. We briefly sat down and quietly dripped sweat. We decided a better decision was to wander about the grounds (there was an astounding Lionel miniature train set in the lobby to enjoy) and let the room temperature drop. When we returned in an hour there was no discernible difference in the heat. It was oppressive. I spoke to the front desk and a helpful young woman immediately switched us to another train car, acknowledging that some of the train rooms had cooling difficulties in the afternoons. This one was better, at least bearable, but our room thermostat reading did not drop below 80 degrees until 8:30 P.M. I thought it must be broken. The room was lovely, nicely decorated in a Victorian theme. Our 10 year old loved the trundle bed, and eventually we slept well and woke to a temperature that was almost TOO cold, but the late afternoon and early evening heat of the day before convinced us to NOT book these rooms in the summer and I'd advise any readers to be forewarned. We may well return in the fall for a second visit when temperatures are more comfortable as we found the area had a lot to offer in historic sites and entertainment.

Room Tip: Stay out of the train cars during the height of summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Owner at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I am so glad that you were charmed by our facility. At times we do have some challenges in extreme heat in our railcar rooms. However, we do check all our A/C units to assure a cool room upon arrival. I am unclear as to what happened upon your arrival to your car, but will certainly address with the maintenance team. I do apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you for your compliments of the Victorian theme décor in the room. We look forward to your return.
Regards,
Jill Coker
QA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in June for 3 nights on the train cars. The kids loved it, but the rooms were a bit worn. I was surprised that train rooms were quite large including the bathrooms. It was a fun experience, but I would hope that the carpet, peeling wallpaper and bedcovers get updated. The parking lot was easy to get in and out of. The staff was very friendly. The outdoor pool was also dated with worn towels and chairs. The girls didn't seem to mind.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
It is great to know that your kids enjoyed the railcar experience. The train cars run a very high occupancy during these months. We continue to improve our complex with capital dollars and $870,000 in maintenance and landscaping. We take your comments seriously and review our product. Thanks again for letting us know that you had a fun experience. Our CSI for July is 84%
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have stayed here before and have slept in better rooms. I was in building 2. The hotel rooms need major renovations including hallways. It was clean upon first look but the mattresses were not fully covered and it was very musty smelling in the hallways and rooms. Doors to outside did not shut tight. Tv was very dated. Coffee maker was not very clean with paper cups that leaked. Bathtub had a mat in it that felt unclean and was covering something unknown. I did not rest well due to the fact that i felt as if the bed and room were just not clean enough. On the good side- Breakfast buffet is good value and it is very cool to walk around the grounds and see the trains and the architecture in the lobby. Front desk help was very courteous.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your continued business. I am disappointed to hear that your room wasn’t properly prepared for your arrival. We just finished finish another million dollar renovation to Building 2 one and a half years ago. 2This is not the normal level of service that we provide. We will investigate with the department head to see what happened. All of our flat screen TV’s have been replaced within the last 2 years to meet required standards. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet and the grounds.
Regards,
Jill Coker
QA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We are on a month long cross country trip. This was by far the worst quality hotel we stayed in. Felt like it was a bait and switch from what was advertised . The train train station lobby is impressive and beautiful but the hotel is behind the lobby building and is dirty, musty and moldy. The hallways to the elevator to the rooms and pool. Filthy!! Plus they have huge parking lots and have the gall to charge you $6 a nite to park. Total rip off... We have stayed in all sorts of hotels this month from Days Inns to the Hilton. This was by far the worst . Buyer beware!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I am so sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. However, I am disappointed that we didn’t know of your concerns while you were here. We would have gladly taken care of your situation. All downtown hotels charge for parking. As a matter of fact, the other downtown properties charge anywhere from $8.00 to $15.00 per day. Also, we have 24 hour security.
Regards,
Jill Coker
QA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. Our room was a refurbished train car. Fun to try!Everything was very clean and places to eat in the area were very good. The whole place could use updating as other reviews have said. I would tell my friends to stay here for a different experience.

Room Tip: Stay in a train car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks for your comments about a fun and appreciating the Train Car. We always love to hear that you enjoyed the many other venues at the hotel. We look forward to your return.
Regards,
Jill Ellis
Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chattanooga Choo Choo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Address: 1400 Market Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the South's most renowned landmarks, the Chattanooga Choo Choo opened in 1909 and welcomed thousands of travelers during the Golden Age of railroads. Today, the 23 acre complex is a magnificently restored hotel resort for visitors of all ages. The Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel offers a variety of overnight accommodations, including the famous Victorian Era train rooms and luxurious suites. *Theme restaurants *Specialty shops *Authentic New Orleans trolley ride *Model railroad display *Convention Center *3 swimming pools *Tennis courts *Beautiful formal gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chattanooga Choo Choo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.