We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chattanooga Choo Choo in March” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chattanooga Choo Choo

Save Saved
You added Chattanooga Choo Choo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Chattanooga Choo Choo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Market Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 95 hotels in Chattanooga
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Chattanooga Choo Choo in March”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed four nights at the Choo Choo during a cold and rainy four days in March, 2013. Stayed in building two. The Chattanooga Challenge went on that weekend and we were able to view participants climb over the cabooze in the back parking lot as part of the route of the race.

Our double room was fine. Though the chamber maid seemed very overworked with the elevator out of order, but she made every effort to be pleasant and helpful. The indoor pool was a popular place on several of the ocassions that we walked by.

An annual free film festival took place in the center next to the hotel during the weekend and everyone was invited to view and vote on the films.

The Choo Choo has atmosphere that is from a time gone by and is interesting to see. We enjoyed the flaming lighting along the train tracks and main lobby. If you don't stay in a train car, it is still fun to see if you can check one out to see the decor.

The Choo Choo has a nice looking atrium restaurant, but we never got the chance to eat there. In examining the breakfast menu, the pricing seemed average with nothing very expensive.

Within a few blocks is a coffee shop and two eating places that were good. One was theTerminal within half a block of the main entrance of the Choo Choo. For an informal fare, Champys is a very popular eating spot within a few miles. They serve all types of chicken, fried catfish, and specialty beer with very affordable pricing. The outside of the restaurant is not as appealing as the atmosphere inside.

Room Tip: Check the Choo Choo site for their pricing and then compare with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, and other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Chattanooga Choo Choo during your visit to the area. We appreciate your feedback. It is nice to know that you enjoyed the venues on our property as well as the local area. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you come to Chattanooga.
Regards,
Jill
Coker
Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,560 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    564
    362
    249
    221
    164
See reviews for
563
393
58
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We were there 3-23-2013 and the 3 and 7 yr old loved it-pool time, room service, ice cream, roaming the shops and trains while two of the 3 adults nursed sicknesses. The rail car rooms are a unique experience-DON'T miss it! Service and food are always great. Lots of things to do in and around town, TN RR excursions, Lookout Mtn, Chickamauga, Hamilton mall, Aquarium, Ruby Falls, the park at the Bridge, good places to eat. Great place for a weekend & the Choo-Choo is the IT place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks for your great review and I am pleased you had a whimsical fun time. Also, I am glad that you enjoyed staying in one of our signature rooms, the train cars. Thanks for recommending us and we look forward to your return and look forward to your return
All the Best
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Chattanooga is a nice town to do a stopover on a road trip, this hotel is a bit of a walk from all the main downtown attractions but it's also it's own attraction. A fairly large property to explore.
It's pretty cool

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We appreciate you choosing the Chattanooga Choo Choo during to stay to the area. Thank you for sharing your comments with us. Come back again soon.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stopped at the historical Chattanooga Choo Choo because we have 2 little guys who love trains. We took a little trolley ride around the station and got some interesting facts dating back to 1908! Trolley ride for 2 adults, 2 kids cost $6.... we also saw the model railroad museum, which is a full 2 rooms of professional model train sets. Everything had such detail, plus platforms so the little ones could see. The rooms inside the old train cars looked very cool, and we would stay there if back in Chattanooga. All in all, a few hours to see some history... teaching our kids something while having fun is always a plus!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
What a great destination for your children who love trains. Thank you for taking the time to enjoy our campus. Our railcars are popular and are a hit especially with train lovers. We have thousands of people that visit our campus all the time. Come back again and stay in a railcar room and enjoy a fun-filled weekend.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here in 3/2013 and booked through priceline. Rate was decent, and I had heard good things about the hotel from a friend. Needed a place to stay the night in Chattanooga for business and was looking forward to it. Did not meet expectations.

The place is absolutely gigantic, but is very old and dated. There are 3 hotels and several novelty antique train cars where you can stay, but they are a good hike from the main lobby and restaurants. Room was decently sized, but could have been better. I was on the top floor of Hotel #3. No fridge in the room, which is usually a standard feature these days. Very noisy. The rooms were interconnected like most older hotels, and there was a dog barking non stop in the room next to mine from 4PM until about 9PM after I checked in, horribly annoying. There was also a lot of outside noise that bled in through the balcony door (pool fountain, kids, trucks & buses idling).

Definitely a unique place, but probably better for families. The fitness center was a joke. In a place that has probably around 500 guest rooms, the only fitness center is the size of a broom closet and has 3 cardio machines, thats it. The wi-fi was absurdly slow, and came to a complete halt from 7-11PM. It's also not very pleasant having to make the quarter mile hike in 30 degree weather in the morning to the breakfast restaurant.

Also a bummer having to pay $12 for a lousy breakfast buffet that you could get for free at a best western. Fruit, eggs, bacon, breads and chicken strips were the only items. There was a bunch of cereal, but no milk out. (I'm sure that's something you have to pay extra for). Parking will also run you 6 bucks per day.

There's better places in the area if you need to stay for business, but this looks like a decent place if your on vacation or with kids.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We are very sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. I do apologize that the room next to yours had a barking dog. I wish we had known of your dissatisfaction. We would have addressed this with the guest. We did have some issues with our Wi-Fi during your stay however, we did get it rectified. I do apologize for the inconvenience. I will share your comments with our staff to note for review and correction. Thank you and hope that you visit us again when in Chattanooga.
Regards,
Jill Coker
QA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed one night and would have stayed another 2-3 days if we had the time. We stayed in one of the train car rooms and it was wonderful! Loved the Victorian decor and staying on the train. (If you want a fancy or luxurious bathroom- this is not the option- stay in one of the hotel rooms on site.) If you want to experience a piece of history, have a unique experience, are traveling with train buffs or a kid who loves trains-- Stay in the Train Car Room! The grounds are lovely and we would love to go back when the roses are up and blooming. In the evening they light gas lamps along the train car row and it looks very cool! The central station, main hall and check-in area was lovely. Staff was excellent, friendly, helpful and check-in/check-out was smooth. We booked a package which includes vouchers to the Lookout Mountain attractions. Enjoyed that as well! Restaurants on site were great, shops were fun. I would recommend this hotel for couples, families and especially think it would be great for a multi-generational trip with grandparents, grandkids etc. Possibly a family reunion venue.

Room Tip: Select a train room if you want to experience something unique. Want more modern/ up-graded bath, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for the 5 star rating. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. The staff will love to hear that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for recommending us. We look forward to another visit soon.
Regards,
Jill Coker
QA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My family has stayed at the ChooChoo every holiday season for the past 20 years. Both the train cars and the hotel rooms are very accommodating. We also love eating at The Station House on site and going in the shops at the hotel complex. There is definitely a lot to do in the area around the hotel. Our kids have enjoyed it through the years, and now our granddaughter has begun to enjoy it, too. Thanks, ChooChoo!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments and your continued repeat business. It is a pleasure to hear that you had a wonderful experience. We look forward to many more.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chattanooga Choo Choo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Holiday Inn Chattanooga
Chattanooga Holiday Inn
Address: 1400 Market Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#25 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the South's most renowned landmarks, the Chattanooga Choo Choo opened in 1909 and welcomed thousands of travelers during the Golden Age of railroads. Today, the 23 acre complex is a magnificently restored hotel resort for visitors of all ages. The Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel offers a variety of overnight accommodations, including the famous Victorian Era train rooms and luxurious suites. *Theme restaurants *Specialty shops *Authentic New Orleans trolley ride *Model railroad display *Convention Center *3 swimming pools *Tennis courts *Beautiful formal gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chattanooga Choo Choo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.