We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Place Restaurant - CLOSED

Country Place Restaurant
7320 Shallowford Rd, Chattanooga, TN 37421
(423) 855-1392
Menu
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Chattanooga, TN
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Closed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This restaurant had a great location, but did not seem to be open a lot. The owners sold out and it is supposed to be reopened as another restaurant, but it is still closed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    3
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newnan
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Closed April 2013”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Restaurant closed for good April 2013. Property purchased by a motel chain, Had been incurrent location 31 years

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Southern Cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The restaurant offers a wide-variety of options and I have to say, my two meals here were awesome. I would recommend the fried green tomatoes --- my first time eating them and they were delicious. The breakfast menu is great and the staff here are extremely friendly, courteous, and welcoming. The name of the restaurant describes it perfectly --- good, down-home cooking that shouldn't be missed. Breakfast all day as well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“lots of food, but quality is the problem”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our 1st time eating here. It has a nice homey casual atmosphere. You get plenty to eat with your order but quality is an issue. My wife had baby carrots as a side & they looked like they had been stewing for 3 days, & they tasted like it as well. She also had the beef tips & couldn't eat a number of them, couldn't even get the steak knife through 1 of them. I had the roast beef. No complaints on it, 3 large slices about 1/4" thick. Their prices are very reasonable. If my wife's meal had been as good as mine i would have rated them a 5 instead of a 3.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Affordable Catering - Rehearsal Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We arranged for Country Place to cater our son and daughter-in-law’s rehearsal dinner at a hotel nearby.

The manager was friendly, helpful, and polite in all of our communications with him. The food was delivered on time, and it was packaged well so that it stayed warm until we were ready to eat. The portions were generous, and everything tasted delicious. My favorite items were the grilled chicken, mashed potatoes and gravy, and macaroni and cheese. The green bean casserole was not quite what I am used to, as it was made with wide, flat green beans, but it was OK. Country Place provided disposable serving utensils, which was a big help.

The catering menu is available on the Country Place website, making it easy to see all of the menu options and prices. The prices are very reasonable and the food is delicious. I would definitely eat at this restaurant the next time I get the chance.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Country Place Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Place Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.