We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rembrandt's Coffee House

Rembrandt's Coffee House
204 High St, Chattanooga, TN 37403-1102
423-265-5033
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 23 Coffee & Tea in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I go to school in Chattanooga and I had heard about this place so I stopped in one day to check it out. The atmosphere is lovely, the outside patio is just precious and cozy. You must must try the double chocolate scones, I am addicted to them!! The white chocolate frappuchino is good as well! Good study spot too!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    67
    23
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
400 reviews 400 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Good Coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stopped here for breakfast after reading reviews on TA. I ordered a croissant and my husband ordered a breakfast Panini. They must only have one Panini maker, as it took about 15 minutes for him to get his sandwich. The café latte was wonderful and the croissant was very fresh. They have a large counter with pastries, candies and desserts. Nice place to stop for coffee and a snack.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“No management!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have been consistently disappointed with the attitude and service at this coffee shop/restaurant. The cashiers are unfriendly and the service is non existent. We waited 30 minutes for a bagel. It's in a lovely location, so we gave it four tries on different visits to Chattanooga's Bluff View Arts District. Each time it became more obvious that the employees had received no training, and there didn't appear to be any management on site. If your looking for a great little coffee shop in downtown Chattanooga, try Grey Friars Bobbie on Broad St.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fresh roasted coffee and pastries... need I say more?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We visit Chattanooga frequently, and each visit has to include a trip to Rembrandt's. Why? First, we love their coffee. It's freshly roasted right down the street. and their Snickerdoodle and Irish Grogg flavors are delicious. Second, their assortment of pastries is the best around. Cookies, pies, cakes, bars... Yum. I can never decide on one thing... always end up getting two. Third, the atmosphere is warm and inviting. It is tight, but that's part of the charm. We will often bring a deck of cards and just sit for awhile and enjoy the whole vibe. If anything could be improved, it would be the customer service. We are always surprised at the lack of warmth and friendliness of the workers behind the counter. Are they trained not to enter into a converstion... or even smile? I would rate it with 5 stars if that aspect could be improved.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hixson, Tennessee
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great Coffee House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Rembrandt's is Chattanooga's finest coffee house. Not only do they brew a number of their own coffees there, but they make their own chocolates and have wonderful pastries and sandwiches to purchase too. The shop itself is rather small, but their outdoor patio is spectacular! You feel like you're sitting in a slice of old Europe when you're in their courtyard. It's got style and substance. It's also a great place to people watch. Finally, it's in the Bluff View Arts District, so the art museum is within easy walking distance. I strongly recommend Rembrandt's.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rembrandt's Coffee House also viewed

 

Been to Rembrandt's Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rembrandt's Coffee House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.