We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Catfish House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Riverside Catfish House
18039 Highway 41, Chattanooga, TN 37419-2626
423-821-9214
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #255 of 709 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Price range: $0 - $12
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing view and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

I highly recommend The Catfish House-a lot of for for the price and super nice and helpful wait staff

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    11
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great View - Food Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We loved the view the service was very good. But the food wasn't so good. I had catfish filet's and chicken tenders, the tenders were pre package, the catfish tasted like it has been fried and reheated in the microwave. It was tough and chewy, I ate only the chicken. My husband had the fingerlings, they were fried and then reheated in the microwave. Home cake is a cake mix with home made frosting.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranger, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food, but it was ridiculously cold”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The hushpuppies were great, the catfish was ok, but I felt like I was in a freezer! I had on bluejeans and a long sleeve jacket, but I was still cold. All the booths are over vents that can't be turned off...we usually eat slowly and enjoy the restaurant, but I ate quickly and left!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very tasty and friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Nothing fancy. Just a riverside fish house. Saw the crowded lot on Sunday afternoon while passing through and made a U-turn. Catfish filets were served hot with slaw and hush puppies and potato choice. Was so full I took a piece of homemade buttermilk pie for later. It and my wife's Devil's Food cake were also good. The sweet tea was good as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We were out for a drive with friends and decided to give this a try. As we drove up it is a quaint little place on the river. We were pleased when we walked in and saw it was bigger than the outside appeared. It was also clean and neat. The special for the day was Grouper for $11.00. 3 people got the Grouper and I had the catfish fillets. For $11.50 you got a serving or for $14.95 you could get all you can eat. I opted for the single portion and when it was brought out, I had three big fillets. I ate two and brought one home for a fish sandwich the next day. More than enough. The friends who got the Grouper got two large fillets and all said it was delicious. We will come back. We sat at a window seat overlooking the river and say a tug and barge go by. We would like to come in the summer and see more boats. The menu had mainly fried fish, shrimp and chicken tender items, but it did have a few salads and a few other types of sandwiches. I would definitely recommended the catfish, which they have whole, with bones or without, the fillet. I saw many orders with the whole catfish, with bones.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverside Catfish House also viewed

 
Chattanooga, TN
 

Been to Riverside Catfish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Catfish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.