We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. John's Restaurant

St. John's Restaurant
1278 Market St, Chattanooga, TN 37402
(423) 266-4400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
St. John's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 707 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 13th St
Transit: Chattanooga's complimentary electric shuttle has a stop at the St. John's building.
Description: Chattanooga's most acclaimed restaurant, St. John's Restaurant serves inventive Regional American cuisine from Chef Daniel Lindley in a elegant, historic setting. St. John's superb staff will provide you with a warm and remarkable dining experience and delight you with an extensive and eclectic selection of wines.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“excellant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Always an adventure in dining. Food is well prepared and nicely displayed. Service was good, just attentive enough for enjoyment of the dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    31
    14
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perhaps the Best Fine Dinning in Chattanooga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

St Johns is a very special restaurant. We go there for special occasions anniversaries birthdays Exedra. The food is amazing and the wait staff are very professional. I would say the best fine dining experience in Chattanooga.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great place to meet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have eaten at St John's a number of times and we enjoy the atmosphere, wine and food.
They always have great specials for dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fine dining in Chattanooga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Excellent service and food, very extensive wine list. I had the "Broken Arrow Ranch axis venison, my wife had the Maple leaf Farms duck. The menu changes frequently so that is what we chose.
If you arrive early enough you can get close free parking in the St. John's parking lot which is located on the North side of the building, across Market street in the Firestone Tire parking lot or curbside in front of the restaurant. There is a pay lot next door for $3.00US. No valet parking here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful ambiance! Great food! Fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

My boyfriend and I went there for Valentines day. The host and hostesses were extremely, extremely professional and organized! The wait staff was efficient, polite and professional.

We had a three course meal and every single thing I ate from appetizer from desert was scrumptious! I have absolutely nothing negative to say about this experience start to finish!!!!

Would definitely return!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. John's Restaurant also viewed

 
Chattanooga, TN
 

Been to St. John's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. John's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.