We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect, Perfectly Beautiful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluff View Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chattanooga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bluff View Inn
Save
You added Bluff View Inn to your Saves list
411 East Second Street, Chattanooga, TN 37403   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Chattanooga B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A Perfect, Perfectly Beautiful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Bluff View Inn is a B&B with great service in a perfect Chattanooga location with beautiful views. We stayed on Easter weekend so not much in bloom, but it didn't matter because the Inn is on a bluff with sweeping views of the Tennessee River. We took advantage of the Bluff View Inn's location by booking the C.G. Martin Room which has views of the river from every window as well as its own private deck which encouraged quiet relaxation. The deck also overlooked the River Gallery Sculpture Garden (amazing) and a trellised patio and bocce ball court. The C.G Martin House is one of several houses of the Bluff View Inn which is located in Chattanooga's upscale Bluff View Art District.

The room was spacious, and well-equipped. We finally turned the flat screen TV on as we were packing to leave. Coffee, tea, and soft drinks were two steps away on a sideboard in the hall. There are only three rooms in the house so it was very quiet. A very comfortable four-poster, arm chairs, writing desk, and bath with jetted tub, a separate shower, and a separate WC provided comfort, quiet, and along with the deck, some walking around room. A lovely buffet breakfast was served across the street in the Maclellan House dining room (more river views) which also housed reception and a comfortable parlor with daily newspapers including The New York Times.

One of the great strengths of this property is how the owners have used their location wisely. We did not move the car all weekend. We walked the superbly executed Riverwalk which is 6.7 miles currently, planned for 20 more. We walked to the Aquarium, to dinner downtown one night, and across the Walnut Street Bridge one morning to visit the North Shore. Several restaurants are right on the property. We found the Back Inn Cafe is particularly good. The Chocolate Kitchen and the Bakery and Pasta Kitchens have exquisite offerings (empty your home freezer before you go). Rembrandt's Roasting Company, also on the property, serves a wide range of coffees, and teas, and other drinks as well as scrumptious baked goods. We picked up desserts to finish off on our deck.

The River Gallery is right out your door. The Hunter Museum of Art is one block down river. AT&T Field is a short walk for lovers of minor-league baseball. A word about Chattanooga: the city is obviously committed to keeping as much of the downtown architecturally intact as is possible. It's makes a hugely positive difference. The City is full of people walking, but it also has a free shuttle service that runs a regular route throughout the downtown. The University of Tennessee-Chattanooga is a big presence. The community at large is big into the the Arts so music and theatre, and presumably readings, are multiple and available.

The Bluff View Inn is downright gorgeous, and in my view, a perfect Bed & Breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    36
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
67
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Being from Chattanooga, I visit the Bluff View Art District a lot. I had always wanted to stay at the Bluff View Inn, so I booked it for our wedding night. The Inn Keepers are super nice and helpful. The entire house is decorated very elegantly. The rooms are clean. You are even allowed to walk in and explore unoccupied rooms as long as the doors are open. The breakfast that is served on the weekends is full of variety. They even have scones from Rembrandt's across the street. I would definately recommend this B and B to anyone visiting Chattanooga.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Chose this place to propose to my girlfriend! Everything was just right. The people at the Inn were very friendly but not too involved. They made us feel very comfortable. The Inn is in a great location. Right on the river and within walking distance of the Aquarium and right next door to the Hunter Museum of Art. Downtown is an easy walk and the art district on the north side of the river. We stayed in the Anna Houston room in the Martin House. We will stay here again. Breakfast was great and atmosphere was pleasant.

Room Tip: Spend the extra for the nicer rooms. Remember it's a historic building not a new hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a quick romantic getaway before our first son was born. We chose the Bluff View Arts District because it was close enough to Atlanta in case the baby decided to make an early arrival. We really enjoyed our day and night in the district. We stayed in the Bryan room. It had very nice panoramic views of the Tennessee river, a king bed, and a gas log fire place. We stayed on a Sunday night and were able to take advantage of a special that included a $25 gift card to restaurant properties. We used the gift card at the Italian restaurant (Tony's) and had a wonderful meal. The property is on a bluff overlooking downtown. We enjoyed strolling the neighborhood and also walking down towards the aquarium. We walked across the pedestrian bridge to the North Shore neighborhood and had a very enjoyable lunch. If we had more time we would have definitely visited the art museum, but it closed early on Sunday. On Monday morning we had a great breakfast (included of course) at the cafe. We bought some bakery items to bring home from the trip. Overall, Chattanooga is a beautiful little city and the Bluff View Inn is a great home base for your trip.

Room Tip: Choose the Bryan Room for panoramic views of the Tennesee river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Harmony, Indiana
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to Chattanooga within the year. The first time we stayed downtown at the Hilton Garden Inn. It was fine but typical.
While walking the city the 1st visit, we discovered the art district on the bluff with its European style cluster of buildings, and decided to stay on the cliff this time. Privately owned, the property (an entire block of buildings) consists of 3 historic homes that serve up B&B accommodations, 2 restaurants and a coffee shop, art gallery, chocolate shop, bread bakery, coffee roastery, sculpture garden and more.
We showed up midweek without a reservation. We were graciously shown the rooms available in two different homes. We chose to stay at the historic - okay, they're all historic - Maclellan House which is an 1889 English Tudor. For about $500 including taxes for 2 nights, we had 2 room king accommodation on the 3rd floor, gas fireplace, small balcony overlooking Tennessee River (obstructed by interstate - but still nice) and breakfast (at coffee shop midweek, but served downstairs on weekends). The rooms were comfortable, but dark with few windows. Knowing this, chose as it was quiet and nice for sleeping. The other room options were closer to the restaurant and busier street which is noisier.
The king was a very comfortable sleigh bed. However, no closet or storage for clothes within the room. The bathroom - accessed from the living room - was spacious, had a shower/tub combo, and walk in closet. The closet is a con due to its location - but not a deal breaker. The living room with the fireplace was nicely decorated with antique furnishings & small TV.
Ice and sodas are complimentary and available on the 1st floor reception area. Wifi is also available at no charge. Parking is free. The district is located near the Hunter Museum of American Art, which is worth visiting. Access to the 12 mile river walk is just steps away.
Overall, we recommend staying at the Bluff View Inn. Many other room options are available at lower price points for single queen rooms. We would return.

Room Tip: Rooms are all different, look at pix online to select your favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at the beautiful Maclellan House in the art district on a bluff. We had a corner room with a view of the Tennessee River. We have been to B & B's before, where an old house could be quite noisy, but this was a different experience. The rooms are large and nicely spaced apart, so it was very quiet with a very comfortable bed. The Inn is part of wonderful complex with restaurants, a coffee shop where we had our free breakfast, a chocolate shop and a very large art gallery. We ate at Tony's Pasta Shop & Trattoria both nights, because it was so good! The pasta was fresh, and the bread was reminiscent of Italy. The Hunter Art Museum is just down the block. We planned to only stay one night but booked it immediately after realizing that this was a special place. They say this happens all the time. We will definitely come back!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
394 helpful votes 394 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Upon arrival, we registered at the English Tudor-style house and we were greeted by a lovely inkeeper who brought us to the Thompson House and showed us to the Maclellan room. It was nicely decorated, a bit small, and fairly clean. We wanted to explore the beautiful Bluff View Art District so we situated our luggage and used the bathroom, when we noted a standard toilet seat resting atop an elongated toilet bowl. Needless to say, the seat was a bit awkward to say the least. Not to mention that every plumbing supply house and 'Home Depot' readily stock elongated toilet seats, so NO excuse. Okay, at this point we shrugged our shoulders and chuckled and left the room for our walking adventure. We enjoyed a tasty meal at Tony's followed by delectable desserts and coffee at Rembrandt's and then returned to the room. At this point it was approximately 10:15pm and we were exhausted. The mattress was the most uncomfortable piece of bedding that we've ever experienced before lending to our profoundly unrestful, uncomfortable night's sleep. We weren't surprised with our sore backs, hips, and stiff necks upon awakening from the night of tossing and turning. Truly, if it were earlier in the evening when we retired and we thoroughly inspected the room, we would have requested a different room with acceptable bedding. It is disappointing that this was our experience. We would never have guessed that such a beautiful B & B in the most quaint section of the entire city would have been the worst ending to a wonderful weekend away in Chattannooga. We are also business owners and we really do understand the financial challenges during our current financial climate, though, it is imperative to not only meet the expectations of the patron, but to EXCEED them. In our experience, we feel that the crucial aspects of comforatability were not present here at this establishment. We are confident that if the owners of this establishment were to 'try out' the bedding or had to sleep on it for more than an hour, they surely would not have purchased this bedding. Additionally and important to mention is that the bedding linens were quite old and shabby with rips and freys along with the number '313' written largely on the flat sheet in a black permanent marker. Also, the sink has a very sluggish drain. On a brighter note, the Sunday morning breakfast buffet was nothing short of simply delicious. We are sorry to say that we wouldn't have expected such poor accomodations in this lovely little section of the city.

Room Tip: Test the bedding first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bluff View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluff View Inn

Address: 411 East Second Street, Chattanooga, TN 37403
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluff View Inn is the centerpiece of Chattanooga's Bluff View Art District, a creative haven of cafes, gardens and galleries. Located in one of the city's finest historic areas, the Inn offers elegant overnight accommodations in lovely restored homes dating from the early 1900s. With a convenient in-town location, the Bluff View Inn provides guests with modern luxury in a comfortable setting showcasing heirloom antiques, original art and blufftop views of the Tennessee River. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bluff View Hotel Chattanooga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluff View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.