We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAS!!!!! YUMMY!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bea's Restaurant

Bea's Restaurant
4500 Dodds Ave, Chattanooga, TN 37407-3326
423-867-3618
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 707 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Price range: $0 - $6
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“BEAS!!!!! YUMMY!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Best chicken in america! If you dont beleave me you can buy the shirt from them that says so!!! They do have good chicken and veggies! Lazy susans should be the norm at buffets I mean who wants to get up! Service depends on whos working and how busy but never horrible. You HAVE to come here because it IS chattanooga! To the people who said it was in a bad area of town. It is not the owrst area but remember the best food in anyplace in the world is never ever located in the main areas!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    34
    15
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tullahoma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I have been wanting to dine here for several years after seeing a TV piece on this restaurant. We were passing through so decided to try it and had my aunt ( a long time resident) to join us.

Initial Impression:
Not located it the best area of Chattanooga. My wife commented..."Is this it!" as we arrived Person seating us acted like he was doing us a favor. Most turn tables were covered by a plastic dome...Not ours. Already sitting there on the turn table was cold slaw and potato salad as we arrived. Anyone's guess how long. We asked for fresh and did get it.

Food available:

Fried Chicken OK but not great. Needed seasonings. I added hot sauce
Ribs. Did not try. They looked horrible.
Pulled Pork. Very tasty, but dry. Needed sauce. None on the table. Again added hot sauce

Nibblet Corn. Could have came out of a can
Pinto Beans. Very good
Creamed Potatoes Looked gross. Did not try. Do not care for
Potato Salad Very good
Cold Slaw Did not try
Peach Cobbler Tasty
Nothing green. No green beans, Okra or any kind of greens
Chow Chow. Outstanding. Asked for more and got a bowl full.

Final impressions. Again just Ok. Did not mind the group setting. A couple of very nice your guys sit across from us and they were interesting to talk with. Service was quick and food was kept replenished. Server, Seater and cashier were efficient, but not very friendly. A bit pricey for lunch. $10.99 ea for senior lunch. We will not be back.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Chattanooga favorite!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

It's just a fun place to go to eat, period. Good country food and nice employees. You gotta go at least once while you're in Chattanooga.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“This is worth seeking just to see a one of a kind place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

I used to go to Bea's once a month on Sunday after church. The Lazy Susan style dining with strangers makes Bea's one of a kind and never to be duplicated (mainly because the health department won't allow it). If you like Fried Chicken, go here. The rest is just good, old fashioned food. Atmosphere, atmosphere, atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Country Homestyle Cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

Bea's is the most amazing place ever. If you dont like sitting with complete strangers eitherbring 7 or 8 people with you or dont go. But anyway they have amazing food my favorite is the dessert and bbq...

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bea's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bea's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bea's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.