We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find in Chattanooga!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kitchen at Union Square

Kitchen at Union Square
2 Union Square, Suite 39, Chattanooga, TN 37402
423-634-9172
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 707 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great find in Chattanooga!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My husband and I are here a couple of weeks ago and enjoyed the food so much we came back the next weekend and brought friends. Everything we have tried so far has been excellent! The chef is a delight and really loves sharing his passion for great food. This restaurant partners with the Culinary School at VA College so there may be a few hiccups in service due to student staffing. The hamburger is one of the best in town, the short rib made me wish I knew how to recreate the flavor and the salmon dip with house made chips have all been excellent! Save room for dessert because they are heavenly! So excited to try out Sunday brunch in the future! We are looking forward to many more wonderful meals and introducing this gem to more friends!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food...still working out kinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This must be a new restaurant in Chattanooga. My husband and I really enjoyed our dinner here on Saturday, however we were there for a long time, and there were only 3 other tables with diners... The service was very apologetic to our wait, and we were given champagne cocktails to start, because the bottle of wine we ordered had not been chilled. We started with the roasted red pepper hummus plate, which was really nice. I had the spinach salad, which had great flavor, but a tad too much dressing. The shrimp and grits were great, but served in a small bowl, so it was difficult to cut them with a knife. My husband had the trout which was perfect. We really enjoyed the bread pudding we shared for dessert. Give this place a chance, because the food was excellent.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Tennessee
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“OK, but not wow...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My hamburger was overcooked, but saved only.by the good quality of the meat. We did enjoy the lack of a large noisy crowd.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Mother's Day Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

11 of our family ate here Mother's Day. We couldn't get reservations until 1:30, but we were seated immediately. They were out of the crap omelet, which I had hoped to order, but the shrimp and grits were wonderful. Will go back for sure.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food but still developing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Had a good lunch meal at the Kitchen at Union Square. The soup, salad and appetizer were memorable. Seared Ahi Tuna was fresh and visually pleasing. Only drawback was the atmosphere and location. The restaurant is located downstairs and could use better signage. The food helps it rise above.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kitchen at Union Square also viewed

 
Chattanooga, TN
 

Been to Kitchen at Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kitchen at Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.