We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Varied menu and good beer selection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big River Grille & Brewing

Big River Grille & Brewing
222 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-1009
423-267-2739
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 661 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Varied menu and good beer selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Despite endless restaurant hunting every night of our 4 day visit to Chattanooga we ended up here every night- It was always busy with a good atmosphere. It is a casual, easy-going dining experience.
The menu selection was varied, we tried various pasta dishes and salads over the course of our visits. All were very good in quality, taste and huge in size.
Service was attentive despite being slower at very busy times-not a problem as we all love to people watch and had no time restraints.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    359
    131
    37
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Statesboro, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stopped in on Christmas Day. Most other restaurants in town were closed, so we decided to try Big River. There was a 30 minute wait and we helped ourselves to a drink at the bar. After waiting we were seated in a booth. Used a coupon for a free jalapeno spinach dip with no issues. Our server (Max) was very helpful and delivered an excellent experience. For entrees, I ordered the Cajun Chicken Pasta and my wife ordered the Filet (medium) & Stuffed Shrimp. When the food arrived my wife cut into one of her filets and it was purple. Within seconds, Max was back to check on our food. He immediately took the steak back to heat it. When it arrived, Max was there to check to make sure it was cooked "Medium". It was a bit rare, but no big deal! We don't mind a bit under and we told Max this and that it was not an issue. The flavor of the filet was amazing! All of our food was very good. At the end of our meal Max informed us that he was removing my wife's entree from our bill. This was completely unexpected and although I insisted on paying, Max refused. Wonderful customer service experience!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Big River Grille for Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We joined some friends for lunch at Big River Grille and got seated right away (It was a beautiful day so we sat outside on their patio). The service and the food was good but it seemed to take a while for the food to be served for lunch. We work less than 10 minutes from Big River Grille at the Hamilton Place Mall but we never seem to be able to get out of there in less than a hour during lunch. We would come back more often if the kitchen was a little faster during lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Fresh brews good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Nice to have a brew pub that knows how to get a fresh tap going we sat at the bar and had great service. The appetizer plate was too much for two and rather typical but hot and served quickly. Would return.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good Beer, Decent Food, Hard to Enjoy Company”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

If you're here for food and drink, you'll enjoy yourself.

Be warned, though, this place gets LOUD. Not because of music, but the guests themselves. You'll have to shout to be heard across the table if it's a busy night. Not sure what it is about the place, but I couldn't hear myself think.

Don't get me wrong. The beer is good and so's the food. Would go again on a slow night.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big River Grille & Brewing also viewed

 

Been to Big River Grille & Brewing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big River Grille & Brewing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.