We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belated Valentine's Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chattanooga Choo Choo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Chattanooga Choo Choo to your Saves list
Chattanooga Choo Choo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Market Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Belated Valentine's Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a belated Valentine's weekend, or mini-vacation in Chattanooga this past weekend. We spent one night at the Chattanooga Choo Choo in one of their hotel suites, and I must say it is a very nice place to stay. The room was very large, very nice, and very clean. No issues whatsoever. All of the staff were very friendly, especially Mrs. Still, who absolutely went overboard to make our stay extremely pleasant and memorable. It was a bit too cold to venture into the pool, but it appeared to be clean and well kept. We look to return to the Choo Choo in the very near future!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    433
    317
    260
    201
See reviews for
640
484
64
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Alabama, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Recently my husband and I enjoyed a mini vacation at the Chattanooga Choo Choo. This is a wonderful complex with many attractions on site, wonderful restaurants (one with singing waiters), a model Railroad Exhibit, gift shops, a trolley ride, delicious breakfast, helpful staff, on site shuttle service and and next door to the Free City wide shuttle service. We would love to return for a longer visit.

Room Tip: Stay in a converted "old railroad boxcar".
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
I am so glad that you had a WONDERFUL experience. That just makes us all smile as we know we have succeeded in making your stay a memorable one. Thank you for your many compliments in all areas of the hotel. I agree that we have a GREAT staff that work hard to provide great service. The Station House (singing servers) is always a hit. We look forward to your return.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Stayed here with my wife on a tour on 14& 15 February. As has been said this is set in an old station. The foyer is huge, staff fine. We stayed in one of three blocks of rooms. The room was big , clean and well appointed. There are also rooms in old carriages but I dont know about them. A bit of a hike from furthest block to reception. No room safe, sd boxes in reception.
In my opinion theres not a great deal to do in Chattanooga, and a bit dodgy to walk around toen at night. The hotel is about half mile from town, but there is a free shuttle that runs from next door to the hotel in and out of town. We ate and drank at a brewery pub thats right next door to the hotel.
All in all a nise place to stay.

Room Tip: If walking is a problem ask for a room in building 1, which is nearest to hotel facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
VERY GOOD is what we love to hear. Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments. We certainly appreciate you nice comments about your room . We appreciate your fine comments about our staff.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the ChooChoo in the Victorian train car. We had such a good time analyzing the old train details. They've done an excellent job of refurbing the car to accomodate a queen sized bed, seating, TV, desk, and dresser. The bath was certainly adequate, small, but in keeping with the era of the train. We really enjoyed the ambiance of the train. I personally think they should pipe in the clackety-clack! We ate breakfast in the old baggage area, now called The Gardens, and had dinner one night there. Good fish, and a sinful chocolate dessert, that we split. Our only regret was that the desk clerk did not advise us about reservations for Valentine's in Dinner in the Diner. We would have definitely eaten there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Choo Choo on your trip to Chattanooga. It is great to hear that you enjoyed staying in the railcar room. Thank you for your fine compliments. Sorry about our error in not informing you of the Dinner in the Diner. We hope that you will come back again soon; perhaps to eat in the Diner.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012 via mobile

On our journey from New Orleans to Gatlinburg, my husband and I decided it might be fun for our kids if we stopped for the night at the "choo choo" hotel...boy were we wrong. The room was average at best. The buildings were dimly lit and felt a little creepy. To top it off, our stay coincided with the Con Nooga science fiction convention and my two young children were petrified. I definitely feel that we should have been made aware of the convention at the time of the booking. Overall, we were not impressed and will not be returning...ever.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
I apologize that you were not informed about the science fiction group during your stay. We have hosted them for several years and have had great comments every year. It is marketed as a FAMILY CONVENTION by the founder. We take your comments very seriously and it is our opportunity to improve our product and service.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We were in standard room in Building 1 and the room was big but it was what you'll get for lower budget inns. The toilet seat was loose, the tub was old, small and I could see mold in several places. The wall was thin and we could hear TV and conversations from next door. The doors made banging noises when we or other guests opened and closed. The breakfast buffet at the Garden Restaurant was dissapointing and we were surprised with the price on the bill. Worst of all, we were charged $5 a day to park in their parking lot, which we were not told at all during check-in, nor we could find any documentation on paper or website for this charge to be coming. The indoor pool was nice, with very warm water temperature which our kids enjoyed. I wish the jaccuzi was there, too but it was in another building. I strongly suggest travellers to stay at other accommodation (newer, cleaner, possibly less expensive) so they don't feel what we feel, "wasted a lot of money".

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. Your comments regarding your room have been forwarded to the appropriate departments so that we can correct those issues. Let me assure you that is not the norm and shouldn’t have happened during your visit. I regret to hear that you didn’t enjoy the breakfast buffet. You definitely should have been informed of our parking fees. I will follow up with the front desk and reservation offices to do a retraining on that topic. I would welcome a conversation with you.
Regards,
Jill Ellis
Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stay at the Chattanooga Choo Choo hotel every year for a nerdfest convention called Con Nooga and one of the highlights is the fabulous Choo Choo Hotel located on Market St. in Chattanooga. Not only is it a great location but the staff is extremely friendly and tolerant! Sometimes the events and parties get a little "enthusiastic" and they are really understanding about us wanting to have a place to be ourselves and let off a little steam. They host the event as well and their facility is top-notch and their courtyard area is spacious and perfect for the after-hour parties and room parties that look out onto the pool area. We hope the Con never moves from the Choo Choo Hotel. It's perfect!

Room Tip: Building #3 has the most scenic courtyard area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
FABULOUS! Thank you for your fine comments about your convention being a great experience. That is what we love to hear. It is always a pleasure to host your group. We thank you for your patronage and look forward to many years ahead. I agree that we do have an exceptional staff. Thanks again.
All the Best
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chattanooga Choo Choo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Address: 1400 Market Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the South's most renowned landmarks, the Chattanooga Choo Choo opened in 1909 and welcomed thousands of travelers during the Golden Age of railroads. Today, the 23 acre complex is a magnificently restored hotel resort for visitors of all ages. The Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel offers a variety of overnight accommodations, including the famous Victorian Era train rooms and luxurious suites. *Theme restaurants *Specialty shops *Authentic New Orleans trolley ride *Model railroad display *Convention Center *3 swimming pools *Tennis courts *Beautiful formal gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chattanooga Choo Choo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.