We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food - Great Atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Big River Grille & Brewing

Big River Grille & Brewing
222 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-1009
423-267-2739
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 707 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Punta Gorda
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Food - Great Atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were with a good sized groups and the service was excellent. The food is very good with a wide selection. Liked the atmosphere - an old maintenance shop redone with thought and taste. Try their inhouse brew sampler.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    325
    107
    33
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great staff, convenient location, good brews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was our second stop at this location; both before or after visits to the aquarium. The location is convenient and has outdoor seating that is great for a fall day.

The beer here has always been good, as has the food. For our last visit the standout was actually the staff- service was wonderful and our waitress even chatted with us about the rock-climbing wall going up across the street.

Easy recommendation for this place for a great lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Place in Downtown Chattanooga!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I was recently travelling with friends and we spent an evening in Downtown Chattanooga. First let me say, the downtown area is great. It was a great area to walk around and there is a lot to see and do in downtown Chattanooga.

The Big River Grille is right in the middle of a very nice area of downtown. We went on a Friday evening about 6:30 PM. We had no trouble parking. The atmosphere was great. It is in what looks like an old downtown warehouse. It is a large place and is neatly decorated. We only waited a few minutes for a booth for four people.

Our waitress arrived promptly and was very friendly. The service was good. The macro-brews they make on site (about 6-7 to choose from) were outstanding. Excellent IPA. The food was very good. We got a fish taco appetizer that was delicious, and chips and con queso dip that was good. My wife and I split Shrimp & Grits and it was good and a nice portion. Our friend's split a fried fish dinner and they said it was very good.

The Big River Grille is a neat place with good food and beer in a fun downtown environment!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Shrimp and Grits and a Mojito”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I'm not from the South, but everyone down there knew what Shrimp and Grits was. Thought I'd give it a try. It was delicious! The grits were not the grits I've had. I don't even like grits. These were smooth and creamy and cheesy. Top that was a decent amount of shrimp, bacon and mushrooms, and just a dash of hot sauce! Yummy! It went perfectly with my Mojito which was sweet and refreshing. Great combination.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheatfield, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“good atmosphere, food and beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

nice large menu. Chicken parm was very good. Service was good. Many micro brews to choose from. Right in the heart of downtown Chattanooga. A very nice part of the city.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big River Grille & Brewing also viewed

 

Been to Big River Grille & Brewing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big River Grille & Brewing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.