We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of My Favorites!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
205 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402
423-266-5564
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 694 restaurants in Chattanooga
Price range: $14 - $25
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Chattanooga, TN
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“One of My Favorites!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My family LOVES to go to Mellow Mushroom in downtown Chattanooga! My favorite is the Holy Shitake Mushroom Pizza. It has carmelized onions and a garlicy sauce. SOOOOO delicious! If you are more traditional, ask for some Esperanza Sauce on the side to dip your crust in. It is rally tangy and delicious. The prices are a little high, but the crust is so dense that a little goes a long way.

We love to go there as part of going to the Aquarium. You can park in the lot directly across from the riverboat for just $1 for 2 hours. We go to dinner and then let the kids play in the fountains and stream on the Aquarium plaza. Such a great family time!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boomer O, Public Relations Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, Becky. We are so glad to hear that you and your family are frequent visitors at our Chattanooga Mellow Mushroom. We aim to create a unique environment in our restaurants for people of all ages, while providing delicious and flavorful food at the same time. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Stay Mellow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    98
    81
    32
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florence
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Food, But Lots of Noise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We visited the Chattanooga location close to Hamilton Place Mall on a Saturday evening. We were promptly seated, menu's received and drink orders taken. The waitress brought our drinks and had included lots of extra lemon with my iced tea a I requested. This started things off well.
We ordered a steak and cheese calzone and a cheese calzone. It took about 20 minutes to get our meal, but once received it was very good.

This was my first visit to the Mellow Mushroom, but my wife had been a couple of times before. I really didn't know what to expect but was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the calzone.

The only downside to the restaurant is the noise level and this it because of the building design with no acoustical absorption materials in the ceiling, and, because there were numerous TV's all on different stations.

The Mellow Mushroom is a good place to bring the family and let the kid talk a lot, but not the place to bring a date for a romantic dinner and quite talk.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boomer O, Public Relations Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for the review, David. At Mellow Mushroom we strive to provide a fun, upbeat atmosphere while simultaneously creating flavorful and unique food from the highest quality ingredients. We are happy to hear that your first visit to Mellow Mushroom was a good one. We will most certainly look into measures that will reduce the noise within the restaurant. Next time we highly recommend trying one of our signature pizzas! Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gourmet pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Very trendy with gourmet pizza's. we had steak mushroom artichoke hearts and cheese pizza- yummy. We were told the order would take 25 minutes so we ordered a spinach dip- good but had better overall the different variety of beers and service was great

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Declining quality of pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I always enjoyed Mellow Mushroom and they make a very good crust but the "quality" is inconsistent and I am noticing the "cheapness" factor creeping in. When you pay $25.00 for a pizza you expect to get an adequate amount of toppings on the pizza and also for cheese to cover most of it. Unfortunately, they are scrimping on toppings, (the more toppings you have the less of each topping). Individual slices may have very little if any of each topping. The last one we had there were portions in the middle of the pizza that had no cheese at all. Part of it is speed but I see it as a cost-saving practice as well. I compared MM's pizza to one I recently had at Jet's in Chattanooga, and MM's did not compare well. MM does have good salads and some innovative subs too. I would rate them 5 on that. Finally padded their wooden seats too. A lot more comfortable! But PIZZA is what you do. I'll give them another chance.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boomer O, Public Relations Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that the quality of our pizza is not up to par. One of our main goals is provide flavorful pizza and food that is made from the freshest, highest quality ingredients. Mellow Mushroom pizza is unique and should not be able to be compared to anywhere else. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant seating and other menu items. We look forward to seeing you again and hope that your next visit is a great one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“About a zillion brew on tap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great pizza, great service, what more can you say? A short walk from many of the area's attractions including the Aquarium, Chattanooga Lookouts minor league ball team. Very close to the Courtyard Marriott and the Chestnut Street Marriott Residence Inn.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mellow Mushroom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.