We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best japanese/ thai in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rice Plate

Rice Plate
4762 Highway 58 # 136, Chattanooga, TN
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 707 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
chattanooga
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“best japanese/ thai in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Hwy 58's best kept secret. The food is delicious and priced very reasonably. Just wonderful! I would recommend you try it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    1
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nothing Short Of An A+ Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The owner, Dao, is a good friend of mine, and when I first learned she had a restaurant over a year ago, I was there to show my support at her grand opening. I didn't know what to expect, but Rice Plate became an instant hit with me and my wife. Since that time, whenever I have the opportunity to eat there I do not hesitate. Dao has a wonderful spirit; she along with her family and staff is what sets the tone in this gem on Hwy 58. Her father is the chef and believe me when I say this, he is a master at his craft. Meals are always stunning... temps, seasoning, plating... top notch! The Pad See Ew, Red Curry, Green Curry, Hibachi, Basil Rolls, Thai Soup, and Sweet Mango Rice are MUST haves!!! Quality standards in all aspects of this restaurant are noticeably high and are carried out well. Next time you're out for lunch or dinner, swing by Rice Plate on Hwy 58. You'll instantly become a fan and always be welcomed as if you were family. To Dao, her family and staff: Thanks for always providing a superior culinary experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I drove by at lunch and decided to stop in. The restaurant is small but quaint. It is clean with soft music playing. It is decorated in traditional Asian styling and is nicer than the otherwise dated shopping center would suggest.

The food was good - I had the hibachi chicken. And it came with veggies and a salad for $5.99 (lunch special). So, the value was great. The waitress was very attentive without being intrusive.

I will definitely be back for the service, food, and value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stopped by with my girlfriend after reading the good reviews on Trip Adviser, I was not disappointed, the place is a jewel. The staff was friendly and knowledgable about the Thai food, the service was great, and the dishes were very tasty, I will be back and will recommend this place to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Excellent Asian Selections”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This very nice restaurant is tucked away in an old strip of businesses on Highway 58 just north of Highway 153. It is next door to United Grocers, which would be the best landmark when locating this very good restaurant.
The outside of the facility is deceiving, because upon entering the restaurant, you find really nice decor and clean surroundings. The wait staff is very inviting and hospitable.
The menu selections will please those seeking Thai, Japanese, and Chinese. Dishes are cooked to order and portions are generous.
I had Rangoons as an appetizer and Pad Thai Seafood with a side of Spring Rolls. These selections were perfectly prepared and absolutely delicious.
There were eight in our party, four adults and four children. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals and want to return soon.
This is definitely a great place to try out if you like Asian Fare. And,,, prices are very reasonable !

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rice Plate also viewed

 

Been to Rice Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rice Plate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.