We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chattanooga Choo Choo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chattanooga Choo Choo to your Saves list
Chattanooga Choo Choo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Market Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
Winchester, Kentucky
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Stay somewhere else!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband and I booked two nights to stay in a train car. The train car was filthy. The window blinds looked like they had not been cleaned in years, there was an old hairnet on the floor and the overall cleanliness of the room and bathroom was not acceptable! The accoustics were bad and we could hear the family on the other side. The temperature in the train car was hard to regulate. The fan in the bathroom made a horrible noise and the hair dryer overheated and quit. The bathroom was really outdated and needed gutting. In fact it was so bad we left and only stayed one night with no compensation from management. Would not return to this destination.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience during your visit with us. I have spoken to the department heads about your situation and have had that room deep cleaned and had the maintenance department go through and check on all of the issues as well. The train cars are Historic and unfortunately they aren’t insulated like today’s models, so you can hear some noise on occasion, but the uniqueness and charm brings people back. I have tried to call you so we can talk about your experience; I assure you we take these issues seriously. We had a full hotel while you were here and had many happy guests. I personally spoke to many of them. I regret you were not one of them.
All the Best
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    455
    334
    276
    209
See reviews for
655
513
67
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Chattanooga Choo Choo is a great place to stay if you like to encounter some history with your travels. The lobby is a former train station, and the soaring atrium is worth a look even if you're just passing by. There is a large array of food and fun offered; I had a pizza from the "pizza car" (many of the amenities, including some of the rooms, are on old trains) and it was quite good.

Well situated close to downtown proper, there's a bike rental station right outside the front of the hotel, enabling you to enjoy the cycling-friendly city at your own pace. And lots of great restaurants, shops and bakeries close by.

The amenities are in line with a 3- or 4-star hotel, but the extra bit of history is what makes the Choo Choo a special place.

Room Tip: Spend the extra funds for a unique setting and sleep in a restored train car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for recognizing the history of the terminal building. We love to hear that you not only were an overnight guest but enjoyed our other venues. Glad you had a great time. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We visited Chattanooga for a quick overnight trip and stayed in a rail car at the Choo Choo. While the experience of sleeping in a train car was fun, there wasn't much else to do onsite.

We were in car #730. It was expected that the train car/room would be showing age, but they do need to step it up a little with housekeeping. We had several dirty towels and a half-empty conditioner bottle waiting upon arrival. There was an off-putting smell in the room when we arrived, but we eventually got used to it. I don't know if they all would smell the same.

Hardly any of the hours posted for various things onsite were correct. The trolley ran odd hours and we were never able to ride. As we approached, the driver said it was just stopping for the day. The coffee shop closed it's doors as we were walking towards it. Of the 3 games we tried to play in the arcade, 2 took our money and never worked. The small merry-go-round outside the arcade did the same. Our kids were very disappointed.

We did visit the model railroad museum there and it was really neat. *Be sure to pick up one of the brochures on the way in that gives background info on a bunch of things to look for throughout the display.*

We passed on the restaurant there with the singing waiters as it wasn't appropriate for our small children. There weren't any items listed for children on the menu posted outside; and the prices were way too high to pay for them to have an adult meal. The breakfast buffet in the main building was really good and the staff there were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay in the railcar room. However, I am sorry that you were unable to visit some of the retail locations. Some of the hours vary during our winter months but you should have been informed of that during the check-in process. We do try to accommodate and be flexible during those times of shortened or limited hours. I do apologize that you weren’t given that opportunity. We will use your comments to continue to improve our product and service. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the Model train museum and the Garden’s Restaurant. We hope that you will come back and stay again in one of our railcar or hotel rooms.
Regards,
Jill Ellis Coker
Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The railroad terminal itself is lovely and has been lovingly restored. The food is adequate in the Garden Restaurant though better is to be had in many restaurants. We didn't stay in one of the railroad car rooms but in one of the "new" wings built behind the terminal. The "new" wings are hardly new but look from the 1970's, our room (large enough) had water stains on the ceiling and walls, the indoor pool was murky water and very poorly kept with towels from the prior day still laying on the floor the following morning. The quests next door kept two dogs in their room which never quit barking. The overall experience was-stay elsewhere when visiting Chattanooga.

Room Tip: Don't take rooms in the "new" wings behind the terminal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. It is disappointing to hear that you didn’t like your room accommodations. Did you report this while you were staying here? We would have gladly taken care of your situation. I am sorry about the barking dogs. We have 24 hour security that, if reported, could have addressed that with the guests. We will use your comments to continue to improve our product and service. I will email you via tripadvisor.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Arrived on Friday night before the Scenic City Half Marathon, spent two nights at the Choo Choo for the convenience of the hotel being close to the race start/finish line. Clean room for a reasonable price. Within walking distance of many restaurants and attractions. No problem catching the free buses to more downtown restaurants, bars, attractions! No need to drive your car ANYWHERE! Even shuttle service provided by the Choo Choo Security if you need a ride from the front door of one if the three hotel buildings to the downtown shuttle buses!!! Kudos to the City of Chattanooga for going green on their e-buses and free shuttles!!!
Love this hotel and the friendly staff. Great job!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for the WOW comments. It is great to hear that your stay was awesome and that we provided great service. Those are the types of comments we want to hear from everyone. We appreciate you staying with us during the marathon and glad you were able to do some sightseeing. We work very hard to provide exceptional service, to have the best hospitality value in the city. We look forward to your return.
Regards,
Jill Ellis Coker
QA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, GA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We live in Atlanta and decided to make an overnight trip to Chattanooga while our kids were out of school for winter break. My wife did some research and we decided the kids would have fun sleeping in a train car. I thought the price was a touch high, but it is a bit of a novelty and only one night, so we went for it. If you are looking for premium accommodations, this may not be the spot for you. The train cars are nicely restored and furnished, however, it is still a Victorian train car. They could have easily gutted the whole thing, and made it quite upscale, but I think that would take away from what it is. It was quite cold when we were there, the heat worked well and we were comfortable. The bathroom is also quite small. The restaurant there had a decent breakfast buffet. Unfortunately, it was still a bit cold to take advantage of some of the local things to do in Chattanooga, but we are planning on a return trip this spring.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
“I am so glad you had a time. Thanks for the great comments train car! Come back soon and repeat your wonderful experience.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend getaway here for Valentine's Day and stayed in a traincar for the novelty. It was a great experience. I added the Sweetheart Package and room service delivered the champagne, candy and gift basket right to the traincar after we checked in. We didn't get a chance to go to the Station House but we ate in the Gardens Restaurant and it was delicious. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. The "room" was clean and comfortable. The entire facility was very nice and accessible. I saw Security personnel walking around the grounds numerous times which was also a good feeling. We enjoyed ourself immensely and plan on returning this summer with our 3 year old grandson (who is a train fanatic.) Overall a great experience!

Room Tip: Traincars away from the parking lot are the best!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
GREAT EXPERIENCE IS GREAT TO HEAR! I am pleased that the you had a great experience on Valentines weekend. Thanks for the great comments about your entire visit. Your review means a lot to us. .
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chattanooga Choo Choo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Address: 1400 Market Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the South's most renowned landmarks, the Chattanooga Choo Choo opened in 1909 and welcomed thousands of travelers during the Golden Age of railroads. Today, the 23 acre complex is a magnificently restored hotel resort for visitors of all ages. The Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel offers a variety of overnight accommodations, including the famous Victorian Era train rooms and luxurious suites. *Theme restaurants *Specialty shops *Authentic New Orleans trolley ride *Model railroad display *Convention Center *3 swimming pools *Tennis courts *Beautiful formal gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chattanooga Choo Choo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.