We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice carousel onsite!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chattanooga Zoo

Chattanooga Zoo
301 North Holtzclaw Avenue, Warner Park, Chattanooga, TN 37404
423-697-1322
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 137 things to do in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Imagine a zoo that's specially designed to bring the animals up close to you. Imagine a zoo where you have time to notice the subtleties of animal behavior, instead of being pushed along by an impatient crowd. Imagine an exciting and diverse zoo that's still easy to navigate with strollers...or little legs. That's the new Chattanooga Zoo!
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice carousel onsite!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We went here while on a short overnight trip to Chattanooga. Upon arrival we decided that it was just too cold to be outside at the zoo. However, our kids were delighted to find that we could access the indoor carousel without paying admission to the zoo. We paid $3 for an unlimited use band for each. They had a blast riding one animal, then another and another. We were there for about 30 minutes as they rode. It was money well spent.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    140
    51
    18
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

And they don't charge a lot. it's a small town zoo but they're trying real hard. It took us about 30-40 minutes and that was seeing some animals twice. Hardly any of the animals were up and about and unless you go to the petting zoo (not a fan), you're our of things to do. It's good to go though, cheap to get in and you'd hate to see it go away.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Easy Day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Although it is a smaller zoo, our son loves the size of the area. He can easily make it all the way around without getting tired and you can get really close to some of the animals without being in harms way. The exhibits are nice and the surroundings are locally inspired and interesting. Very easy to get to from the interstate or downtown.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very small but very relaxing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was a pleasant surprise. This is a small but satisfying place to visit. We had a nice time and enjoyed the short walk. For those who are worried about walking longer distances, no problem. You will enjoy this without much problem.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“View the animals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have been to Zoo's all over the country and was so surprised at the great variety of animals and setting in this small but first class Zoo.It is just the right size to entertain but not wear out the children. They love going several times a year and have never been bored or disappointed. A great place for kids AND grandparents.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chattanooga Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Chattanooga Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chattanooga Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.