We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ankars Hoagies on Brainerd Road” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ankar's Downtown

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ankar's Downtown
510 Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402
(423) 266-0017
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #265 of 709 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Ankars Hoagies on Brainerd Road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Excellent Hoagies, Gyros, falafel, and Greek Salads!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Could have been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I was expecting alot more flavor and substance on the gyro. I thought that would be a safe pick. It wasn't very impressive, especially for the price. The cucumber sauce however was great. Beef up your lamb a little more! I wish i would have picked something else.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch - don't miss the falafel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Good lunch stop - Middle Eastern food is great. Typically quick in and out. Nice people that run the place.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cheep eats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011 via mobile

Most expensive menu item is $ 5.70. So I don't know what the previous reviewer is talking about. I suppose if were from Thailand.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ankars' Falafel's are great. Steak in a pita is good too (with ranch or horseradish)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

I've eaten here many times growing up. As a kid I liked the onion rings and the french fries and the pickle. I don't know why I remember the pickle so much. Anyway, now-a-days I like the Falafel pita with extra oil on the side and an order of hummus. This is great food at a good price. I would caution against going to the other locations though. The only Ankars worth going to is the one near Sir Gooney's right behind India Mahal. The one in Hixson isn't worth the money and the food isn't anywhere near as good as the food at the East Brainerd location. The price is average.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ankar's Downtown also viewed

 

Been to Ankar's Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ankar's Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.