We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic hotel that has so much potential with extremely outdated rooms.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chattanooga Choo Choo

Save Saved
You added Chattanooga Choo Choo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chattanooga Choo Choo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Market Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 95 hotels in Chattanooga
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Eclectic hotel that has so much potential with extremely outdated rooms.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have stayed here before and have slept in better rooms. I was in building 2. The hotel rooms need major renovations including hallways. It was clean upon first look but the mattresses were not fully covered and it was very musty smelling in the hallways and rooms. Doors to outside did not shut tight. Tv was very dated. Coffee maker was not very clean with paper cups that leaked. Bathtub had a mat in it that felt unclean and was covering something unknown. I did not rest well due to the fact that i felt as if the bed and room were just not clean enough. On the good side- Breakfast buffet is good value and it is very cool to walk around the grounds and see the trains and the architecture in the lobby. Front desk help was very courteous.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your continued business. I am disappointed to hear that your room wasn’t properly prepared for your arrival. We just finished finish another million dollar renovation to Building 2 one and a half years ago. 2This is not the normal level of service that we provide. We will investigate with the department head to see what happened. All of our flat screen TV’s have been replaced within the last 2 years to meet required standards. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet and the grounds.
Regards,
Jill Coker
QA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,756 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    613
    420
    289
    247
    187
See reviews for
624
450
62
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Westbrook, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We are on a month long cross country trip. This was by far the worst quality hotel we stayed in. Felt like it was a bait and switch from what was advertised . The train train station lobby is impressive and beautiful but the hotel is behind the lobby building and is dirty, musty and moldy. The hallways to the elevator to the rooms and pool. Filthy!! Plus they have huge parking lots and have the gall to charge you $6 a nite to park. Total rip off... We have stayed in all sorts of hotels this month from Days Inns to the Hilton. This was by far the worst . Buyer beware!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I am so sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. However, I am disappointed that we didn’t know of your concerns while you were here. We would have gladly taken care of your situation. All downtown hotels charge for parking. As a matter of fact, the other downtown properties charge anywhere from $8.00 to $15.00 per day. Also, we have 24 hour security.
Regards,
Jill Coker
QA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. Our room was a refurbished train car. Fun to try!Everything was very clean and places to eat in the area were very good. The whole place could use updating as other reviews have said. I would tell my friends to stay here for a different experience.

Room Tip: Stay in a train car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks for your comments about a fun and appreciating the Train Car. We always love to hear that you enjoyed the many other venues at the hotel. We look forward to your return.
Regards,
Jill Ellis
Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We arrived into Chattanooga around five and headed to lookout mountain. By the time we finished there it was already seven o'clock. I am an avid Priceline supporter and snagged this amazing hotel at just $75 with taxes for the night. The lobby is amazing. It is an old train station and is beautiful. The hotel has three buildings and we were in the third with a pool balcony. The pool was very clean and well taken care of. They also have a "train station" of old train cars that are transformed into hotel rooms. Our room was slightly dated but very clean, large and comfy. The site has many restaurants and little shops. The food was good but pricey. It was nice to have access to all the areas right on sight. There is an original train that visitors can climb on and check out. There is also an original trolley from New Orleans that you can take a tour of the property. The property is a short distance from the many downtown attractions. This is a great place to stay especially if you have children.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks for your great 5 star review. Also, I am glad that you enjoyed staying with us and recognizing the History and comments about our Grand Dome lobby. Come back soon.
All the Best
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I went to Chattanooga for white water rafting (which because of the weather was cancelled) and stayed at the Choo Choo. Even though the buildings looked a little old, they were clean and tidy. There was an issue with the shower being blocked when we arrived, but this was cleaned within 5 minutes.
The hotel is more geared towards tourists, as they've got gift shops, trains to look at, and a buffet (we didn't eat there though).
Probably better for families with young kids.

Room Tip: Try and get building three, as the hot tub is close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
I am so glad you had nice weekend away. Thanks for the comments about responding to your room request.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South London
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Second Stay,
Staff still all pleasant to encounter, polite and super helpful.
2 Outdoor pools, 1 Indoor great.
The grounds are great but as other reviewers have mentioned, a little updating in the rooms would be most appreciated, I'd till stay based on cost, location, pools and facilities though everytime :)
The breakfast service is good, however the menu could use a little jazz up :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks for being a repeat visitor. Thank you for sharing your story with us. We love to know that the staff was helpful. Come back again soon.
Regards,
Jill Ellis Coker
Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Late last month (June) we stayed at the Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel. We were there for a convention and had stayed there last year over the same weekend. Last year we stayed in Hotel (Building) 1. This year we stayed in Hotel (Building) 2. Both years we ate in the hotel's restaurant during their buffets. This year we had a problem on Saturday night during the hotel's prime rib buffet. My wife was unable to finish her one plate of food; it wasn't a refill. She asked for a to-go box and was denied one. She complained to the manager on duty who also denied her request. For the rest of the weekend we ate offsite after this experience. The rest of the hotel is fine, the employees friendly and helpful, service great. But when you pay as much for a buffet as a regular meal you don't want to throw away food. This prevents us from giving this hotel an excellent rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chattanooga Choo Choo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Address: 1400 Market Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 95 hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the South's most renowned landmarks, the Chattanooga Choo Choo opened in 1909 and welcomed thousands of travelers during the Golden Age of railroads. Today, the 23 acre complex is a magnificently restored hotel resort for visitors of all ages. The Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel offers a variety of overnight accommodations, including the famous Victorian Era train rooms and luxurious suites. *Theme restaurants *Specialty shops *Authentic New Orleans trolley ride *Model railroad display *Convention Center *3 swimming pools *Tennis courts *Beautiful formal gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chattanooga Choo Choo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.