We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Potential but a little shabby” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chattanooga Choo Choo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chattanooga Choo Choo to your Saves list
Chattanooga Choo Choo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Market Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Potential but a little shabby”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed two nights in a railway carriage and whilst the bedroom area was great the WC area was shabby and not in keeping with the prices being charged. The hotel has so much potential but is a little shabby. The other (no rail car rooms) looked very dated and uninviting.

It needs a big makeover.

The restaurant with singing waiters and waitresses was very good but watch the entertainment percentage go on top of the meal charge as well as a service charge. The staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the Station House restaurant and singing servers. The fees are listed on the menu. It has been a popular spot since 1973. I’m sorry that you did not like the train car. The bathroom is small, but was totally upgraded about about 5 years ago. They are very popular and we normally get rave reviews about them. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. We realize the potential, that’s why we are continually upgrading our property...
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    455
    334
    276
    208
See reviews for
655
512
67
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mineral, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The lobby is beautiful, the staff was friendly and the restaurants had great food at very reasonable prices. However, the room we had in hotel 3 was shabby, not very clean and in serious need of maintenance and renovation. The room was large but furniture was missing, based on the large open spaces. You didn't have the use of a refrigerator and I had to ask for shampoo and soap. On the plus side they were very accommodating about providing golf cart service from the hotel to the restaurants. Some of the staff at the front desk wasn't trained very well and didn't have accurate information about when restaurants were open and when they closed. I couldn't figure out why the structures around the pool had an oriental theme instead of a train theme. This place could be fantastic if they did a major overhaul of the hotels, retrained the front desk staff and taught housekeeping what a vacuum was, how to clean a bathroom and restock a room. Would I go back ... probably not.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I am glad that you enjoyed the complex but regret that we didn’t meet your room expectations. We get many repeat customers who specifically request Building 3. I am a little confused about your comment of lack of furniture. Those rooms were furnished remodeled per brand standards and specifications. We do have refrigerators available upon request for a minimal charge. I apologize for the service that you received from our staff. I have reviewed your comments with the respective Department Heads, so that they can take corrective action. We take your comments very seriously and it is our opportunity to improve our product and service. We subscribe to a 3rd party that rates reviews from multiple sites. We rank 3.6 and our comp hotel set is 3.5, 3.6, 3.7 and 3.9 out of 5.
Regards,
Jill Ellis,
Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I took a group of 30 to the Chattanooga Choo Choo and they all enjoyed their stay. The rooms were great, the hospitality over the top, and it was a wonderful experience. We all loved the breakfast, the train museum, the train cars, the shops and the beautiful landscaping. The old lobby was beautiful and the staff was so helpful. It was a pleasure to stay at the Choo Choo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
GREAT STAY is what we love to hear. Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments. It appears that we exceeded your expectations from beginning to end, and that is our goal. We appreciate your great comments about all venues and our staff. We look forward to your return.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

If you've come for a rail-themed experience, once you've walked through the lobby (a former depot) and seen the old rail cars and the model railroad, you can leave. The hotel buildings are non-descript - they don't even bother to give them train names, just 1, 2 and 3!! - and in serious need of maintenance, from leaky faucets to broken air conditioning to elevators that jerk between floors. There are much better places to stay in Chattanooga, so Chug Chug AWAY from the Choo Choo!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. I wish we had known of your concerns during your stay. We would have easily remedied you’re a/c and leak. We have maintenance staff on 18 hours a day. We spend $850,000 on maintenance and landscaping per year. We subscribe to a service that analyzes 3rd party sites of our competitive hotels against the Choo Choo. Our average on 10 sites is 3.7 out of 5. The other hotels are 3.6, 3.7, 3.7 and 3.9. So you can see we match up well with our competition. We believe we are on track.

All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed at the Choo Choo for 3 nights on a business trip and really enjoyed their wonderful hospitality. The staff were above and beyond in their friendliness and service levels. The hotel is so much fun to stay at with multiple pools, trains and beautiful landscaping. It was a treat and a nice change from a lot of the hotels I stay at. I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
It is exciting for us to hear your great comments while on your business trip. Our property does offer many unique and different venues. Thanks for recognizing the great staff. Thanks for recommending us!
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We like old hotels and thought this was what it would be but only the lobby was historical. Hotel rooms were worn and outdated. Food was not great. Neat setting and fun to see the old railway cars.Their displays were great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. Glad you enjoyed the train display and the historical lobby area. I am sorry that you weren’t pleased with your accommodations. Jusy over three years ago, we finished a 1 million dollar plus renovation to our guest rooms and corridors in Building 3 to brand standards. It is requested regularly by thousands of guests because of the oversized rooms, balcony or patio for each room. We are about to finish another million dollar renovation to Building 2. Had you called the MOD, I feel assured that we could have found a room to your liking. We look forward to you visiting with us again soon. We just moved up 3 spots on Tripadvisor comparing all other hotels.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here before going to the mountains. My family loves trains so we had 1 train room & 1 regular room. My daughter & her children stayed in the train car & my 2 grown sons & I stayed in the regular room. The train car room was very nice ( had a problem with the plumbing but it was fixed right away). The regular room was huge, two queen beds & plenty of room for a rollaway bed. Great balcony overlooking a tropical pool w/waterfall. The kids 6 & 8 loved all the things to do at the resort - trolly ride, train display,pools, shops, carriage ride. We loved the comp. shuttle to other places. The buffet @ breakfast was okay not great. Dinner @ same reaturant was really good. We could have spent the whole week doing things @ Chattanooga. We have already booked a return trip for late Nov..Can't wait.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your comments. It is great to know that you and your family enjoyed one of our railcar rooms and standard rooms. Glad that your accommodations were good experiences also that you able to enjoy the venues around our complex. We thank you for your repeat business and we will see you in November.
Regards
Jill Ellis
Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chattanooga Choo Choo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Address: 1400 Market Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the South's most renowned landmarks, the Chattanooga Choo Choo opened in 1909 and welcomed thousands of travelers during the Golden Age of railroads. Today, the 23 acre complex is a magnificently restored hotel resort for visitors of all ages. The Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel offers a variety of overnight accommodations, including the famous Victorian Era train rooms and luxurious suites. *Theme restaurants *Specialty shops *Authentic New Orleans trolley ride *Model railroad display *Convention Center *3 swimming pools *Tennis courts *Beautiful formal gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chattanooga Choo Choo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.