We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stromboli for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Street Deli

River Street Deli
151 River St, Chattanooga, TN 37405-4007
423-756-3354
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 707 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Price range: $8 - $8
Cuisines: American, Diner, Delicatessen, Contemporary
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Stromboli for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

given this suggestion at the Choo Choo front desk. it is underneath the Blue Sky shop as you come off the bridge. it is one of those 'hole in the wall' places that is a hit. nothing fancy, but the stromboli was really good. They let you sample this it you are not familiar with it (like us). large enough to split. my husband had the tomato soup and it was very good.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    11
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“"Stromboli, Stromboli, Stromboli, But what a Muffaletta.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

What a Gem of a hole in the wall. We were driving past Chattanooga last week and my Wife suggested lunch and to check out Travel Advisor for a Deli. We decided on River Street Deli based on the reviews and boy oh boy we were not disappointed. It was around 1:20 and there was a line at the Ordering Counter. It moved Quickly and Every Single person ordered Stromboli. We were looking over the menu and the owner (a real New York Character) gave us a sample of the Stromboli. It was excellent. We decided on the Stromboli and to mix things up I ordered the Muffaletta. WOW, I had lived on the gulf coast for 20 years and had never ever tasted a Muffaletta that was so good. My wife agreed and she never touches anything with Olives. She is a Stromboli fan but in this case said the Muffaletta was better. A Green Olive and Artichoke Tapenade on top of Genoa-Salami, Pastrami, Mortadella, Cappricolla Ham and Swiss and Provolone Cheese. I rated this restaurant excellent solely on the taste of the two sandwiches and the character of the owner. It is on the river across the bridge from downtown Chattanooga and is in a nice little plaza adjacent to a big River Front Park. Parking is metered but reasonable. It is worth the stop. WOW

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Stromboli made in heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This sandwich is usually the special on Mondays, but I always ask for it other days just to be sure. It is so delicious- I try not to eat the entire sandwich, but I can rarely resist. If the Stromboli is not available, I order the 'chattagooey' with ham. This sandwich is huge, so I can usually split it with my kids. If you haven't tried River Street Deli, you are missing out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“You can take a New Yorker out of the Bronx, but you can't take the Bronx out of a New Yorker!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

River Street Deli is as authentic as it gets. Period. Any New Yorker knows that the answer to the question "how you doing" is not "well I'm okay or fine thank you." The answer to the question "how you doing" is simply repeating the phrase -- as in "how YOU doooo-in?" The food is great and the price is right so come on down!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best deli in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

River Street Deli has the best sandwiches in town. They are authentic New York style and different from the typical deli sandwiches found at other local spots. They also have great soups and their chef salad with "the works" is the best salad I've ever
had. Try it with the homemade honey lemon vinaigrette. Delicious!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Street Deli also viewed

 

Been to River Street Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Street Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.