We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a fun evening out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Station House Restaurant

Station House Restaurant
1400 Market St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4429
423-266-5000
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 707 Restaurants in Chattanooga
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Always a fun evening out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I used to live in Chattanooga and this was one of my favorite places to eat. My steak was okay this particular time. Usually there it is great so a little let down. Salad bar is fantastic. Everything is always fresh and they keep it well stocked. The entertainment is lots of fun. Quality singing by the wait staff and the house band is also good. A nice mix of music. Just a fun night out for almsot any occassion. Kids will really enjoy themselves but it definitely is not a "Kiddie Place" like the novelty pizza places. Even has romantic lighting so great for a first date. Price is not outrageous for what is provided

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    68
    26
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norcross, Georgia, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Why lie? We loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I'm not going to tell you this is "fun for the whole family." Your children will like the food, but may be bored by the show. Your teenagers will pretend to not like the food but will scarf down every morsel of it, and they will absolutely hate the show. (Proof: we were there on Prom Night. The teenagers ate dinner in their tuxes and gowns, then promptly left.)

The food really is excellent, from the rolls through the salad bar to the entrees and on through to the dessert. Everything was delicious and of the highest quality. Well --- the salad bar only had iceberg lettuce, no romaine. Seriously, that's the only criticism i can come up with regarding the food. It was that good. My apple martini was a little too sweet, but still very refreshing. And the bill came in at around $60 for two. That's an astounding value.

The singing waitstaff show -- it's for those over 40. If you're 23 or 32, don't bother. But if (like me) you're in the age group for whom the show is intended, you'll have a great evening. I thought i understood what singing waiters were? Something like, four people standing in the middle of the restaurant belting out Broadway stuff? Maybe that's not how it's done. In any case, that's not how it's done at the Station House. This place has an actual house band, and your waiter/waitress goes up onto a real stage and sings into a real microphone. Mostly Baby Boomer standards (aka wedding reception standards): I Will Survive, Jailhouse Rock, and Go Your Own Way, among others. Then, your waiter/waitress walks off the stage and comes down to your table to take your order, and you get to bask in the glow of a cheap Celebrity Encounter: "Wow, one of The Singers is talking to US, and she's ASKING US IF WE WANT CHEESECAKE..."

So again: if you're young and hip and cool, don't waste your Saturday night here. But if you're my age, or if you're young and cool and you want someone to babysit Mom or Uncle Pete while you hit the club, this is your place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Station House Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Recommended when we checked into the hotel. Very family friendly. Kids meal includes the salad bar. My prime rib was delicious and over an inch thick. My grandson enjoyed himself. The singing staff was very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbeville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“GREAT food & entertainment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We went to The Chattanooga Choo Choo's The Station House on a very busy Saturday evening, but with reservations, we walked right in which was very nice. The food is great... all entrees include an all you can eat shrimp & salad bar, which is fabulous! I ordered the ribeye well done and was worried it would be like shoe leather, but it was delicious & perfectly done, and still juicy! My friends ordered prime rib, chicken marsala, bourbon chicken, and salmon... everyone said theirs was cooked just right! The entertainment is amazing. You basically pay for food plus, a concert with an entertainment fee added to your bill. The waiters and waitresses are all very talented, and worth the price. This place is a blast!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This place is a blast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family loved the show while eating, and to my surprise it was very family friendly with lots of little kids dancing while going up to the salad bar (including ours!)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Station House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Station House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Station House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.