We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Firebirds Wood Fired Grill

Firebirds Wood Fired Grill
2107 Gunbarrel Road, Chattanooga, TN 37421
+1 423-308-1090
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 661 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Firebirds is a collection of polished casual restaurants offering a refined atmosphere, top-notch service and upscale dining at a modest price. We are known for our authentic, wood-fired entrees infused with bold flavors, fresh herbs & spices. Our restaurants feature a selection of aged steaks hand-cut in the restaurant, fresh seafood, chicken & ribs seared over local hickory, oak or pecan wood.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant opened recently. I certainly enjoyed my visit. The food was very good and the service was tops. The refined casual atmosphere was very nice. I have many friends who visited and rave about.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    24
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The restaurant is beautiful but that is where good stops. The food was mediocre. Dont mind paying for goodfood but it was a waste of money. such a same for such a nice place

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firebirdsgrill, Manager at Firebirds Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our new Chattanooga location. We are disappointed you did not experience the food quality we aim to deliver. Firebirds was founded on the highest of standards and when we fail to exceed the expectations of our guests, it is imperative that we take corrective action. We will be sharing your review with our management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“maybe i missed something....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

i saw the other great reviews, decided to check it out. very small crowd at 7 pm..uh oh. server was clueless. most questions were met with a blank stare. everyones meal came out wrong. our server disappeared and then new clueless servers showed up. we kept getting other tables foods all night long? so strange. food was ok once the order was right. it wasnt great for sure. i certainly dont get the fuss, this place is a pass for me.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firebirdsgrill, Manager at Firebirds Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our new Chattanooga location. The situation that you are describing does not reflect the quality of our service standards, and we want to thank you for bringing it to our attention. Firebirds was founded on the highest of standards and when we fail to exceed the expectations of our guests, it is imperative that we take corrective action. We will be sharing your review with our management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cool New Restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Impressive for being open for only 3 weeks! Very contemporary décor. Cool wall of wine (storage). Very good menu. The Firebird BLT salad was very fresh. Entrees (Salmon and steaks) were good too. Parmesan mashed potatoes and the Caesar salad were a bit salty. Love the half price wine on Monday! Lots of attention to our table: 4 people participated in our dining experience and were all very friendly. Our primary server was attentive but obviously still learning. Entrees were brought to the table while we were still enjoying our salads. And the server tried to take my money before I had signed the credit card receipt. I would go back. Would like to hang out in the bar for an evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Diarrhea for the last four days...food poisoning?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I ate here at this new restaurant, basically just another J Alexander's, and have not left the 20 foot perimeter of my toilet area for the last 4 days. Was it my Steak Au Poivre that looked as though it sat in the out window wayyyyyy too long, or was it my bar glass that was washed in a bar sink in dirty cold water that looked as though the last time it was changed was the day of their opening. My guts have been on fire ever since I dined here, and that was after waiting 45 minutes for a medium rare steak!!! When I called and talked to the GM, Scott, he blew me off and told me good luck proving it was they who had gotten me sick. Yeah, the place looks nice, but so does an old hooker
sporting a ton of makeup. Save yourself from a week off spent in the crapper and just stick to good old J Alexander's; you'll thank me in the long run. I can't believe I waited almost 45 minutes to make myself sick for almost a week!!! $11 drink specials, $5 domestic bottles, and a bout of dissentary to boot, GREAT PLACE!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firebirdsgrill, Manager at Firebirds Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We are sorry to hear you fell ill so quickly after dining with us and that you were disappointed with how our manager handled your complaint . We take food safety and guest service very seriously and would like to investigate this issue and assess what could have caused your sickness. We'll be contacting you shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firebirds Wood Fired Grill also viewed

 

Been to Firebirds Wood Fired Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firebirds Wood Fired Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.