We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice newish hotel, but expensive for Chattanooga” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Riverfront Parkway, Chattanooga, TN 37402   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice newish hotel, but expensive for Chattanooga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

A nice new hotel that was extremely clean and well maintained. Nicely done contemporary decor. Good location on the riverfront and only 10 minute walk to Aquarium and downtown attractions. Very small hotel pool and hot tub, small gym. Hotel did not seem to enforce the prohibition of glass in the pool/spa area and many guests were drinking wine in the pool, hot tub and surrounding areas which can be very dangerous. Hotel was full over a rainy July 4th weekend. WiFi worked well and was free. Hotel charges $8 per day for parking in city controlled parking lots. Our only complaint is that this hotel seems very expensive for Chattanooga, TN.

Room Tip: Go for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    124
    25
    6
    5
See reviews for
186
144
16
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here over the 4th of July weekend with my husband, after reading great reviews on TripAdvisor. I am not sure if this was a one-time issue, but unfortunately things did not meet our expectations.

Pros:
The hotel is new and the furnishings are modern and give the room a light and airy feel. We booked a river front view room and our window was overlooking the river, very nice! The shower is amazing. The internet access (wireless) in the room is free. They also have free hot breakfast, an indoor pool, and a gym. The rooms also has a small fridge and a microwave.

Cons:
On our first night there, we were getting ready for bed when we noticed stains on the duvet (the comforter)....(see photos). These were clearly fecal and blood stains all over. We called the front desk and they sent up a maintenance guy right away who brought us fresh bedding. But seeing these stains really made me think of what else that was dirty that we couldn't see. It was absolutely disgusting and unacceptable.

The following morning we went down to for breakfast. There were a ton of people there with kids who were running around frantically. The bar was literally the length of a six foot table; a few items were visible from there like eggs and cereals. I saw one lady making her own pancakes...pouring the batter on to a griddle...what???? There were literally five tables in the lobby and no place to sit down. Some people sat on the sofas and armchairs hovering over their food, others took the food in a container or a napkin and were taking it up to eat it in their room! What kind of a breakfast buffet is this??? Clearly a free one. We turned around and drove 10 minutes to a local IHOP for breakfast instead.

While the room was comfortable, and the AC is really quiet, which I appreciated it, the design of the bathroom is impractical. The area around the sink is so narrow; I could barely my make up bag on it. Also, the bathroom has a sliding door that doesn't have a lock on it, so if you are travelling with kids who might constantly open and close the door, keep that in mind if you are in there.

But one of the biggest issues we had was the noise coming from other rooms. The walls are paper thin. We were on the 4th floor, and there was another floor above us, and not only we can hear every single word people said, but we can also hear someone pee and flush!!!!! Gives you the impression as if the person is right there next to you. You would think that the rooms would have more sound-proof walls, because the building is new, but that’s not the case here. So if you don't mind the noise, stay here, and if you don't mind the stained bed covers, stay here, otherwise, I'd find another place to spend my hard-earned money at.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights while visiting Chattanooga. It is very close to downtown (within walking distance) and very nice and clean inside. They also offer a great continental breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Was extremely impressed by this hotel. Great location, with a nice walk to the pedestrian bridge and over to Coolidge Park for dinner and site-seeing. The river walk was great, took lots of pictures.

The hotel was very clean, very nicely decorated and the room was great - perfect with a king bed and separate seating area and fridge. Would be great for families b/c of the pull out couch. Bathroom was very large and nice as well. Within an hour of being there, we had a message asking if we had everything we needed, and the staff at the desk couldn't possibly be nicer. Great breakfast in the morning of an assortment of things, and all staff helped keep it clean and clear - even managers. The lobby has a very nice selection of food items you can charge to your room, even microwave dinners and such. Great touch and could see this as a great place to stay for business as well.

The patio outside was very nice to sit and get caught up on the computer - nice fire pit and sitting area by the river.

I was very impressed and would choose this hotel and chain again for sure!

Room Tip: We didn't get a balcony with our room, but I suggest doing it - would have loved to sit and see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was a great place. We are a family of five and were able to stay in one room because of the pull out sofa. The staff members were very helpful!!! The breakfast was awesome. Close to the Aquarium and restaurants. Outside patio overlooks the river.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were very pleased with this hotel. It was clean and very modern. I liked the lighting on the bathroom mirror. The shower was big and nice, but could have extra soap and shampoo holders. we didn't encounter too many staff members, but the ones we did were very nice. Loved the balcony view of the river. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

A friend & I took our children to Chattanooga for an overnight trip and chose the SpringHill Suites because they could accommodate all of us in one room (2 queen beds plus a sofa sleeper) and because the price was excellent. The room was spacious, the beds comfortable, and the location on the river was a treat (and convenient to the waterfront/downtown restaurants & attractions). Check in was easy, they even had my pack n play (for my 20 month old) in the room before we arrived, and breakfast the next day was perfect. Excellent coffee and a good selection of hot and cold food items - the staff was also very helpful clearing plates. The only complaints, if any, was the parking fee (the lot is owned by the city of Chattanooga) and could have used more towels in the bathroom (although we never did ask for more). Would definitely stay there again, thanks!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor

Address: 495 Riverfront Parkway, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor, a Chattanooga, TN hotel with space and style at an affordable price. Ideal for business and leisure travelers alike, our guest suites offer a seamless blend of style and function along with luxurious bedding, a microwave, mini-fridge, large work desk and free high-speed Internet access. Our complimentary hot breakfast, pool and fitness center help you stay refreshed throughout your stay. Our riverfront Chattanooga hotel offers first-class customer service and unforgettable balcony views overlooking the picturesque Tennessee River. Our Chattanooga, Tennessee hotel's ideal location offers guests convenience to eateries, entertainment and shopping. Plus, our adjacency to the Tennessee River allows guests to be within walking distance to the Chattanooga Riverfront, Southern Belle Riverboat, Tennessee Aquarium and many more popular area attractions. Our perfect blend of services and amenities are a delight to all travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.